Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Aje PC Specs
    Aje PC Specs
    MotherboardZenith Extreme Alpha
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen Threadripper 2950X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14-8GTZRX
    Graphics Card #1GeForce 1080 Ti Strix
    Monitor2x Dell U3014
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerH2O
    CaseLian Li PC-V3000
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Logitech K740
    Mouse Logitech G602
    Headset Sony WH-1000X M3
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Aje's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Question Zenith Extreme Alpha - Add raid0 array to existing Windows 10 installation

    Hi,

    I have a running Windows 10 installation and want to add my old SATA raid0 array from a previous installation. No hardware changes. What would be the procedure for doing this? For an Intel chipset, this is pretty straight forward, but for AMD it's a mess. RAIDXpert2 won't install properly without enabling RAID on my M.2 drives, which kills the Windows installation.

    Any ideas on how to do this?


    M.2 - Samsung 970 EVO Plus - Windows 10
    M.2 - Samsung 950 Pro - Games
    SATA - 3x wd RED Pro in raid0


    Regards
    Andreas

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Dimitrios1971 PC Specs
    Dimitrios1971 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)GX700VO 1TB SSD + 64GB RAM
    MotherboardASUS ROG ZENITH EXTREME ALPHA
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen Threadripper 2950X
    Memory (part number)F4-4000C18Q2-64TZR (3333MHz)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GeForce® GTX 1080 Ti OC-Edition
    MonitorROG Swift PG348Q Gaming
    Storage #13 x Samsung SSD NVMe 960 PRO 1TB Raid0
    Storage #24 x Samsung SSD NVMe 970 PRO 1TB Raid0
    CPU CoolerCOOLER MASTER MasterLiquid ML360 RGB TR4 Edition
    CaseROG Strix Helios
    Power SupplyASUS ROG THOR 1200P
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare RGB
    Mouse ROG Strix Evolve, ROG Gladius II
    Mouse Pad ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers ROG Strix Fusion 700
    OS Win10_x64
    Network RouterFRITZ!Box 6590 Cable
    Accessory #1 BW-16D1H-U PRO
    Accessory #2 Asustor AS6404T & ASUS XG-U200
    Accessory #3 HYPER M.2 X16 CARD V2 & ROG Headset Holder
    Dimitrios1971's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    115

    You just will not plug in the hard drives and they will do the win installation. When you are finished, go to the Bios menu and you will embed HDD Sata Raid


  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Aje PC Specs
    Aje PC Specs
    MotherboardZenith Extreme Alpha
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen Threadripper 2950X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14-8GTZRX
    Graphics Card #1GeForce 1080 Ti Strix
    Monitor2x Dell U3014
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerH2O
    CaseLian Li PC-V3000
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Logitech K740
    Mouse Logitech G602
    Headset Sony WH-1000X M3
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Aje's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Hi, thanks for a quick reply.
    Can you please elaborate some more on what you just wrote as I am unclear of what you mean?

    The system is up an running with Windows 10. I want to add my three SATA drives that were configured as a raid0 array from my previous Windows 10 installation.

    Are you saying I should connect the drives to the motherboard, go to BIOS and set drive mode to RAID instead of SATA? And then?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Dimitrios1971 PC Specs
    Dimitrios1971 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)GX700VO 1TB SSD + 64GB RAM
    MotherboardASUS ROG ZENITH EXTREME ALPHA
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen Threadripper 2950X
    Memory (part number)F4-4000C18Q2-64TZR (3333MHz)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GeForce® GTX 1080 Ti OC-Edition
    MonitorROG Swift PG348Q Gaming
    Storage #13 x Samsung SSD NVMe 960 PRO 1TB Raid0
    Storage #24 x Samsung SSD NVMe 970 PRO 1TB Raid0
    CPU CoolerCOOLER MASTER MasterLiquid ML360 RGB TR4 Edition
    CaseROG Strix Helios
    Power SupplyASUS ROG THOR 1200P
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare RGB
    Mouse ROG Strix Evolve, ROG Gladius II
    Mouse Pad ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers ROG Strix Fusion 700
    OS Win10_x64
    Network RouterFRITZ!Box 6590 Cable
    Accessory #1 BW-16D1H-U PRO
    Accessory #2 Asustor AS6404T & ASUS XG-U200
    Accessory #3 HYPER M.2 X16 CARD V2 & ROG Headset Holder
    Dimitrios1971's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    115

    to set the first in BIOS SATA settings Sata on Raid and restart computer. If you do not have AMD RAID Drivers installed, please install now and restart your computer. Then drive down to computer and smuggle in SATA HDDs. Restart the computer and create / festplattenpatritionen about management and format the SATA HDDs in the system interact


  5. #5
    ROG Member Array Aje PC Specs
    Aje PC Specs
    MotherboardZenith Extreme Alpha
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen Threadripper 2950X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14-8GTZRX
    Graphics Card #1GeForce 1080 Ti Strix
    Monitor2x Dell U3014
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerH2O
    CaseLian Li PC-V3000
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Logitech K740
    Mouse Logitech G602
    Headset Sony WH-1000X M3
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Aje's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    I don't want to format the drives as they contain an intact raid0 array. I just want to add them to the Windows 10 installation.

    For an Intel setup, I simply connect the drives, go to BIOS and enable RAID and hit CTRL + I to verify that BIOS has identified the drives from the former array properly. Windows automatically picks up the array as a single hard drive. If drivers are needed, I get a prompt. Usually no other drivers are necessary as Windows installs them by default.

    How do I do the same thing with the AMD motherboard?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Dimitrios1971 PC Specs
    Dimitrios1971 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)GX700VO 1TB SSD + 64GB RAM
    MotherboardASUS ROG ZENITH EXTREME ALPHA
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen Threadripper 2950X
    Memory (part number)F4-4000C18Q2-64TZR (3333MHz)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GeForce® GTX 1080 Ti OC-Edition
    MonitorROG Swift PG348Q Gaming
    Storage #13 x Samsung SSD NVMe 960 PRO 1TB Raid0
    Storage #24 x Samsung SSD NVMe 970 PRO 1TB Raid0
    CPU CoolerCOOLER MASTER MasterLiquid ML360 RGB TR4 Edition
    CaseROG Strix Helios
    Power SupplyASUS ROG THOR 1200P
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare RGB
    Mouse ROG Strix Evolve, ROG Gladius II
    Mouse Pad ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers ROG Strix Fusion 700
    OS Win10_x64
    Network RouterFRITZ!Box 6590 Cable
    Accessory #1 BW-16D1H-U PRO
    Accessory #2 Asustor AS6404T & ASUS XG-U200
    Accessory #3 HYPER M.2 X16 CARD V2 & ROG Headset Holder
    Dimitrios1971's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    115

    My english is not good but you should not format it but the satas to integrate them


  7. #7
    ROG Member Array Aje PC Specs
    Aje PC Specs
    MotherboardZenith Extreme Alpha
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen Threadripper 2950X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14-8GTZRX
    Graphics Card #1GeForce 1080 Ti Strix
    Monitor2x Dell U3014
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerH2O
    CaseLian Li PC-V3000
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Logitech K740
    Mouse Logitech G602
    Headset Sony WH-1000X M3
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Aje's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Really thanks for trying, but I'm having a difficult time understanding what you are writing? Perhaps if we try to break it down in to steps we can together fix my problem?

    Here is what I believe you are trying to tell me to do:

    1. Change drive mode from SATA to RAID (only for the SATA drives, not for the M.2 drives).

    2. Restart and ensure I have the correct drivers installed. If not, install them now and then restart my computer.

    3. Shut down computer and attach the drives to the motherboard.

    4. Start the computer and then do what?

    Regards
    Andreas

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Dimitrios1971 PC Specs
    Dimitrios1971 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)GX700VO 1TB SSD + 64GB RAM
    MotherboardASUS ROG ZENITH EXTREME ALPHA
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen Threadripper 2950X
    Memory (part number)F4-4000C18Q2-64TZR (3333MHz)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GeForce® GTX 1080 Ti OC-Edition
    MonitorROG Swift PG348Q Gaming
    Storage #13 x Samsung SSD NVMe 960 PRO 1TB Raid0
    Storage #24 x Samsung SSD NVMe 970 PRO 1TB Raid0
    CPU CoolerCOOLER MASTER MasterLiquid ML360 RGB TR4 Edition
    CaseROG Strix Helios
    Power SupplyASUS ROG THOR 1200P
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare RGB
    Mouse ROG Strix Evolve, ROG Gladius II
    Mouse Pad ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers ROG Strix Fusion 700
    OS Win10_x64
    Network RouterFRITZ!Box 6590 Cable
    Accessory #1 BW-16D1H-U PRO
    Accessory #2 Asustor AS6404T & ASUS XG-U200
    Accessory #3 HYPER M.2 X16 CARD V2 & ROG Headset Holder
    Dimitrios1971's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    115

    Quote Originally Posted by Aje View Post
    Really thanks for trying, but I'm having a difficult time understanding what you are writing? Perhaps if we try to break it down in to steps we can together fix my problem?

    Here is what I believe you are trying to tell me to do:

    1. Change drive mode from SATA to RAID (only for the SATA drives, not for the M.2 drives).

    2. Restart and ensure I have the correct drivers installed. If not, install them now and then restart my computer.

    3. Shut down computer and attach the drives to the motherboard.

    4. Start the computer and then do what?

    Regards
    Andreas
    Crave the picture.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	raid.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	112.9 KB 
ID:	83049

    You see if the HDDs would be merged with the foreign / old raid


  9. #9
    ROG Member Array Aje PC Specs
    Aje PC Specs
    MotherboardZenith Extreme Alpha
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen Threadripper 2950X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14-8GTZRX
    Graphics Card #1GeForce 1080 Ti Strix
    Monitor2x Dell U3014
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerH2O
    CaseLian Li PC-V3000
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Logitech K740
    Mouse Logitech G602
    Headset Sony WH-1000X M3
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Aje's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    I finally got it working!

    In BIOS under the raidxpert2 configuration utility there were two arrays, which was strange.

    1. The 3x raid0 array
    2. A single disk array with one of the disks from the raid0 array.

    I deleted array two and voila, the raid0 array popped up in Explorer.

    Happy days!

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Dimitrios1971 PC Specs
    Dimitrios1971 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)GX700VO 1TB SSD + 64GB RAM
    MotherboardASUS ROG ZENITH EXTREME ALPHA
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen Threadripper 2950X
    Memory (part number)F4-4000C18Q2-64TZR (3333MHz)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GeForce® GTX 1080 Ti OC-Edition
    MonitorROG Swift PG348Q Gaming
    Storage #13 x Samsung SSD NVMe 960 PRO 1TB Raid0
    Storage #24 x Samsung SSD NVMe 970 PRO 1TB Raid0
    CPU CoolerCOOLER MASTER MasterLiquid ML360 RGB TR4 Edition
    CaseROG Strix Helios
    Power SupplyASUS ROG THOR 1200P
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare RGB
    Mouse ROG Strix Evolve, ROG Gladius II
    Mouse Pad ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers ROG Strix Fusion 700
    OS Win10_x64
    Network RouterFRITZ!Box 6590 Cable
    Accessory #1 BW-16D1H-U PRO
    Accessory #2 Asustor AS6404T & ASUS XG-U200
    Accessory #3 HYPER M.2 X16 CARD V2 & ROG Headset Holder
    Dimitrios1971's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    115

    That tried all the time to explain


Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •