Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    165

    9900KS & Maximus XI Extreme & RAM OC = kills Memory Write

    Hi

    replaced my 9900K with the 9900KS did a Bios reset and a Bios Flashback with the same bios,
    because this combo shows a strange behavior.

    Every time i want to run the memory with 4000+ Mhz (32GB G.Skill 4.133 17-17-37 Kit),
    the Mobo did sometimes boot twice and then it loads win 10.

    But then the Memory write is like 40-50% less as it should be:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	cachemem.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	91.6 KB 
ID:	82838

    When this happens there no way to get the normal speed back (only Bios Flashback will work)!

    Here is a pic how it should work:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	cachemem_neu_5.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	91.7 KB 
ID:	82839

    Does somebody else have the problem too?
    Intel Core i9-7980XE @ Noctua NH-D15S | ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme | MSI GTX 1080 Ti Lightning Z SLI | G.Skill 128GB RAM, DDR4-3200, CL14 | Samsung SSD 960 PRO 2TB | 2x Samsung SSD 840 PRO (512GB) + 2x Samsung SSD 830 (512GB) | Plextor PX-L890SA | Corsair AX1500i Titanium | Lian Li TYR PC-X2000F @bequiet Silentwings USC |

    Intel Core i7-6950X @ Noctua NH-D15S | Asus ROG Rampage V10 Extreme | MSI GTX 1080 Ti Lightning Z | Kingston 128GB RAM, DDR4-2666, CL15 | Seasonic 1.000 Platinum |

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    165

    Ok it looks its only when i try to set the 4.133mhz for the memory.

    This time the Board did not boot twice..
    Intel Core i9-7980XE @ Noctua NH-D15S | ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme | MSI GTX 1080 Ti Lightning Z SLI | G.Skill 128GB RAM, DDR4-3200, CL14 | Samsung SSD 960 PRO 2TB | 2x Samsung SSD 840 PRO (512GB) + 2x Samsung SSD 830 (512GB) | Plextor PX-L890SA | Corsair AX1500i Titanium | Lian Li TYR PC-X2000F @bequiet Silentwings USC |

    Intel Core i7-6950X @ Noctua NH-D15S | Asus ROG Rampage V10 Extreme | MSI GTX 1080 Ti Lightning Z | Kingston 128GB RAM, DDR4-2666, CL15 | Seasonic 1.000 Platinum |

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array edrickjk PC Specs
    edrickjk PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG MAXIMUS XI EXTREME
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-9900K
    Memory (part number)F4-4266C19-8GTZKW 8gbx4
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2080 Ti GAMING OC 11G
    MonitorAcer predator X34P
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 970 EVO Plus 500GB
    Storage #2WDC WDS512G1X0C-00ENX0
    CPU CoolerEK-Velocity
    CasePhantek Enthoo Luxe 2
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000I
    Keyboard Razer blackwidow x chroma
    Mouse Razer mamba wireless
    Headset SteelSeries arctis pro wireless
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Control Extended
    Headset/Speakers Razer nommo chroma
    OS window 10
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC-5300

    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    66

    Try the second bios, keep in mind your memory controller in on the cpu and it might not like higher frequency,or might need more voltage . When you will find an acceptable setting for your ram,turn off the memok it will prevent the board to constantly retrain the memory.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    165

    Update:

    the memory will work only with max 3.600Mhz - over 3.600Mhz the system will reboot often and MemOk! will reduce the memory speed 100mhz less.

    The strange:

    After MemOk does its job it will reduce every time the RAM voltage from 1,45v or 1,4v to 1,35v (1,35v every time)

    Even when i set the memory to 3.800mhz it will set the ram voltage to 1,35v !?

    Another experience:

    i tried to use 3.600mhz cl16 and the reboot hang and in bios i saw the he uses 3.600mhz cl15 - never changed any setting to cl 15 !


    I switched from Bios1 to Bios2 / i reset the bios / i make serveral time a bios flashback but nothing helped here.

    I removed carefully cpu and the ram and set it new into the system.

    Before using the 9900KS i used a 9900K which runs perfect with 3.900 Mhz 17-17-37.
    Never run into a memok! boot loop which the KS does.
    Last edited by Mappi75; 11-03-2019 at 02:52 PM.
    Intel Core i9-7980XE @ Noctua NH-D15S | ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme | MSI GTX 1080 Ti Lightning Z SLI | G.Skill 128GB RAM, DDR4-3200, CL14 | Samsung SSD 960 PRO 2TB | 2x Samsung SSD 840 PRO (512GB) + 2x Samsung SSD 830 (512GB) | Plextor PX-L890SA | Corsair AX1500i Titanium | Lian Li TYR PC-X2000F @bequiet Silentwings USC |

    Intel Core i7-6950X @ Noctua NH-D15S | Asus ROG Rampage V10 Extreme | MSI GTX 1080 Ti Lightning Z | Kingston 128GB RAM, DDR4-2666, CL15 | Seasonic 1.000 Platinum |

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array edrickjk PC Specs
    edrickjk PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG MAXIMUS XI EXTREME
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-9900K
    Memory (part number)F4-4266C19-8GTZKW 8gbx4
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2080 Ti GAMING OC 11G
    MonitorAcer predator X34P
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 970 EVO Plus 500GB
    Storage #2WDC WDS512G1X0C-00ENX0
    CPU CoolerEK-Velocity
    CasePhantek Enthoo Luxe 2
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000I
    Keyboard Razer blackwidow x chroma
    Mouse Razer mamba wireless
    Headset SteelSeries arctis pro wireless
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Control Extended
    Headset/Speakers Razer nommo chroma
    OS window 10
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC-5300

    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    66

    They binned the cpu for frequency not for the memory controler, you might have lost the silicon lotery. I would write down your stock memory setting and set them manually without xmp ,you will need to adjust your vccio and vccsa manually accordingly. On the other hand if your ram work good at 3600, i would consider leaving it there and just lower your timing.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    165

    I found the solution:

    - tWRWR_dg was "8" and have to be "4" (thats fixes the bad WRITE performance).
    - disable MemOk! on Mobo
    - loading XMP II Profile and set the voltages higher

    > the system boots without problems

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4133 final.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	91.6 KB 
ID:	82857

    Before the KS i used only XMP I Profile - dont know why this time only XMP II will work.
    Intel Core i9-7980XE @ Noctua NH-D15S | ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme | MSI GTX 1080 Ti Lightning Z SLI | G.Skill 128GB RAM, DDR4-3200, CL14 | Samsung SSD 960 PRO 2TB | 2x Samsung SSD 840 PRO (512GB) + 2x Samsung SSD 830 (512GB) | Plextor PX-L890SA | Corsair AX1500i Titanium | Lian Li TYR PC-X2000F @bequiet Silentwings USC |

    Intel Core i7-6950X @ Noctua NH-D15S | Asus ROG Rampage V10 Extreme | MSI GTX 1080 Ti Lightning Z | Kingston 128GB RAM, DDR4-2666, CL15 | Seasonic 1.000 Platinum |

  7. #7
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,831

    Quote Originally Posted by Mappi75 View Post
    I found the solution:

    - tWRWR_dg was "8" and have to be "4" (thats fixes the bad WRITE performance).
    - disable MemOk! on Mobo
    - loading XMP II Profile and set the voltages higher

    > the system boots without problems

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4133 final.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	91.6 KB 
ID:	82857

    Before the KS i used only XMP I Profile - dont know why this time only XMP II will work.

    XMP II is the memory vendor profile, which tends to have looser sub timings than the optimised board profile (XMP1). Your new CPU likely has a slightly weaker IMC.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    107

    Quote Originally Posted by Mappi75 View Post
    I found the solution:

    - tWRWR_dg was "8" and have to be "4" (thats fixes the bad WRITE performance).
    - disable MemOk! on Mobo
    - loading XMP II Profile and set the voltages higher

    > the system boots without problems

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4133 final.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	91.6 KB 
ID:	82857

    Before the KS i used only XMP I Profile - dont know why this time only XMP II will work.

    I had the same write bandwith issue with MXIH and my RAM overclocked over 4000 MHz. In Mode 2 memory training sets incorrect tWRWR_dg value (even in XMP I). In Mode 1 it is set ok, but in Mode 1 I get WinRAR CRC errors even when using RAM rated speed (3866 MHz).

    I also had random MemOK! when using rated RAM speed &3866 MHz. Playing with VCCIO and VCCSA and VRAM doesn't prevent from random MemOK! What I've done was to set MRC Fast Boot to enable and Fast Boot after AC Power Lost after successful first memory training.
    Last edited by cniedzi; 11-04-2019 at 09:48 AM.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    165

    Did you set the SA + vccio boot voltage ?

    In bios you can set higher voltages for booting the system - and then it will take the normal voltages.
    Intel Core i9-7980XE @ Noctua NH-D15S | ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme | MSI GTX 1080 Ti Lightning Z SLI | G.Skill 128GB RAM, DDR4-3200, CL14 | Samsung SSD 960 PRO 2TB | 2x Samsung SSD 840 PRO (512GB) + 2x Samsung SSD 830 (512GB) | Plextor PX-L890SA | Corsair AX1500i Titanium | Lian Li TYR PC-X2000F @bequiet Silentwings USC |

    Intel Core i7-6950X @ Noctua NH-D15S | Asus ROG Rampage V10 Extreme | MSI GTX 1080 Ti Lightning Z | Kingston 128GB RAM, DDR4-2666, CL15 | Seasonic 1.000 Platinum |

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    107

    Quote Originally Posted by Mappi75 View Post
    Did you set the SA + vccio boot voltage ?

    In bios you can set higher voltages for booting the system - and then it will take the normal voltages.
    It doesn't work for me

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •