Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Rampage V edition 10 display 00

    Hello,

    I have a computer I build few years ago.
    Everything was fine until today.
    I used it few hours, turned it off normally and when I wanted to turn it on again, nothing. The motherboard displays 00.
    As I understood it means the CPU is dead, but I can't test it so I don't know.
    I didn't changed anything in the computer, there were no power cut or electrical problems... nothing.
    Really don't understand what happened.

    After disassembly and rebuild the computer, I can pass the 00 sometimes and it stays stuck at 68 which is the related to the PCI bridge.

    Any idea ???

    Thank you.
    Last edited by icounil; 11-14-2019 at 10:05 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,456

    Have you tried a different PSU?

    I'd also reflash BIOS...BIOS flashback method...and check motherboard battery
    Last edited by Arne Saknussemm; 11-14-2019 at 11:13 AM.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Have you tried a different PSU?

    I'd also reflash BIOS...BIOS flashback method...and check motherboard battery
    Thank you for your answer.

    I don't have a different PSU but I ve tested it with a multimeter and it looks ok.
    I ve been in a shop where they tested the motherboard. They can't test the CPU because they don't have a 2011 board in there workshop (I live in a lost place).
    They told me that the motherboard is ok but the CPU is probably dead.
    Since the 2011 cpus are expensive and hard to find, I will move on x266 architecture and buy new cpu/motherboard.
    Next I go to Bangkok I will have the CPU tested.
    Now why the CPU died...? I have no idea. Everything was working well for years and as I said I didn't change anything recently.
    I don't understand.
    .

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array ThrashZone PC Specs
    ThrashZone PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS x99 sabertooth & x299 Rampage VI Apex
    Processori7-5930k & i9-9940x
    Memory (part number)Trident-Z 3200C14 & Trident-Z 3600C16 both Samsung B-Dies
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080ti FTW3 water block & Titan Xp copper water block
    MonitorAOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz & ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
    Storage #12-Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2 & 2.5" ssd's 850 pro's for os 850 evo for games
    Storage #22-LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
    CPU Coolerx99 2-240GTX with Heatkiller-4-Pro/ vrm water block Both&x299 2-280GTX 2-D5's before and after rads
    Case2- Corsair 450D with second floors for 240GTX & 280GTX rads enclosed and filtered on top
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000P2 & EVGA 1200P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum & Logitech G710+
    Mouse 2-Red dragon Perdition
    OS Win-7 & win-10 pro on both systems Win-7 everyday os
    Accessory #1 Heatkiller IV Pro plexi/ Copper base on both systems
    Accessory #2 Mayhems Biocide and Inhibitor with distilled water
    Accessory #3 Mayhems 3/8-5/8" clear soft tubing
    ThrashZone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    325

    Hi,
    Auto voltages usually kill 2011-v3 on asus boards and or chips.
    Especially increasing memory from default 2133 and or using xmp profiles

    Broadwell-e bios is why
    It cranks vccio cpu way over anything haswell-e bios ever did which is pretty much it's standard voltage 1.05v
    Broadwell-e bios shoots it up to 1.2v+ way more than needed even for a broadwell-e cpu

    Plenty of reported cases with dead chips and asus boards only common denominator is auto voltages and xmp profiles being used.
    Most bad things happen at startup on auto voltages.

    Some tips from xkm1948

    1. Dont run auto voltage on vcore, VCCIO, VCCSA, Vcache and VDRAM
    2. Don't use XMP. Always set everything manually
    3. Vcore wont hurt much. It is usually cache overclocking that kills your chip.
    Keep your cache as close to 1V as possible
    4. VCCSA is the same thing. Keep it as close to 1V as possible.
    5. Provide adequate cooling for the VRM if you are using AIO.
    vccsa 1.1
    cache 1.0
    vccio 1.05

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by ThrashZone View Post
    Hi,
    Auto voltages usually kill 2011-v3 on asus boards and or chips.
    Especially increasing memory from default 2133 and or using xmp profiles

    Broadwell-e bios is why
    It cranks vccio cpu way over anything haswell-e bios ever did which is pretty much it's standard voltage 1.05v
    Broadwell-e bios shoots it up to 1.2v+ way more than needed even for a broadwell-e cpu

    Plenty of reported cases with dead chips and asus boards only common denominator is auto voltages and xmp profiles being used.
    Most bad things happen at startup on auto voltages.
    x99 VCCSA VCCIO and some question

    my oc detail ( XMP )
    6800k 4.2ghz 1.29v
    G.skill Tridentz RGB 3000Mhz C16 oc to 3200Mhz
    SpeedStep and C-State Disable
    other setting default and Auto

    yesterday i update my bios from 1801 to 1903

    bios at 1801 i remember my VCCSA and VCCIO Voltage set Auto just near 1.0v or under this .
    after this bios update go up to 1.224 and 1.256
    I'm wondering if this value is a bit too high?

    just like you say , it may kill my CPU ?
    I try to set my VCCSA to 1.05v , but it's still run auto value .

    should i update to bios 2101 beta or back to 1801 ?
    Last edited by Rrbme; 11-20-2019 at 03:26 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array ThrashZone PC Specs
    ThrashZone PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS x99 sabertooth & x299 Rampage VI Apex
    Processori7-5930k & i9-9940x
    Memory (part number)Trident-Z 3200C14 & Trident-Z 3600C16 both Samsung B-Dies
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080ti FTW3 water block & Titan Xp copper water block
    MonitorAOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz & ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
    Storage #12-Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2 & 2.5" ssd's 850 pro's for os 850 evo for games
    Storage #22-LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
    CPU Coolerx99 2-240GTX with Heatkiller-4-Pro/ vrm water block Both&x299 2-280GTX 2-D5's before and after rads
    Case2- Corsair 450D with second floors for 240GTX & 280GTX rads enclosed and filtered on top
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000P2 & EVGA 1200P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum & Logitech G710+
    Mouse 2-Red dragon Perdition
    OS Win-7 & win-10 pro on both systems Win-7 everyday os
    Accessory #1 Heatkiller IV Pro plexi/ Copper base on both systems
    Accessory #2 Mayhems Biocide and Inhibitor with distilled water
    Accessory #3 Mayhems 3/8-5/8" clear soft tubing
    ThrashZone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    325

    Hi,
    I'm still on x99 sabertooth 2101 bios but it was released way back 1-06-16 which is the last bios before broadwell-e compatibility was added so I don't know which board you have
    But full manual mode like I said should work on any bios.

    VCCSA is an offset if you go full manual mode then you can enter 1.1v....
    1.15v is a much better limit for system agent and vccio cpu/ pch.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by ThrashZone View Post
    Hi,
    I'm still on x99 sabertooth 2101 bios but it was released way back 1-06-16 which is the last bios before broadwell-e compatibility was added so I don't know which board you have
    But full manual mode like I said should work on any bios.

    VCCSA is an offset if you go full manual mode then you can enter 1.1v....
    1.15v is a much better limit for system agent and vccio cpu/ pch.
    now using X99 strix gaming
    i set to full manual mode but set VCCSA at 1.05v it still run auto value .
    at bios 1801 set auto just under 1.0v or near . so i don't adjustment VCCSA and VCCIO before
    Last edited by Rrbme; 11-20-2019 at 04:06 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •