Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    ASUS G531GU what ram buy?

    What is max supported MHz for G531GU? It´s only 2666MHz or can upgrade to 3000MHz? Or still run at 2666?


    In my notebook: SK hynix DDR4 8GB (1x8GB) 2666MHz CL19 HMA81GS6JJR8N-VK (original)

    I want this buy: Kingston HyperX Predator DDR4 16GB (2x8GB) 3000MHz CL15 HX430C15PB3K2/16
    Last edited by TommyBoyTommy; 11-10-2019 at 11:17 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    105
    Posts
    4,129

    you could always go to Crucial website an check for your notebook what will work that should tell you if the Kingston RAM will work
    Also your user manual should have a couple of pages of RAM modules compatible that will work for sure.
    Last edited by Clintlgm; 11-11-2019 at 02:06 AM.
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by Clintlgm View Post
    you could always go to Crucial website an check for your notebook what will work that should tell you if the Kingston RAM will work
    Also your user manual should have a couple of pages of RAM modules compatible that will work for sure.

    I don´t know where is the Crucial page, but at ASUS say this:
    https://prnt.sc/pvdspd

    But the chipset at Intel page say can work with 3000MHz...

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Okay, this say all information of limits to me... Thx

    https://www.pcworld.com/article/3390...and-specs.html

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    105
    Posts
    4,129

    Quote Originally Posted by TommyBoyTommy View Post
    I don´t know where is the Crucial page, but at ASUS say this:
    https://prnt.sc/pvdspd

    But the chipset at Intel page say can work with 3000MHz...
    Crucial upgrade RAM enter you model number.
    That will show you what RAM types are compatible with your notebook
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    105
    Posts
    4,129

    Quote Originally Posted by TommyBoyTommy View Post
    I don´t know where is the Crucial page, but at ASUS say this:
    https://prnt.sc/pvdspd

    But the chipset at Intel page say can work with 3000MHz...
    You can put it in if the chipset don't support it, it will only run at the maximum for the chipset won't hurt anything. Although if you get away from Asus recommended you on your own. Install it and run Memtest overnight you'll have your answer.
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by Clintlgm View Post
    Crucial upgrade RAM enter you model number.
    That will show you what RAM types are compatible with your notebook
    I have the same Question, but im sitting on a G731GV, its a 16GB Hynix SO-DIMM DDR4 2666MHZ PC4-21300 | HMA82GS6CJR8N-VK, my main question is now:

    Can i MIX with different Ram Brands if the Ram have the same Speed/Timing and this will work with my Laptop?

    Like this one: https://www.crucial.com/usa/en/rog-s...%29/CT14930551


    Or must i buy same Ram from Hynix? Then its not possible, seems we cant buy the hynix (original) ram lol

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    59
    Posts
    607

    Best to match Ram.

    Here's a site that sells the original ASUS Ram:

    https://www.asusparts.eu/en/partfind...0Series/G531GU

    Check the memory box, there are two Ram options.

    Good Luck
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos G531GU Memory Options.png  

    Last edited by jdfrench3; 11-12-2019 at 10:41 AM.
    G752VSK, G75VW-3D, G51J, G1S
    Homebuilt Windows Server

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by jdfrench3 View Post
    Best to match Ram.

    Here's a site that sells the original ASUS Ram:

    https://www.asusparts.eu/en/partfind...0Series/G531GU

    Check the memory box, there are two Ram options.

    Good Luck
    Youre Sure Dude?
    The Hell is rly coming to the Sky on that Site...
    The Price rly a Joke, for a 16GB Ram i can buy 4x Crucial/Samsung/Kingston 16GB Ram lol
    So, better not Buy on this Site xD

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    59
    Posts
    607

    You did notice its' an ASUS parts website?

    Either you should replace all memory with new, equivalent memory or match what memory is installed.

    To do something else, you risk problems.

    Good Luck

    DUDE
    G752VSK, G75VW-3D, G51J, G1S
    Homebuilt Windows Server

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •