Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    PG27UQ HDR the reference white control is not visible in the color setting menu

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	HDR color menu missing reference white.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	586.5 KB 
ID:	82784

    My new PG27u is not displaying the reference white (nits) control in the "color controls" On-screen display when in HDR mode.
    I was told by someone at MicroCenter that it could be because I had enabled 144hz refresh. So I disabled that and did a factory reset, but I still don't see the reference white control when in HDR mode.

    Does anyone have advice?

    Web

  2. #2
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    I have now tried HDMI, DIsplayPort, presetting into all 6 visual choices and tried using a roku ultra with netflix HDR. In all cases the "reference white (nits)" is dark and cannot be adjusted in HDR mode. I swapped the monitor for a new one today and the behavior is the same.

    I am beginning to suspect that there may have been a faulty firmware patch.

    Web

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Rewerend PC Specs
    Rewerend PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair V Formula - Z
    ProcessorAMD FX-9370
    Memory (part number)2 x KHX23C11T3K2/8X
    Graphics Card #1R9 Fury X 4gb Sapphire
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorSAMSUNG U28E590D 28" uHD + freeSync
    Storage #1Samsung SSD EVO 540 250Gb
    Storage #2Seagate 7200.14 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H105
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos II
    Power SupplyENERMAX ERV1000EWT-G Revolution87+ 1000W Gold
    Keyboard Microsoft SideWinder X6
    Mouse Saitek MAD CATZ R.A.T. 7
    Headset Asus ROG Orion
    Mouse Pad Steel Series PAD
    Headset/Speakers Genius Home Theather SW 5.1
    OS MS Windows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-N18U
    Accessory #1 Zalman ZM-MFC3 FAN/TEMP CONTROLLER

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    103

    Hello webdove, you can try to read on overclock.net there was a big disscusion about that.
    Anyway I am able to set this settings and I don´t now if there is some combination of settings which can allow you to set these settings... Seems that you tried everything.
    I can can send you my LCD settings... Meanwhile check this info about firmware... -> https://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1036750/
    Hope we can find solution... coz there was some older FW´s...

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Psycrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    253

    My monitor also looks like that..i had 7 of these from bad RMA cases..and all em was like this, when you use HDR.
    So i guess you cant change it in HDR mode..that is a normal thing i guess.

    But after 7 monitors then i dont know anymore what is normal or not on this piece of crap !

    Update..i tryed to disable HDR and still you cant change the ref nits options at all..its gray in the menu..so i dont know why it is there.
    let me know if you find out something.

    Update again..i googled the "problem" and it looks like these options you see in the monitor menu the ref nits and peak nits are something
    that is adjusted in games options, Some games has a direct option called the same ref and peak nits..other games has a slider you adjust and it changes ur ref and peak nits.

    So ur first monitor was NOT broken
    Last edited by Psycrow; 11-09-2019 at 05:08 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •