Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    319

    Is ASUS Armoury Crate Replacing ASUS AURA?

    Hi all,

    This just landed on my PRIME Z370-A motherboard support page:

    Utilities

    2019/10/30 2.38 MBytes
    Armoury Crate Installer
    Note: Please uninstall your existing AURA software before installing Armoury Crate.

    *The most recent versions of the Aura software can still be downloaded from the aura sync website: https://www.asus.com/campaign/aura/global/download.html

    It seems rather small to actually be replacing anything, though does it mean AURA support is gone for good, if its supposed to be migrated into Armoury Crate?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Code
    Processor9900K
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M4B3600C18
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080ti-O8G-GAMING
    MonitorAOC AGON AG2701QX (2)
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 256GB
    Storage #2Kingston Savage 500GB
    CPU CoolerNzxt X74 360mm AIO
    CaseNzxt H700
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Asus Spartha
    Headset Hyper X Cloud Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Hyper X Fury S 900mx420mm
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z337
    OS Windows 10 64btis
    Network RouterTpLink Archer C9
    Accessory #1 EKWB FANs all of them
    MrAgapiGC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    1,697

    I ask.

    be noted....

    if you have aura. Please just uninstall. DO NOT USE cleaners.

    I ask some questions and that i foresee these coming regarding if these is a update or a fix or both. as soon i have a reply from them, i will post something
    Learn, Play Enjoy!

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Ch3vr0n PC Specs
    Ch3vr0n PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorCore i9 9900k @ 4.7GHZ (XMP)
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4B3200C16-ROG
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1080 A8G
    Sound Cardon board
    MonitorASUS VG278HR & ASUS VK278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB & 970 EVO 2TB
    Storage #23X HGST 10TB, 1x HGST 4TB
    CPU CoolerScythe Mugen 5 PCGH
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos II
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Corsair k95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro RGB
    Headset Corsair Voide Wireless SE
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-906
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterNetgear XR500
    Accessory #1 Xbox One Elite Wireless Controller
    Accessory #2 2X Corsair LL140, 4x Corsair LL120
    Accessory #3 1x Corsair LED RGB Pro expansion kit
    Ch3vr0n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    180

    I'm not going to install that rootkit level crap on my system. It's bad enough they push it through the bios and will now force that crap on systems to use AURA? I expect an updated standalone aura app, or i'll continue to use the outdated version or simply turn lighting off at the bios. Armory crate sucks.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array liakou PC Specs
    liakou PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero X470
    ProcessorRyzen 3900x
    Memory (part number)G.Skill TridentZ RGB 16GB 4000C17@3600C14
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix Vega 64
    MonitorSamsung C27HG70
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 1TB+500GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i Pro RGB
    CaseCoolermaster H500M
    Power SupplyCorsair RMi 850
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G PRO Wireless
    Headset Corsair VOID Pro
    Mouse Pad Logitech Powerplay
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G560
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterZTE ZXHN H168N VDSL2 + ASUS RT-AC86U
    liakou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    54

    Looks like it as it appeared on the download section of my Crosshair VII X470 mobo, although I wonder, is it better to use instead of AURA in terms of system resources usage?
    I don't own any Asus peripherals, just the mobo, my Strix gpu and some ARGB fans.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    319

    Not planning on updating myself (still on AURA v1.06.17) but wondering if its indeed a replacement..

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Code
    Processor9900K
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M4B3600C18
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080ti-O8G-GAMING
    MonitorAOC AGON AG2701QX (2)
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 256GB
    Storage #2Kingston Savage 500GB
    CPU CoolerNzxt X74 360mm AIO
    CaseNzxt H700
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Asus Spartha
    Headset Hyper X Cloud Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Hyper X Fury S 900mx420mm
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z337
    OS Windows 10 64btis
    Network RouterTpLink Archer C9
    Accessory #1 EKWB FANs all of them
    MrAgapiGC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    1,697

    Quote Originally Posted by katlani View Post
    Not planning on updating myself (still on AURA v1.06.17) but wondering if its indeed a replacement..
    You can wait if you like. is up to you. I am using it and learning myself the customization etc.
    Learn, Play Enjoy!

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Code
    Processor9900K
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M4B3600C18
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080ti-O8G-GAMING
    MonitorAOC AGON AG2701QX (2)
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 256GB
    Storage #2Kingston Savage 500GB
    CPU CoolerNzxt X74 360mm AIO
    CaseNzxt H700
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Asus Spartha
    Headset Hyper X Cloud Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Hyper X Fury S 900mx420mm
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z337
    OS Windows 10 64btis
    Network RouterTpLink Archer C9
    Accessory #1 EKWB FANs all of them
    MrAgapiGC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    1,697

    Quote Originally Posted by liakou View Post
    Looks like it as it appeared on the download section of my Crosshair VII X470 mobo, although I wonder, is it better to use instead of AURA in terms of system resources usage?
    I don't own any Asus peripherals, just the mobo, my Strix gpu and some ARGB fans.
    on idle is around 5.6% max 7%. and i am on multi color. still need more coding since use a little more power usage. but is getting better. At leas is one app, that takes out aura, livedash, rog armory, and have control on aio functions like mini fan and fans. But I use that direct on bios in order to have a view on speed on the oled. With these is 1 app. instead of 3. Now still have some issues but is getting there. Later will have fan control direct from bios and sound control. That will take half of the ai suite and take out the audio part and also gpu on the way future.

    Unless you do not have a scope or strafe or gladius series (normal origin pink) or aio you can wait.But most these are all ready remove from the rogarmory.
    Learn, Play Enjoy!

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Code
    ProcessorIntel 8086K @ 5.1Ghz
    Memory (part number)32 GB (2x16) G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200 MHz CL14 @ 3600 15-16-37
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 2070 Super A8G
    MonitorEIZO Coloredge CG2730 and Dell
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID0, 6 TB WDC Black HDD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 Chromax
    CaseFractal Design R4 w/ tempered glass
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium
    Keyboard CM Quickfire Rapid TKL
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Bose
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, ML Dynamo 300
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    371

    I was getting 17% CPU usage on idle from Crate lightingservice with a custom sync made with creator - static white on LED strip, static red on CPU, MB, graphics card, and memory. Aura handled this with 0% CPU as it should. Went back to Aura 1.06.17 (newer Aura versions don't work in wwindows). Hope they fix both Aura and crate, but I don't hold much hope

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array liakou PC Specs
    liakou PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero X470
    ProcessorRyzen 3900x
    Memory (part number)G.Skill TridentZ RGB 16GB 4000C17@3600C14
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix Vega 64
    MonitorSamsung C27HG70
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 1TB+500GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i Pro RGB
    CaseCoolermaster H500M
    Power SupplyCorsair RMi 850
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G PRO Wireless
    Headset Corsair VOID Pro
    Mouse Pad Logitech Powerplay
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G560
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterZTE ZXHN H168N VDSL2 + ASUS RT-AC86U
    liakou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    54

    Quote Originally Posted by MrAgapiGC View Post
    on idle is around 5.6% max 7%. and i am on multi color. still need more coding since use a little more power usage. but is getting better. At leas is one app, that takes out aura, livedash, rog armory, and have control on aio functions like mini fan and fans. But I use that direct on bios in order to have a view on speed on the oled. With these is 1 app. instead of 3. Now still have some issues but is getting there. Later will have fan control direct from bios and sound control. That will take half of the ai suite and take out the audio part and also gpu on the way future.

    Unless you do not have a scope or strafe or gladius series (normal origin pink) or aio you can wait.But most these are all ready remove from the rogarmory.
    So, necessary tool if you own ROG peripherals and AIO, but better with AURA in my case, since it's using less than 1% to control my rig's RGB and I'm not planning to ever get any ROG stuff. Dealing with AURA's problems all this time is already enough for me and it's the only Asus software that I install out of necessity for the leds.
    Thank you for the input!

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    28

    I noticed there is a bug where if you dont configure RGB then it will use more CPU on Idle. Go into the menu and pick a color and you will see the CPU usage drop to nothing.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •