Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 38
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Vlada011 PC Specs
    Vlada011 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V E10 (BIOS 1903)
    ProcessorIntel®i7-5820K (4.5GHz 1.325V)
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4A2666C15
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX1080Ti Poseidon
    Sound CardSound Blaster ZxR
    MonitorSamsung P2450H
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO PLUS 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB/WD Black 2TB
    CPU CoolerEK RGB Monoblock RVE10
    CaseLian Li PC-O11 WXC
    Power SupplyEVGA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Deck 87 Francium PRO - MX Brown DS PBT
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Mouse Pad Steeseries QCK
    Headset/Speakers CREATIVE T5900 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 v1903
    Accessory #1 iPhone SE Space Grey
    Accessory #2 EK XRES D5 Revo 100 Glass PWM + CoolstreamPE 360
    Accessory #3 Noctua NF-A12x25 PWM x3 (radiator)
    Vlada011's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    1,475

    ASUS Zenith II Extreme TRX40

    Beutifull motherboard.
    Heatsink Cover is from Aluminum and that's very good material after copper for heatsink.
    More aluminium less carbon steel is always recommended.

    Zenith II encourage enthusiasts to enter in world of Threadripper, even if they like Intel.

    https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/RO...th-II-Extreme/



    Silver part of shield is amzing. I like that detail very much.
    My favorite combination for PC hardware is black-silver.
    Previous motherboards for Threadripper 1 and 2 are excellent, really no objections...
    but Zenith II is best moment for AMD Processors.
    Perfect board for people to switch on AMD.


    Usually I spent all day looking on motherboard details before installation.
    Later when everything is inside case it's time for examination of box and rest of accessories.
    Last edited by Vlada011; 11-27-2019 at 11:37 AM.


  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array DooRules's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    416

    Is there a memory QVL yet for this mobo?

    Been looking and cannot find it,,,thanks
    7980XE on Asus ApexVI
    Zotac 2080Ti
    Intel 900P
    2 x Samsung 950 Pro
    EVGA 1600W
    Alienware 34"
    Samsung 28" 4K

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array DooRules's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    416

    All good, found it.
    7980XE on Asus ApexVI
    Zotac 2080Ti
    Intel 900P
    2 x Samsung 950 Pro
    EVGA 1600W
    Alienware 34"
    Samsung 28" 4K

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    I would like to know if the F4-3600C16Q-64GTZN works on this Mainboard it is neither tested by Gskill nor Asus, as it is becoming rare to come by i ordered this kit in hope that it will work well .. It is Samsung B-die 4x16GB 3600Mhz Dual rank (64GB total), but from what I've seen on the Qvl list Samsung B-die is well Supported by Amd and Asus so i hope this works. (It is certified for all Ryzen 3000 series CPU's), Threadripper 3970X is a 3000 Series Cpu and the memory controller should be identical only difference is a Quad channel controller i assume.

    Can someone from Asus comment on this ? can it be tested ??

    I mailed Gskill about this but they only replied with recommending me to use the Gskill Dram Configurator , i call that a useless reply as i already did that of course and it is not up to date.
    Last edited by Hivemind; 12-08-2019 at 07:17 PM.

  5. #5
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    127
    Posts
    1,859

    Quote Originally Posted by Hivemind View Post
    I would like to know if the F4-3600C16Q-64GTZN works on this Mainboard it is neither tested by Gskill nor Asus, as it is becoming rare to come by i ordered this kit in hope that it will work well .. It is Samsung B-die 4x16GB 3600Mhz Dual rank (64GB total), but from what I've seen on the Qvl list Samsung B-die is well Supported by Amd and Asus so i hope this works. (It is certified for all Ryzen 3000 series CPU's), Threadripper 3970X is a 3000 Series Cpu and the memory controller should be identical only difference is a Quad channel controller i assume.

    Can someone from Asus comment on this ? can it be tested ??

    I mailed Gskill about this but they only replied with recommending me to use the Gskill Dram Configurator , i call that a useless reply as i already did that of course and it is not up to date.
    Hello,

    The best advice anyone can give you is that if the kit is not on the memory vendor or ASUS QVL, test it and find out. Every individual CPU is different. Memory support overall on Gen3 is solid, but some manual tuning may be required with 16GB modules at those speeds in an 8 DIMM board, due to the fact the memory kit was validated for 4 DIMM.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ASUS View Post
    Hello,

    The best advice anyone can give you is that if the kit is not on the memory vendor or ASUS QVL, test it and find out. Every individual CPU is different. Memory support overall on Gen3 is solid, but some manual tuning may be required with 16GB modules at those speeds in an 8 DIMM board, due to the fact the memory kit was validated for 4 DIMM.
    Well got the system Running @ 3600mhz 16.16.16.36. 1T @ 1.35V, I have not benched the ** out of it but it seems to run fine @ D.o.c.p.(Soc voltage from 0.8V to 1.080V Auto setting) but what i have read from the Gskill forum it seems that not all Threadrippers cpu's can handle this setting that's why it's not on the Qvl list.. so if you want to try it you have to be a bit lucky in getting a strong Memory controller..

    Maybe it is only a small batch of Threadripper cpu's that can't handle it ? i got no numbers just a hunch.
    Last edited by Hivemind; 12-15-2019 at 03:03 PM.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array zl1_ghost PC Specs
    zl1_ghost PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog Zenith II Extreme
    ProcessorAMD 3970X
    Memory (part number)G.SKill 3600 16GB * 4
    Graphics Card #1Zotac 2080Ti
    Storage #1Sabrent NVMe PCIE 4.0 1TB
    Storage #2Sabrent NVMe PCIE 4.0 1TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB Vector
    CasePhanteks Enthoo 719
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Platinum 1000W
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
    Mouse Razer Viper Ultimate
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Power

    The instruction say that I can use both an 8 pin EPS and a 4 pin EPS. Is that going to be sufficient for a 3970X and a 2080 Ti? When should you go to two 8-poin EPS connection plus a 6 pin PCIE?

  8. #8
    ROG Junior Member Array blaine PC Specs
    blaine PC Specs
    MotherboardROG RAMPAGE VI EXTREME
    ProcessorINTEL I9 7960X
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-3200C14Q-32GTZSW RT
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG STRIX 1080 Ti OC EDITION
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 960 PRO 1TB
    Storage #2WD 6TB GOLD 7200 RPM
    CPU CoolerXSPC RAYSTORM PRO, PHOBYA 560 RAD, 4 NOCTUA NF-A14 2000 IND PWM FANS, XSPC 270X D5 V2
    CaseTHERMALTAKE TOWER 900
    Power SupplySEASONIC PRIME 1200W
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO

    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by zl1_ghost View Post
    The instruction say that I can use both an 8 pin EPS and a 4 pin EPS. Is that going to be sufficient for a 3970X and a 2080 Ti? When should you go to two 8-poin EPS connection plus a 6 pin PCIE?
    Just got this MB and am waiting for my 3970X. Have the same question regarding the power connections. Will connect both 8 pin EPS but the manual lists the 6 pin as an EPS connector not a PCIE. Which do I use and when do I need it?

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    Quote Originally Posted by blaine View Post
    Just got this MB and am waiting for my 3970X. Have the same question regarding the power connections. Will connect both 8 pin EPS but the manual lists the 6 pin as an EPS connector not a PCIE. Which do I use and when do I need it?
    I just plugged a PcIe power cable on it and it works just fine, i wouldn't know any other Eps cable that is just 6 pins so it has to be a pcie cable .

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array IvoSilva PC Specs
    IvoSilva PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Zenith Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X Hexadeca-Core
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL F4-3200C14Q-32GTZ (4x8GB)
    Graphics Card #1SAPPHIRE Radeon™ RX Vega64 8G HBM2 Limited Edition
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO NVMe M.2 1TB
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken x62
    CaseThermaltake View 31 TG RGB
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Gold 1000W 80+ Gold
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion RGB Spectrum Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Sennheiser HD650
    OS Windows 10 Professional x64

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    33

    The pinout and format is indeed for a PCIe 6-Pin and not an EPS 6-Pin. 6-Pin EPS connectors do exist (mostly proprietary implementations). %

    The manual is lacking big time, it does not even mention if the 6-pin should be connected or not, only the two 8-PIN EPS and the 4 pin molex at the bottom.

    If I remember correctly, previously on the ASUS X99-M motherboard this same situation appeared, and I guess Asus is not very interested in correcting or at least clarifying the manuals. Sill calls this a 6-Pin EATX... At least mention that a 6-pin PCIe should be used and in what situations it should or not be plugged in.
    Last edited by IvoSilva; 12-28-2019 at 12:46 PM.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •