Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 15 of 15
  1. #11
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Quote Originally Posted by ationfictons View Post
    I've found what I think are the locations for two other Calculator fields in the BIOS. I'd appreciate it if someone could confirm/deny those:
    • Under the Misc table, "BGS" (and the Alternate) might be "BankGroupSwap" at Advanced > AMD CBS > UMC Common Options > DRAM Memory Mapping
    • Under the Main Voltage table, "VRef (CHA/CHB)" might be "DRAM Ctrl Ref Voltage on" (CHA/CHB) at Extreme Tweaker > Tweaker’s Paradise
    You have some good work here, I thought similar when I got to the BIOS and not all the settings were in one area, some are buried as you have found or dont relate with the exact terminology.

    My board is the TUF B450-Gaming so it has close menu. I will revisit one day but was waiting for the 1.0.0.4 BIOS' to settle which they seem to be churning out now.

  2. #12
    ROG Member Array owcraftsman PC Specs
    owcraftsman PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VIII Hero
    ProcessorR9-3900X
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16Q-32GTZNC
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080 Ti Ultra
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO M.2 512GB
    Storage #2Corsair MP600 M.2 Gen4
    CPU CoolerEK-Quantum
    CaseBenchTop ATM
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova G2 1000w
    Keyboard Corsair K68 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G403
    Headset Kingston HyperX Cloud (white)
    Mouse Pad CMStorm
    Headset/Speakers Logitech z5500
    OS W10x64 Pro 1909
    Network RouterGT AC5300 ROG
    owcraftsman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    16

    I recommend poking around in the Advanced Tab in Bios scroll down to the bottom "AMD Overclocking" where you will be greeted with a prompt to accept. You'll be greeted with 8 subtopics. VDDP & VDDG Voltage Control among them and I suspect all you are missing can be found there.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	AMD Overclocking.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	448.1 KB 
ID:	83315

    There is another alternative to adjusting VDDP & VDDG which is using Ryzen Master. The only problem I have with it is we have no idea what all the changes it makes other than what we manually adjust through the app. I know this much, I can run my system at 4450 all cores which are 3hrs Real Bench Stress Test stable by making two changes in the app but the same two change made to the bios fails to boot. To me that is a clear indication there is way more going on there than we see.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	RM Voltages.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	554.7 KB 
ID:	83316

    This may also answer the question of which SOC voltage to change. It makes sense to me to change the VDDCR SOC voltage other than system-wide SOC.

    To be clear, I'm still on 1105 bios and unless I find a compelling reason to update to 1201 I will stick with it.
    In any case, this is my effort to avoid confusion.

    I understand release notes indicate " Update auto-rules for CPU and Memory overclocking" but we are not using auto are we?
    Of course, there is always the unknown that may prove valuable so I never say never.
    I've been overclocking for 20+ years and as a rule of thumb, I never update bios unless I need to. Back when you could replace the EPROM chip too. I even had Tski program a chip and send it to me once for an NF4 board.

    I want to thank you @ationfictons for all the effort you have put forth here and offer you whatever input I can to help see it all to a successful end.

    I too am looking to dot all my i's and cross all my t's before committing the tuned timings to bios and testing.

    Suffice to say, I have a vested interest.

    I'm working with Trident Z NEO memory specifically F4-3600C16Q-32GTZN
    Using Thaiphoon my memory shows up as DJR which is not an available option in the drop-down menu. Imagine my concern so, I reached out to 1usmus through twitter and he responded within 2 days. I have no personal relationship with him/her and was quite grateful for the reply. Turns out we can use the "Hynix CJR" option when DJR parts are detected. Although I remain a bit skeptical I feel a bit better proceeding.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Thaiphoon Burner Results.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	94.2 KB 
ID:	83312

    At this point I will continue working on the unanswered question so maybe we can cleanup post 2


    I think I found CAD_BUS settings
    Advanced>AMD CBS

    I found VPP Voltage setting but in an unconventional way.
    From In Bios tap "F9" type in "VPP" in the resulting dialog enter the value desired.

    I think VDDCR may be adjusted by a CPU offset voltage vs an actual enty in bios. ATM I don't have a tool to monitor changes so I cannot be sure.
    Last edited by owcraftsman; 12-06-2019 at 10:22 PM. Reason: added thoughts
    | Ryzen 9 3900X | ASUS ROG C8H | Trident Z Neo 4x8 3600 C16 | EVGA RTX2080Ti Ultra | EVGA Supernova 1000 G2 | Corsair 1TB MP600 (OS) & Samsung 970 evo 1TB M.2 (Games) | Custom Enthoo Luxe | EK-Quantum (CPU & Mobo) | Hydro Copper (2080Ti) | Custom external loop w/Phoyba Xtreme Nova 1080 |

  3. #13
    New ROGer Array ationfictons PC Specs
    ationfictons PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG X570 Crosshair VIII Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZ DDR4
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW2 w/ICX
    MonitorDell U3417W
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 970 EVO Plus 1TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 USB-C
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime ULTRA 600W 80+ Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB Rapidfire
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB Elite
    Headset HyperX Cloud II Gaming Headset
    Headset/Speakers AudioEngine A2+
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterpfSense SG-4860
    Accessory #1 XSPC Wire Sensor 10K Thermistor
    Accessory #2 Noctua NF-A14 PWM 140mm Case Fans (3)
    ationfictons's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    In the end, I decided to go (roughly) with various bits of advice I got from here and other places and only overclock my memory up through the Calculator's CAD_BUS Block Resistances using the FAST settings for its rated 3200 speed. For my particular G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZ DDR4 memory those numbers, and their locations, work out to be:

    T-variables 3200 FAST t-values BIOS Location: All under Extreme Tweaker > DRAM Timing Control
    tCL 14 DRAM CAS# Latency
    tRCDWR 14 Switch order
    tRCDRD 14 Switch order
    tRP 14 DRAM RAS# PRE Time
    tRAS 28 DRAM RAS# ACT Time
    tRC 42
    tRRDS 4
    tRRDL 5
    tFAW 16
    tWTRS 4
    tWTRL 12
    tWR 10
    tRDRD SCL 2
    tWRWR SCL 2
    tRFC 252
    tRFC (alt) 256 Can’t find - ignored
    tCWL 14
    tRTP 8
    tRDWR 7
    tWRRD 3
    tWRWR SC 1
    tWRWR SD 7
    tWRWR DD 7
    tRDRD SC 1
    tRDRD SD 5
    tRDRD DD 5
    tCKE 1

    Voltage Block (voltage range) 3200 FAST Rec BIOS Location: All under Extreme Tweaker
    DRAM Voltage 1.365
    SOC Voltage 1.025 "CPU SOC Voltage"?
    cLDO VDDG Voltage 0.9 Can't Find - ignored
    cLDO VDDP Voltage 0.9 Wrong Units? 700 vs 0.9? Ignored

    Misc Items 3200 FAST Value BIOS Location
    Power Down mode Disabled Extreme Tweaker > DRAM Timing Control
    Gear Down mode Disabled Extreme Tweaker > DRAM Timing Control
    Command Rate 1T Extreme Tweaker > DRAM Timing Control
    BGS Disabled BankGroupSwap at Advanced > AMD CBS > UMC Common Options > DRAM Memory Mapping
    BGS alt Enabled BankGroupSwap Alt at Advanced > AMD CBS > UMC Common Options > DRAM Memory Mapping
    FCLK 1600 Extreme Tweaker

    Termination Block Resistances 3200 SAFE/FAST Rec BIOS Location: All under Extreme Tweaker > DRAM Timing Control
    procODT 34.3
    RTT_NOM OFF
    RTT_WR OFF
    RTT_PARK RZQ/5(48)

    CAD_BUS Block Resistances 3200 SAFE/FAST Rec BIOS Location: All under Extreme Tweaker > DRAM Timing Control
    CAD_BUS ClkDrv 24 "MemCadBusClkDrvStren"?
    CAD_BUS AddrCmdDrv 20 "MemCadBusAddrCmdDrvStren"?
    CAD_BUS CsOdtDrv 20 "MemCadBusCsOdtDrvStren"?
    CAD_BUS CkeDrv 24 "MemCadBusCkeDrvStren"?

    Basically, the only items I skipped were the cLDO VDDG Voltage and cLDO VDDP Voltage settings. Everything breezed through my stress testing and benchmarks without problem. I just updated to the 1201 BIOS and in the process reset all my BIOS settings. I considered just doing the memory overclocking in Ryzen Master but decided to stay with doing it in the BIOS (and that's fairly easy, now, since I know where the settings are). Since I do see those cLDO setting right there under RM's "Voltage Controls" area, I've been considering setting up a profile just to include those changes. But, since I'm running fine, I decided to be lazy and leave things alone. Also, I've seen posts mentioning that making changes in RM means it sets the values in the AMD Overclocking area and that area doesn't get cleared with setting the BIOS back to defaults. If something gets badly messed up doing things that way, I'd have to re-flash the BIOS to recover:

    https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comment...memory_oc_and/

    BTW: my benchmarks are mostly by eyeball, but according to the tests I ran, I'm getting about half a percent to a full percent more performance just from updating the BIOS from 1105 to 1201. It's really not worth mentioning (it's small enough to be considered noise), but it seemed consistent.
    Last edited by ationfictons; 12-07-2019 at 02:20 AM.

  4. #14
    New ROGer Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)PVR416G413C9K @ 3600 14-15-14-28 CR1
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    339

    3900x Samsung B-die 3600, 3666, 3733, 3800 Overclocking Adventures

    The results are from testing the Ryzen Dram Calculator Fast Settings on Samsung b-die certified 4133 at various speeds.
    Ryzen 3900x with Ram 2x8 PVR416G413C9K https://viper.patriotmemory.com/prod...ormance-memory

    DDR4@3600
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	cachemem3600Fast.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	164.3 KB 
ID:	83347
    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/22489520
    3600 Full Profile Fast Settings - https://my.pcloud.com/publink/show?c...RJadVA054CDVu7


    DDR4@3666
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	cachemem3666Fast.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	164.5 KB 
ID:	83348
    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/22489047
    3666 Full Profile Fast Settings - https://my.pcloud.com/publink/show?c...BRMij2fV3PAKLV


    DDR4@3733
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	cachemem3733Fast.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	164.1 KB 
ID:	83349
    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/22488174
    3733 Full Profile Fast Settings - https://my.pcloud.com/publink/show?c...kdg8A4cLE6NIXV

    DDR4@3800
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	cachemem3800Fast.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	164.2 KB 
ID:	83350
    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/22490645
    3800 Full Profile Fast Settings - https://my.pcloud.com/publink/show?c...VMx9tiXuKiEzRV




    Notes:-

    I have attached the full profile bios settings for each speed and made adjustments to some from the calculators suggestions. I run my system DDR4@3600 Fast Profile (daily driver) and I did stability test every profile prior to posting (they all work in my system, yours maybe different story bla bla bla no warranties this works for you / at your own risk).

    Strangely the M2 nvme drive speed was affected in some of the runs, with 3600 & 3800 passes being the exceptions.
    If anyone has ideas to why or what to adjust to get more consistent speed from M2 nvme across testing. I would be very interested.

    Did not bother with certified 4100 @ 4133 DOCP profiles or faster clocks, maybe in the future.





    Hope this might be of help to the more adventurous of us.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 12-09-2019 at 07:13 AM.

  5. #15
    New ROGer Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)PVR416G413C9K @ 3600 14-15-14-28 CR1
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    339

    I checked the nvme passes with two different benchmarks at various speed tested above and they both show a normal linear growth with speed increases along with the RAM.

    Not sure why userbench is showing what it does, but it does throw the scoring out as well (no other benchmark program captures the userbench shown nvme scaling with ram issue). Strange issue, I noticed it while ago but never checked till today. I wonder if this effects Intel and other amd systems ?
    Last edited by RedSector73; 12-09-2019 at 11:13 AM.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •