Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Unhappy Cannot set RAM to 3000Mhz in DOCP settings for B450 F Gaming Motherboard

    I have Asus B450 F Gaming Motherboard

    Ram - G SKill Trident Z RGB 2x8GB Modules "F4-3000C16D-16GTZR" as per QVL. They are arranged in slots A2 and B2

    My system fails to boot whenever i activate DOCP 3000Mhz, reverting back to 2133 Mhz.

    Any solutions??
    Last edited by sayak_life; 01-14-2019 at 09:52 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,684

    Try setting up manually.

    Set 3000MHz for RAM

    Set Dram voltage to 1.35
    Set SOC voltage to 1.2

    Set primary timings to 16-18-18-18-38 and leave all the rest on auto

    See if that boots

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by sayak_life View Post
    I have Asus B450 F Gaming Motherboard

    Ram - G SKill Trident Z RGB 2x8GB Modules "F4-3000C16D-16GTZR" as per QVL. They are arranged in slots A2 and B2

    My system fails to boot whenever i activate DOCP 3000Mhz, reverting back to 2133 Mhz.

    Any solutions??
    I have this very same memory on this board and have had no problem setting DOCP 3000Mhz with the corresponding timing settings. Perhaps try to reset all your BIOS settings back to default and start again? I have used BIOS 602, 1103, 1201 and all worked well. I have the memory in A2 and B2 also.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by sayak_life View Post
    I have Asus B450 F Gaming Motherboard

    Ram - G SKill Trident Z RGB 2x8GB Modules "F4-3000C16D-16GTZR" as per QVL. They are arranged in slots A2 and B2

    My system fails to boot whenever i activate DOCP 3000Mhz, reverting back to 2133 Mhz.

    Any solutions??
    Wich BIOS-Version is installed? The 1001 was bad!
    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...highlight=b450

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Set SOC voltage to 1.2
    VDDSOC Voltage Override? My default is 0.825V. I’m having the same issue with same RAM. Only I’m using 32GB (4 sticks) with a Ryzen 7 2700X.
    Last edited by ViperCoilz; 03-12-2019 at 05:27 AM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,684


  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    So buying 2 16GB kits was a bad idea... There's no point in buying a 16GB kit and upgrading later unless you a buy another 4X8GB kit. Am I reading that right?

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,684

    Yeah, pretty much...but I mean, by all means try running them both...some people get away with it because the memory controller on the CPU is gnarly...Try a bit more DRAM and SOC voltage...set up manually instead of using XMP/DOCP

    But single kit is most always going to be the way forward

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    2 Kits of F4-3000C16D-16GTZR (2x8gb each) will not boot DOCP 3000

    Each kit boots separately and DOCP3000 can be selected.
    But with both kits installed 3000 is a no go

    With 16gb (1 kit) DOCP-3000 gave a RealBench score of 106,381
    With 32gb (2 kits) after 3 attempts it was fail to boot
    1. With 1 kit DOCP-3000 if I auto overclock 5% the RealBench score actually went down to 93,934
    2. With 2 kits and everything on auto RB score was 82,401 (IReal Bench said RAM SPEED was 930.4 but I have no idea what that means)
    3. With 2 kits I manually set MemFreq to 2800; DRAM voltage to 1.35; SOC voltage to 1.2 and timings to 16.18.18.18.38 and got a score of 102,247 but usually when I turn system on the next day Real Bench will not run at the same settings = every test gives an error.

    Question. Do I return memory to newegg? Or motherboard? Or is this as good as it gets?
    Also whenever I try ASUS auto 5% overclocking the RealBench scores go down? Is it like golf and the lower the score the better?
    "Try overclocking they said. It will be fun they said"

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,684

    I would return the RAM and get a single kit of the size you want...preferably on the QVL for the board...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •