Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array Betroz PC Specs
    Betroz PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XII Apex
    Processori9 10900K
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill TridentZ F4-4000C17D-32GTRGB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 2080Ti OC
    MonitorAsus PG279Q
    Storage #1Adata SX8200 PRO
    Storage #2Adata SX8200 PRO
    CPU CoolerLiquid Freezer II 360
    CasePhanteks Eclipse P500A
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Sennheiser 660S
    OS Windows 10 PRO
    Betroz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Maximus XI Apex and Dimm.2 M.2 SSD speed limit clarification.

    Hi guys

    I recently bought myself two Adata SX8200 PRO SSDs and plugged them in the Dimm.2 module. Ran a CrystalDiskMark bench and noticed that on one of the M.2 SSDs the sequential read and write performance was half of what the other SX8200 PRO had. About ~1750 MB/s. I checked my settings in the BIOS, but could not find anything wrong there. I then confirmed the performance difference with Adata SSD Toolbox, one SSD runs at Gen3 4X mode and the other at Gen3 2X.

    My system specs : XI Apex with BIOS 1105, 9900K, 32GB RAM, singel 2080Ti and just one other storage device, a Samsung 860 EVO SATA SSD. Windows 10 1903 fully updated, and using Microsoft NVMe driver.

    Is this caused by a BIOS bug or is it a Z390 platform limitation?

    Thanks for any reply

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Ch3vr0n PC Specs
    Ch3vr0n PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorCore i9 9900k @ 4.7GHZ (XMP)
    Memory (part number)CMT32GX4M4Z3200C16
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1080 A8G
    Sound Cardon board
    MonitorASUS VG278HR & ASUS VK278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo 1TB (Boot) & 970 EVO 2TB (Scratch)
    Storage #23X HGST 10TB, 1x HGST 4TB
    CPU CoolerScythe Mugen 5 PCGH
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos II
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Corsair k95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro RGB
    Headset Corsair Voide Wireless SE
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 + Corsair MM800 Polaris (EU)
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-906
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterNetgear XR500
    Accessory #1 Xbox One Elite Wireless Controller
    Accessory #2 2X Corsair LL140, 4x Corsair LL120
    Accessory #3 1x Corsair LED RGB Pro expansion kit, 2x LS100 RGB kit + 450mm expansion kit
    Ch3vr0n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    38
    Posts
    237

    Probably a misconfiguration in the bios (rather than a bug). It's definitely not a Z390 platform limitation, at worst it's the dimm.2 implementation of asus, this is not something specified in the Z390 chipset i think.

    I'm running 4 standard HDDs, 1 samsung 970 pro, 1 960 pro and 3 optical drives all at full speed.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array Betroz PC Specs
    Betroz PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XII Apex
    Processori9 10900K
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill TridentZ F4-4000C17D-32GTRGB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 2080Ti OC
    MonitorAsus PG279Q
    Storage #1Adata SX8200 PRO
    Storage #2Adata SX8200 PRO
    CPU CoolerLiquid Freezer II 360
    CasePhanteks Eclipse P500A
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Sennheiser 660S
    OS Windows 10 PRO
    Betroz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by Ch3vr0n View Post
    I'm running 4 standard HDDs, 1 samsung 970 pro, 1 960 pro and 3 optical drives all at full speed.
    On the XI Apex board?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Carlyle2020 PC Specs
    Carlyle2020 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)amd4000 for sure next time
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI APEX
    Processorgaming9900ks/@5.2 avx -1 / manual vcore 1.32/LLC5/AC+dc 0.01/TVB off/all power savings on
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX 4000 CL19@16.17.28/300/2T/ 1.42 volt
    Graphics Card #1Gainward RTX 2080Triple/tempsense on Displayport needed
    Sound CardXonar STXII mods:3xLME 49720NA
    MonitorLG 38GL950G / -HDR / +madVR
    Storage #12TB 970evo plus nvme
    Storage #21TB 960evo nvme +2x 1tb evo 860 hw-sata-raid
    CPU Coolerarctic freezer II 280
    CaseV2-Silverstone FT2 dampened up the wazoo
    Power SupplySeasonic TX-850
    Keyboard Cherry KC 1000 on top of a cherry MX1 for ergonomics :)
    Mouse MX Master 3
    Headset Sennheiser PC360 + Philips X2HR
    Headset/Speakers A250 / cause LG was stingy
    OS Win 10 64bit
    Network Routeryeah right...
    Accessory #1 Silverstone EBA01 headphone stand / black
    Accessory #2 radio Keyfob to turn on and off
    Accessory #3 4 bay fantec /10tb red/+scrap

    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    143

    It must be a wrong Bios setting since i get full speed on both SSDs.

    Confirmed via the tool you suggested.

    I checked my Bios. I didn't find something to point out except that "Hyper M.2 xxx" should be off since this is a pcie-slot extension card setting as far as i know.

    If you can't find the setting please post Bios pics and i will compare.

    Rgds
    Carlyle
    Last edited by Carlyle2020; 11-12-2019 at 08:56 PM.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array Betroz PC Specs
    Betroz PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XII Apex
    Processori9 10900K
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill TridentZ F4-4000C17D-32GTRGB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 2080Ti OC
    MonitorAsus PG279Q
    Storage #1Adata SX8200 PRO
    Storage #2Adata SX8200 PRO
    CPU CoolerLiquid Freezer II 360
    CasePhanteks Eclipse P500A
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Sennheiser 660S
    OS Windows 10 PRO
    Betroz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by Carlyle2020 View Post
    I checked my Bios. I didn't find something to point out except that "Hyper M.2 xxx" should be off since this is a pcie-slot extension card setting as far as i know.

    Rgds
    Carlyle
    That setting is off. I tried to set it on one time, and the system would not boot. Had to reset cmos.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array XYchromosone PC Specs
    XYchromosone PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximux XI Extreme [BIOS 1602]
    Processori9 9900KS
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB CL17 3600MHz 32GB [4x8]
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix Gaming GTX 1080Ti 11GB
    MonitorAOC AGON AG271QG 27" 144Hz [165Hz OC]
    Storage #12 X Samsung 970 Pro NVMe 1TB M.2 SSD [DIMM.2_1+ DIMM.2_2]
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo SSD 500GB SATA 3
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Floe Riing 360 Premium AIO
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard RAZER Blackwidow X Tournament Chroma
    Mouse RAZER Lancehead [ambidextrous] Chroma
    Headset Sennheiser RS165 Wireless
    Headset/Speakers Sennheiser CX 100 inner ear headphones
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 + Ubuntu Studio 20.04
    Network RouterASUS DSL-AC68U
    XYchromosone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    324

    Quote Originally Posted by Betroz View Post
    That setting is off. I tried to set it on one time, and the system would not boot. Had to reset cmos.
    I Believe it would not boot with the setting set on is because it disables some sata ports which the SSD must rely on. I did something similar in my XI Extreme where I enabled 4X PCIe for the SSD M.2_1 in the motherboard. It disables 2 sata ports to get that double bandwidth. But the system would not boot so I had to revert back to 2x.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array Betroz PC Specs
    Betroz PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XII Apex
    Processori9 10900K
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill TridentZ F4-4000C17D-32GTRGB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 2080Ti OC
    MonitorAsus PG279Q
    Storage #1Adata SX8200 PRO
    Storage #2Adata SX8200 PRO
    CPU CoolerLiquid Freezer II 360
    CasePhanteks Eclipse P500A
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Sennheiser 660S
    OS Windows 10 PRO
    Betroz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by XYchromosone View Post
    I Believe it would not boot with the setting set on is because it disables some sata ports which the SSD must rely on. I did something similar in my XI Extreme where I enabled 4X PCIe for the SSD M.2_1 in the motherboard. It disables 2 sata ports to get that double bandwidth. But the system would not boot so I had to revert back to 2x.
    I believe I have found the cause of the problem, allthough I don't understand why it got fixed this way. Since I only have one SATA SSD in my system connected to port 1, I have had the other 5 ports disabled in the BIOS. For the sake of troubleshooting I now enabled ALL of them, ran a new CrystalDiskMark bench on the second drive, and now the performance is where it should be.

    I would like Asus to explain why this is so. It would be great

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Ch3vr0n PC Specs
    Ch3vr0n PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorCore i9 9900k @ 4.7GHZ (XMP)
    Memory (part number)CMT32GX4M4Z3200C16
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1080 A8G
    Sound Cardon board
    MonitorASUS VG278HR & ASUS VK278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo 1TB (Boot) & 970 EVO 2TB (Scratch)
    Storage #23X HGST 10TB, 1x HGST 4TB
    CPU CoolerScythe Mugen 5 PCGH
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos II
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Corsair k95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro RGB
    Headset Corsair Voide Wireless SE
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 + Corsair MM800 Polaris (EU)
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-906
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterNetgear XR500
    Accessory #1 Xbox One Elite Wireless Controller
    Accessory #2 2X Corsair LL140, 4x Corsair LL120
    Accessory #3 1x Corsair LED RGB Pro expansion kit, 2x LS100 RGB kit + 450mm expansion kit
    Ch3vr0n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    38
    Posts
    237

    Quote Originally Posted by Betroz View Post
    On the XI Apex board?
    My entire post only addresses your "is this a platform issue". It's not, as i'm using that same platform (different board though) and i'm running all that hardware. So it's not a chipset limitation. Either as i said bios misconfiguration, or at worst board limitation. It aint exactly the same board as mine

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Carlyle2020 PC Specs
    Carlyle2020 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)amd4000 for sure next time
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI APEX
    Processorgaming9900ks/@5.2 avx -1 / manual vcore 1.32/LLC5/AC+dc 0.01/TVB off/all power savings on
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX 4000 CL19@16.17.28/300/2T/ 1.42 volt
    Graphics Card #1Gainward RTX 2080Triple/tempsense on Displayport needed
    Sound CardXonar STXII mods:3xLME 49720NA
    MonitorLG 38GL950G / -HDR / +madVR
    Storage #12TB 970evo plus nvme
    Storage #21TB 960evo nvme +2x 1tb evo 860 hw-sata-raid
    CPU Coolerarctic freezer II 280
    CaseV2-Silverstone FT2 dampened up the wazoo
    Power SupplySeasonic TX-850
    Keyboard Cherry KC 1000 on top of a cherry MX1 for ergonomics :)
    Mouse MX Master 3
    Headset Sennheiser PC360 + Philips X2HR
    Headset/Speakers A250 / cause LG was stingy
    OS Win 10 64bit
    Network Routeryeah right...
    Accessory #1 Silverstone EBA01 headphone stand / black
    Accessory #2 radio Keyfob to turn on and off
    Accessory #3 4 bay fantec /10tb red/+scrap

    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    143

    ... Isn't there a mention in the manual about ports 1, 5 and 6 sharing resources ?

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array Betroz PC Specs
    Betroz PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XII Apex
    Processori9 10900K
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill TridentZ F4-4000C17D-32GTRGB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 2080Ti OC
    MonitorAsus PG279Q
    Storage #1Adata SX8200 PRO
    Storage #2Adata SX8200 PRO
    CPU CoolerLiquid Freezer II 360
    CasePhanteks Eclipse P500A
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Sennheiser 660S
    OS Windows 10 PRO
    Betroz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by Carlyle2020 View Post
    ... Isn't there a mention in the manual about ports 1, 5 and 6 sharing resources ?
    I searched the manual now, and could not find anything about that. Anyway all the SATA ports must be enabled in BIOS for both M.2 SSDs to run at full speed in that Dimm.2 module...for some reason. One would think that disabling ports would free up lanes from the PCH, but apparently not.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •