Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ROG Junior Member Array Phaethar PC Specs
    Phaethar PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus VIII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 6700k
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15D-32GTZ
    Graphics Card #1ASUS RoG Strix 2080ti
    Sound CardSound Blaster Z
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro
    Storage #2Lots of game and storage drives
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i Platinum
    CaseCorsair 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
    Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch ProMedia 5.1 Ultra
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterASUS RoG AX11000
    Phaethar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Upgraded to GT-AX11000 from RT-AC5300, having some issues

    Decided to pull the trigger last week and replace my old but reliable RT-AC5300 with a new GT-AX11000. While the initial setup was quick and easy and things were up and running quickly, it's not been all smooth since.

    A couple things I've noticed this past week:

    - Random Wifi drops. Phones, tablets, laptops, etc. have dropped out. Had a notice early this morning that my Google Nest Hub was offline. Watching the screen, I could see it lose connection, display a notice about reconnecting, and then get back to what it should be displaying. That was happening every few minutes it seemed.
    - Slower Wifi speeds than my old router. Even with Wifi 6 devices (iPhone 11 Pro Max), I get noticeably slower speeds than I did with the old router.

    Regarding the drops, a reboot seemed to clear it up this morning. I think they may have started after I toggled AX support off and on last night. Not sure what happened with some of the other drop outs over the past week though.

    With the speeds, I'm at a loss. I have Comcast gigabit internet at home. Over wifi from a phone or tablet, I could usually hit in the range of 575-610 Mbps per the Speedtest.net app or site, or using fast.com. With the new router, I seem capped at 500 Mbps. I'll also sometimes get crazy slow speeds too, like under 20 Mbps. It seems to work itself out eventually, but it's not just 1 device. If I get super slow speeds on my phone, it's slow on the laptops or tablets too. Wired systems can still max out my connection speed.

    I've changed a few things: disabled Smart Connect, toggled AX, enabled/disabled 160 MHz, manually specify channels and enable/disable DFS, enable/disable settings in professional settings. Nothing has made much difference really. Not sure where the 500 Mbps ceiling is coming from. I'd hoped that new router + new phone + AX support on both would equal faster speeds, not slower.

    Is there something else I'm missing or can try? I've got a couple weeks left to figure it out, but if I'm still getting drop outs and slower speeds, it's going to have to get returned. Not worth spending $400 and getting worse performance.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    AX11000 Performance Results

    I am very interested in getting an AX11000 and disappointed by your results. I saw a review (linked below) that seems to indicate that the ASUS AX11000, and routers by other vendors that share the same broadcom chipset, have serious 5 ghz issues. However, their troughput is even less than you observed. I am not sure if Broadcom and Asus are working on this and will be able to resolve the situation without hardware updates. I hope so! As far as I know, they may be unaware of the issues that reviewers see.

    Review: https://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wire...owall=&start=3

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    About the WiFi drops, never had that.
    About the speed I've seen that the 160MHz freq, will not be always the best option. Because you have tried allready a lot you should go back to default settings and turn off the 160MHz. So just connect to 20/40/80 and see what happens if you do a speed test. With these setting I'll get our max speed (always) which is 600/600mbit.
    Never use Smart Connect! (if you want speed ) It will let you connect to the most strong signal, which can be also the 2.4GHz band.

    Also, the AX11000 has tree Bands. 1x 2.4 and 2x 5GHz.
    What I have seen is that the first 5GHz (5GHz-1) band is using the channels 36 - 64. The second band (5GHz-2) is using 100 - 140 (Europe), and it will auto select. Don't ask me why, but the lower (5GHz-1) works a lot better for me than 5GHz-2 at the higher channels. I do not have a busy channel network in my neighborhood, so maybe there is something else that interfere the higher channels. Just test it out. Connect to 5GHz-1 and than to 5GHz-2 to see if there is any difference.

    Overall the AX 11000 is a very nice router and work perfectly in my case.

  4. #4
    ROG Junior Member Array Phaethar PC Specs
    Phaethar PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus VIII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 6700k
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15D-32GTZ
    Graphics Card #1ASUS RoG Strix 2080ti
    Sound CardSound Blaster Z
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro
    Storage #2Lots of game and storage drives
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i Platinum
    CaseCorsair 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
    Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch ProMedia 5.1 Ultra
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterASUS RoG AX11000
    Phaethar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Just a quick update. I'm hopeful that the speed issues will be resolved by a firmware update soon. There hasn't been a new firmware for the AX11000 since September, which is quite a while now. However, I also have a AX88U configured as an (wired) access point. That one was giving me similar speeds until the most recent firmware. I went from getting ~400Mbps speeds to getting ~800Mbps while connected to that AP. I'm still stuck with 400 on the AX11000 for now, but keep hoping for a new firmware that offers the same fixes.

    Beyond that, it's the same stories. It works well when it works. I have it scheduled to reboot once per week, which seems to help, but it also seems like sometimes the WiFi radios don't come up properly. When that happens, devices on the network will get frequent drops, and I'll see speeds that cap out at 100Mbps. Usually need to hard reboot the router when that happens, which takes care of the issue. Not sure why it does that though - there are no errors in the logs when that happens.

    Either way, I'm hoping Asus releases a new firmware soon with the same fixes they had for the AX88U router.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •