Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Low FPS on my ASUS ROG 752VM.. Took it to offical Repair shop they said 1000 Dollars.

    Good Afternoon from Korea,

    I turned on my computer few weeks ago and wanted to play Planetside 2, Planetside Arena and APEX LEGENDS all of a sudden.. on all 3 of the games I noticed huge FPS loss. So I decided to trouble shoot the problem.

    I reinstalled windows, made sure all of the Windows power settings were set to maximum as well, graphic drivers updated (power settings maxed out) and this is what happens after I ran Furmark for a while, the FPS drops to 20-30... I experience the same problem with games as well they start out well and then FPS hits the bottom.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture2.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	217.2 KB 
ID:	82731

    After no success on fixing it, I decided to take it to the official ASUS repair store in KOREA Yongsan. The engineer over there looked at it with his benchmark utility but ran a CPU benchmark instead. And told me that the CPU was the problem not the GPU and it was not overheating related. He said the CPU was problematic and I would need to replace the whole motherboard. The price they gave me was 1000 dollars.

    My question is, is there no other way to fix this problem rather than replacing the entire motherboard.

    Respectfully,

  2. #2
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    301
    Posts
    7,510

    The CPU is soldered to the board so if the CPU is dying you have to replace the board unless you have some very special equipment.

    That said, it would be far cheaper to buy a used mainboard or system with a broken screen and swap it out yourself. If you don't feel comfortable an independent repair shop could probably do that for you.

    ASUS service centers are OK when you have a warranty but I think they are too expensive to use for out-of-warranty work when most local shops can do the same work for you for less.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    The CPU is soldered to the board so if the CPU is dying you have to replace the board unless you have some very special equipment.

    That said, it would be far cheaper to buy a used mainboard or system with a broken screen and swap it out yourself. If you don't feel comfortable an independent repair shop could probably do that for you.

    ASUS service centers are OK when you have a warranty but I think they are too expensive to use for out-of-warranty work when most local shops can do the same work for you for less.
    Appreciate the reply,

    Well yes that is probably my best bet atm. But again why is my CPU dying I just bought this machine in 2017 and I haven't used it that much either. Some times the CPU is working properly and all of a sudden it just stops within a certain threshold at random times and doesn't want to go back up. Isnt there a possibility that this is more of a power issue than a CPU problem. Arent there power regulators built within the mainboard which could be damaged and therefore the CPU isn't receiving the power necessary? And if it is the power regulator isn't it possible to replace the damaged one(s)?

    This technician just ran a benchmark and his conclusion was it was a CPU problem going off of the bench mark where the CPU freq would hit the bottom after a while.

    Respectfully,

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Super Gnome PC Specs
    Super Gnome PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme Omega
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-9980XE CPU @ 3.00GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX Vengeance DDR4 DRAM 2666MHz 128 GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    Graphics Card #2Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    MonitorJAPANNEXT JN-VT500UHD 4K 50-inch LCD
    Storage #1Crucial MX500 1 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CaseThermaltake View 71 TG
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AXi Series, AX1600i 1600 watt
    Accessory #1 Noctua 140mm 3000 RPM x 4
    Accessory #2 Gigabyte GC-A 2WAY NVLINK RGB (3-slot)

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    168

    I doubt a benchmark is going to show a CPU needs replacing. There are a lot of things that can cause a computer to throttle (slow itself) and that will lower your FPS. Overheating because of dust build-up for example, a failing fan or cooling, or a software or driver issue. My opinion is a CPU just doesn't half work--it's all or nothing, but that's just my opinion.

    I wouldn't trust a technician, either, and I speak from experience with cars. You take your car in with next to nothing wrong, and they will tell you that you need this or that, and will bleed you dry if they can.

    Just my two cents, but I'd Google around and look for people with similar problems. I'd also run things to monitor temperatures, etc. and try to see what is going on. I'd also check out Tom's Hardware, and would even post something similar to your above post there--more people look at that forum than this one.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Super Gnome PC Specs
    Super Gnome PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme Omega
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-9980XE CPU @ 3.00GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX Vengeance DDR4 DRAM 2666MHz 128 GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    Graphics Card #2Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    MonitorJAPANNEXT JN-VT500UHD 4K 50-inch LCD
    Storage #1Crucial MX500 1 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CaseThermaltake View 71 TG
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AXi Series, AX1600i 1600 watt
    Accessory #1 Noctua 140mm 3000 RPM x 4
    Accessory #2 Gigabyte GC-A 2WAY NVLINK RGB (3-slot)

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    168

    I just wanted to add, I'd run HWMonitor to see if your CPU cores are working normally. Also, what kind of temperatures are you getting on those cores, and on the CPU more generally? Maybe one of your cores is running at full speed, for example, because of some driver or software issue that a reinstall of windows won't change. I have had a problem like that, and it was because of Cortana in Windows, which I had to completely disable to solve the problem. I'd also look at how much memory your system is using. My rig is using up to 12 GB when running games, etc. These days, I'm reading, you probably want 16 GB installed.

    Task Manager is another thing to look at. Maybe your system is needlessly running some software that needs to be turned off or uninstalled altogether.

    Just my two cents.
    Last edited by Super Gnome; 10-29-2019 at 10:06 PM.

  6. #6
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    301
    Posts
    7,510

    That's a good point. We don't know what the technician was going on about. So yeah if there's any other shops you feel like you can trust you would probably want to check there first before ordering parts.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Super Gnome PC Specs
    Super Gnome PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme Omega
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-9980XE CPU @ 3.00GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX Vengeance DDR4 DRAM 2666MHz 128 GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    Graphics Card #2Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    MonitorJAPANNEXT JN-VT500UHD 4K 50-inch LCD
    Storage #1Crucial MX500 1 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CaseThermaltake View 71 TG
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AXi Series, AX1600i 1600 watt
    Accessory #1 Noctua 140mm 3000 RPM x 4
    Accessory #2 Gigabyte GC-A 2WAY NVLINK RGB (3-slot)

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    168

    I just wanted to further add that while Asus hardware is about the best you can get, the software is a whole other story. That the case, you may think your drivers are up to date when they are not. Windows updater does not always alert you, Intel Driver & Support Application also will not also alert you. In fact both will say you are up to date, falsely, when you are not. Asus Armoury Crate, on the other hand, is garbage too, but is likely your best hope for drivers. You might also go to your support page, but updates are not always there either. After checking all of these, if it were me, I would go to Asus support, and connect to their chat and explain that you are not sure if your drivers are up to date. The clowns there sometimes have updates that have not been posted to the support page--so there you go. Hopefully we get to the bottom of this before you plunck down $1000 needlessly.

    Lastly, I would use another computer if I had one and wait a few weeks or whatever, and just see if Asus or someone comes up with a driver in the meantime. Sometimes a Windows or other update creates new problems that will cause your CPU to overwork itself, and Asus will not be on top of that for a few weeks.

    Again, just my two cents, but I know these things from almost ten years of using Asus hardware. Again, the hardware is usually the best, but the software (and set up for updating) is well, often plagued with a host of issues that Asus is slow to solve.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Thanks for the support guys.

    I just Recorded a video with whats happening with hwmonitor in the background as well. Perhaps you guys can make something out of it. It seems like a power problem. But again I am no expert .. This is only a part of the video it ran at 60+ fps for 5-10 minutes and then this is what happened.

    I have tested it with a different adapter as well same problem.

    You can watch the video here. 3.46 is where the fps drops.
    https://youtu.be/xRRZ-fNyB0I
    Last edited by silverfoxiee; 10-30-2019 at 11:03 AM.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Ok Ive done more research. Maybe this is the answer to my problem. I typed cpu stuck at 0.78 Ghz into google https://www.dell.com/community/XPS/D...z/td-p/6222936

    this is a quote from a guy who posted a fix on dell. Similar to my problem. I am going to give it a try
    Fixing your Dell XPS CPU stuck at minimum frequency
    XPS Discussion
    Backstory
    Since Christmas I have owned a Dell XPS 15 running Debian. It was unbelievably slow and laggy at first and I eventually chalked it up to an intel_pstate bug causing my CPU to be stuck at 800Mhz as I thought was confirmed by this thread that links to this kernel.org bug discussion.

    However, over this timeline, I also installed Windows just to update the Thunderbolt firmware for my great USB-C experiment that I posted on here.

    On a whim, I opened up task manager on Windows and noticed that the CPU on Windows was also stuck at 797Mhz. Okay, so not an intel_pstate Linux bug. wtf?

    BIOS resets and BIOS + firmware updates to latest did not resolve the problem.

    Stumbling upon the fix
    I've been searching around all sorts of forums, bug reports, and subreddits for any mention of the Dell XPS and stuck or throttled frequencies. After a couple weeks of searching, I finally stumbled across this Dell Community thread.

    You need to shutdown the PC, then open the bottom lid up (unscrew 10 torx t5 screws and 2 philips ph1 under the XPS plate) and disconnect the battery for 10-15 seconds, then reconnect it back. On my notebook it returned the speedstep back.

    Verdict
    In a last act of desperation, I purchased a Torx screwdriver set and tried the fix. And it worked! Both Windows and, with intel_pstate reenabled, Linux now scale the CPU correctly between 800Mhz and 3.20Ghz.

    I also think my GPU must have been throttled because, as a photographer, I use Darktable under Linux and it was very, very slow even when I was using the ondemand governor for Linux. It's now super snappy!

    It has to be because of something that shows up in my BIOS logs that a user on the same Dell Community thread mentions:

    ...it was suggested that either a "bad" power supply or a "thermal" event may trigger this "safe" mode...

    I did have a log entry of a bad power supply connected in early December. Clearing the logs did not fix it, only disconnecting the battery. It must be a hardware flag of some sort.

    TL;DR
    Use the service manual as a guide to remove the bottom of the laptop, disconnect the battery, press power for 5 seconds, and viola - fixed.
    Last edited by silverfoxiee; 10-30-2019 at 11:13 AM.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)PVR416G413C9K @ 3600 14-15-14-28 CR1
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    338

    Quote Originally Posted by silverfoxiee View Post
    I see performance power limit kicked in on HWmonitor which isn't their prior to FPS drop. Wondering if power options were adjusted to maximum performance might stop this ?

    Anyway sound like you fixed it. congrats.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 10-30-2019 at 11:59 AM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •