Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Ram and x299!

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array DejaVu PC Specs
    DejaVu PC Specs
    Motherboardasus hero xi
    Processori9-9900ks
    Memory (part number)Gskill 4000mhz cl16
    Graphics Card #1asus strix 1080
    Monitorasus swift pg278q
    CPU Coolerliquid cooled custom
    Mouse asus rog gladius
    OS w.10 x64

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    13

    Ram and x299!

    Hi, I would like a clarification if possible, I have as system i7-7820x and strix x299-E with ram corsair 4000mhz 16gb 4x4.I explain the problem. while i play bfv every now and then i have an incredible lag for some fraction of a second. my question is? are few 4gb of ram per channel? better pass 4x8 32gb of ram?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array cekeu PC Specs
    cekeu PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme Encore
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-10920X
    Graphics Card #1ROG STRIX GeForce RTX 3080 Ti
    MonitorROG SWIFT PG27UQ
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare
    Mouse ROG Chakram Core

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    206

    I think 2x8gb or 4x8gb is better but i am not an expert

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array martine-dee PC Specs
    martine-dee PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-10900K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4000C15Q-32GTZR @ 3600 MHz CL14
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 3090 OC Edition
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster AE-9
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift 360Hz PG259QN
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB
    Storage #2WD Red HDD 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i RGB Platinum
    CaseTT View 91 Tempered Glass RGB Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard SteelSeries Apex 7, Red
    Mouse Razer Viper 8k @ 3200 dpi
    Headset Beyerdynamic DT 770 Pro
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    Headset/Speakers Creative Inspire T6300
    OS Win 10 Pro 64bit 2004
    Accessory #1 Logitech Streamcam Webcam
    Accessory #2 Rode NT1-A Mic
    Accessory #3 Just about 12+ fans from TT and Noctua
    martine-dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    183

    I know this question may sound like a broken record, but are all four sticks in the slots where they should be according to the manual?

    http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/...ING_UM_WEB.pdf

    Also, what is the exact part number? E.g. mine is CMK32GX4M4A3200C16 .
    A Quaker here

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array martine-dee PC Specs
    martine-dee PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-10900K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4000C15Q-32GTZR @ 3600 MHz CL14
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 3090 OC Edition
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster AE-9
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift 360Hz PG259QN
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB
    Storage #2WD Red HDD 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i RGB Platinum
    CaseTT View 91 Tempered Glass RGB Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard SteelSeries Apex 7, Red
    Mouse Razer Viper 8k @ 3200 dpi
    Headset Beyerdynamic DT 770 Pro
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    Headset/Speakers Creative Inspire T6300
    OS Win 10 Pro 64bit 2004
    Accessory #1 Logitech Streamcam Webcam
    Accessory #2 Rode NT1-A Mic
    Accessory #3 Just about 12+ fans from TT and Noctua
    martine-dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    183

    By the way, now that I read again, lags could be caused by entirely other things than RAM.
    E.g. my M2 SSD was overheating under the 1080 Ti and needed relocation before system freezes went away.

    I suggest you describe more in detail what is going on and fill out your full config so that folks can help.
    A Quaker here

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array DejaVu PC Specs
    DejaVu PC Specs
    Motherboardasus hero xi
    Processori9-9900ks
    Memory (part number)Gskill 4000mhz cl16
    Graphics Card #1asus strix 1080
    Monitorasus swift pg278q
    CPU Coolerliquid cooled custom
    Mouse asus rog gladius
    OS w.10 x64

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    13

    hi rams are these CMK8GX4M2B4000C19 2x kits, they are not in the dram qvl of the motherboard.
    all of a sudden I have a sudden cpu spike that results in a lag in the game

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array martine-dee PC Specs
    martine-dee PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-10900K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4000C15Q-32GTZR @ 3600 MHz CL14
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 3090 OC Edition
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster AE-9
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift 360Hz PG259QN
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB
    Storage #2WD Red HDD 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i RGB Platinum
    CaseTT View 91 Tempered Glass RGB Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard SteelSeries Apex 7, Red
    Mouse Razer Viper 8k @ 3200 dpi
    Headset Beyerdynamic DT 770 Pro
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    Headset/Speakers Creative Inspire T6300
    OS Win 10 Pro 64bit 2004
    Accessory #1 Logitech Streamcam Webcam
    Accessory #2 Rode NT1-A Mic
    Accessory #3 Just about 12+ fans from TT and Noctua
    martine-dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    183

    Quote Originally Posted by DejaVu View Post
    hi rams are these CMK8GX4M2B4000C19 2x kits, they are not in the dram qvl of the motherboard.
    all of a sudden I have a sudden cpu spike that results in a lag in the game
    Okay, so that will be the slots A1 and C1.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	z.png 
Views:	24 
Size:	92.8 KB 
ID:	82896

    I have Corsair vengeance and they work fine in.
    A Quaker here

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •