Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    102

    Help stabilize 9900KS overclock - water cooled!

    Hey guys,

    I finalized my first custom water cooled pc and are very happy with my results. Still, I have some questions in terms of dialing in the right bios settings.

    I run the following setup:

    // PC
    i9 9900KS @5.2 GHz
    Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master
    64 RAM 3200 CL14
    GTX 1080
    1000 Watt PSU

    // COOLING
    2 x 360 radiator
    EK Pump
    EK CPU cooler
    Heatkiller GPU cooler

    I run the current bios settings:
    CPU clock = 5.2 Ghz
    Memory set to XMP
    Loadline calibration = turbo (level 6)
    Enhanced multi core performance = disabled
    Uncore ratio = 47
    C states = all disabled
    CPU vcore current protection = extreme
    Pmw phase control = extrem perf
    Power limits are not limited
    Rest voltages are set to auto

    In terms of vcore and maybe related settings I have questions. I started off with a vcore of 1.290. I played around 1.290 and 1.310.
    I tried Cinebench R20 and R15 a couple of runs. AIDA 64 as well and Prime95. All seem to work even with 1.290 vcore at the beginning. The longer the pc was running the more I run into crashes. My temps are absolutely fine. In between 80-85 on prime95.

    So my question: is it normal that the vcore of 1.290 is not enough over time? Does it need a higher vcore over time? Do I have to keep raising the vcore? What additional bios setting would help stabilize the overclock apart from the vcore?

    Memory is not overclocked and GPU got 200 MHz and 100 clock overclock though.

    Thanks a lot for your help,
    Alex

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    498
    Posts
    13,531

    From what I've seen of these CPUs...real stability at 5.2GHz takes more than 1.3v on average.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    102

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    From what I've seen of these CPUs...real stability at 5.2GHz takes more than 1.3v on average.
    Thanks mate. On which tool do I get a exact read out of my current vcore under load?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    498
    Posts
    13,531

    That's all core stability so you may run less for individual core OCs.

    I've used CPUz and HWiNFO...for software readings...for what they are worth. RealBench is a good whole system stress test. If you pass an hour on that you're good to go for pretty much anything.

    I guess you have avx offset? Or using older p95 version?
    Last edited by Arne Saknussemm; 11-24-2019 at 03:40 PM.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    102

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    That's all core stability so you may run less for individual core OCs.

    I've used CPUz and HWiNFO...for software readings...for what they are worth. RealBench is a good whole system stress test. If you pass an hour on that you're good to go for pretty much anything.
    Thank you.

    So stability main relies on cvore or are there another voltage parameter that help stabilize?

    So far Aida64 worked fine. Realbench seems to be harder somehow and gives me crashes.

    I use hwinfo it was showing me cvore of 1.35 sometimes although I had 1.30 fixed. How is that possible and is it true? Does the loadline calibration does this offset?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    498
    Posts
    13,531

    These CPUs are very Vcore dependent yes.

    They also have their own algorithms for running depending on conditions.

    Check this thread for an intro to complexity
    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...ons-and-others

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    102

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    These CPUs are very Vcore dependent yes.[/url]
    Here are screenshots of my vcore. It sits around 1.34 with almost 0 cpu usage. Also shows maxium vcore peaks of 1.42. Why is that? And can I trust these values?
    Remember my vcore in bios is only set to 1.30. So what vcore shall I set? That is confusing me

    When running cinebench R15 for example HWiNFO is showing me a vcore of only 1.302 ...cinebench R20 it shows me 1.35, that is confusing too .

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Unbenannt2.PNG 
Views:	0 
Size:	343.5 KB 
ID:	83171
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Unbenannt.PNG 
Views:	0 
Size:	91.9 KB 
ID:	83170
    Last edited by Alexauwa; 11-24-2019 at 05:34 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    498
    Posts
    13,531

    Are you setting manual voltage...or adaptive? And what power plan settings...
    Any avx offset....latest Realbench and prime run avx and will pull a lot to run at high ghz.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    102

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Are you setting manual voltage...or adaptive? And what power plan settings...
    Any avx offset....latest Realbench and prime run avx and will pull a lot to run at high ghz.
    I run 1.30 vcore fix (manual) at the moment. Power plan (you mean under windows?) is set to high power on all settings. Avx = 0.
    Realbench hits the 1.42 on VID. But VID it not the vcore right?

    To get this right... VID is the vcore with LLC kicked in. Giving me a total vcore load of for example 1.42 in real bench. But when not using benchmark and stress test in real bench instead, I get immediate crash. In order to have vcore and VID match, I set the LLC corret. In my case this is 6 (turbo on gigabyte). But having a vcore in bios set to 1.3 and a VID of 1.42 is big jump right? So I shall set my Vcore even higher to maybe 1.35?
    Last edited by Alexauwa; 11-24-2019 at 06:04 PM.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    498
    Posts
    13,531

    Well....I've not had a play on a GB board recently....not sure what their llc settings are like...I guess you'd just have to experiment carefully raising vcore or lowering llc.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •