Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    ROG Strix B450-I Issue with Ryzen 5 3600 (and maybe RAM...?)

    Hello there

    So i have a little bit of a problem with my ROG Strix B450-I Gaming Motherboard and my Ryzen 3600 CPU.
    I bought the Motherboard, knowing that i would have to update the BIOS to run Ryzen 3rd Gen. So i did that with a Ryzen 1200 and
    installed BIOS-Version 2801.
    The Problem is now, that the Ryzen 3600 is still not booting most(!) of the time. The weird thing is, that new CPU actually does boot
    sometimes. Not very often, but if it runs, i can get into BIOS, Windows and it works. When it doesnt boot, the Q-LED's are basically just
    cycling between CPU / VGA / BOOT
    I have tried multiple BIOS-Versions, i did install the newest AMD-Chipset-Driver, i also removed the Battery and i tried to run it with only
    one RAM-Stick. Nothing seems to fix it. Sometimes it boots, but i havent observed any pattern when it does and when it doesnt.

    I have a feeling that the RAM (Corsair Vengeance 2x8GB 3600 MHZ) may be a problem since the Memory-Q-Led always lights up when i install and start the Ryzen 1200 but never with
    the Ryzen 3600. I have also seen, that the RAM is running at 2133 under the Ryzen 3600 which seemed a bit weird.
    The RAM is listed in the QVL although with a different version number (CMK16GX4M2B3600C18 ver5.32 in QVL and i have ver3.31)
    I did also try to change the timings to those listed in the QVL.

    Is there something i can do from the Software-Side (Memory-Profile, BIOS etc.) or do i have to buy and try new RAM or a new Motherboard?
    Or any other ideas?


    Part-List just for completion:
    - ASUS ROG Strix B450-I Gaming
    - AMD Ryzen 5 3600 & AMD Ryzen 3 1200
    - Corsair Vengeance 2x8 GB 3600 MHZ
    - Zotac RTX 2070 Super
    - Crucial P1 M.2 1000 GB
    - Silverstone 600 W SFX

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)PVR416G413C9K @ 3600 14-15-14-28 CR1
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    307

    Quote Originally Posted by sheoran View Post
    ...from the Software-Side (Memory-Profile, BIOS etc.) or do i have to buy and try new RAM or a new Motherboard?
    I have a few ideas to get your system going - as is.

    Quote Originally Posted by sheoran View Post
    I have a feeling that the RAM (Corsair Vengeance 2x8GB 3600 MHZ) may be a problem since the Memory-Q-Led always lights up when i install and start the Ryzen 1200 but never with
    the Ryzen 3600. I have also seen, that the RAM is running at 2133 under the Ryzen 3600 which seemed a bit weird.
    The RAM is listed in the QVL although with a different version number (CMK16GX4M2B3600C18 ver5.32 in QVL and i have ver3.31)
    I did also try to change the timings to those listed in the QVL.
    First, make sure using slots 2 & 4 from the cpu, not 1 & 3.
    When go into the bios, in advanced, you need to select/use DOCP profile for 3600 not manually select ram frequency to 3600 which causes poor timings or leave default. This will allow it load the memory profile, the same Intel XMP does. If your experience is from Intel system and you selected ram frequency without using XMP the same thing would happen.

    Example:-


    Also be aware the latest bios with ASUS AGESA 1.0.0.4 BIOS recently released, may have DOCP issue on your board and may want to use previous version till patched. I have read that manually entering the DOCP information works, if using the latest bios.

    Get Thaiphoon Burner http://softnology.biz/files.html to identify your ram manufacturer (ie samsung, hynix, micron), die type & base timings.

    Hope you find this of help.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 11-07-2019 at 08:03 AM.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Thank you for your help.
    I downgraded the bios and made sure to select DOCP.
    The CPU is still stuck in a loop, trying to boot, but now it manages to get to the very first screen that shows up in a normal boot process (the one right before the ASUS-ROG-Logo). So that's some progress i guess..xD
    Like before there is always the off-chance that it actually does boot.
    I also tried the settings that Thaiphoon Burner showed me, since those had different RC/FAW/RRD Values.

    I will probably still try the new Bios 2901 when its released for the B450-I and hope that changes something

    It just feels like such a weird problem. Like...it doesnt work most of the time but sometimes it does^^

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array Gamil PC Specs
    Gamil PC Specs
    MotherboardStrix B450-F
    ProcessorRyzen 7 3700x
    Memory (part number)KHX3600C17D4/8GX*2@3600
    Graphics Card #1MSI RX-480 GamingX 8gb OC
    MonitorASUS VP247x2
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO+ 500gb
    Storage #2860EVO 250gb/Black 2tb/Barracuda Green 2tb
    CPU CoolerWraith Prism
    CaseNZXT H500
    Power SupplyCorsair RMX650X
    Keyboard Bloody B945
    Mouse ROG Spatha
    Headset HyperX Cloud Revolver
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G51
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC56U
    Accessory #1 ZS620kl
    Accessory #2 BT400

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    I have a few ideas to get your system going - as is.
    Also be aware the latest bios with ASUS AGESA 1.0.0.4 BIOS recently released, may have DOCP issue on your board and may want to use previous version till patched. I have read that manually entering the DOCP information works, if using the latest bios.
    No ASUS B450 board has 1.0.0.4 yet. They don't even have the latest 1.0.0.3.

    Latest BIOSes for them use the buggy 1.0.0.3 ABA.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)PVR416G413C9K @ 3600 14-15-14-28 CR1
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    307

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    Also be aware the latest bios with ASUS AGESA 1.0.0.4 BIOS recently released, may have DOCP issue on your board and may want to use previous version till patched. I have read that manually entering the DOCP information works, if using the latest bios.
    My bad, don't know what was thinking when I wrote that bit, clearly wrong. As mentioned the the most current BIOS is ASUS AGESA 1.0.0.3 for your board.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 11-12-2019 at 10:43 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •