Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4
Results 31 to 38 of 38
  1. #31
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    I just bought this motherboard and the 3990x. I have a problem with it that when enable the D.O.C.P or change the ram voltage it will fail to post it post in the safe mode
    Any idea what to do to fix it?

  2. #32
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    77

    Quote Originally Posted by gontch View Post
    This motherboard has 2 major issues with cpu and case FAN control

    1/
    This motherboard has FAN Spin Up/Down delay setting issues.
    Fan speed is constantly changing... this rapid variation creates extra noise...
    Just opening Chrome will make your fans spin faster immediately for few seconds.
    FAN Spin Up/Down delay settings are available in BIOS and FanExpert but it don't work in NEITHER.

    Reported in
    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...137#post798137
    and
    Support case E2001041256 (opened early Jan - still no useful feedback)

    2/
    As reported by macmus and myself
    Fan Extension Card II is not configurable from BIOS, only accessible in Windows through FanXpert.
    This same card is accessible and configurable in BIOS on other ASUS motherboards.
    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...ghlight=zenith


    @ASUS representatives in this Forum could you take these 2 issues seriously please?
    These are 2 major flaws in this high end card that can be fixed with a simple BIOS/Software update
    Same issues are propagated to Asus Zenith Extreme II Alpha.. this bios of them needs a serious rework.

  3. #33
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,666

    Quote Originally Posted by chemcup View Post
    I just bought this motherboard and the 3990x. I have a problem with it that when enable the D.O.C.P or change the ram voltage it will fail to post it post in the safe mode
    Any idea what to do to fix it?

    The ZIIE only supports default RAM settings...i.e. F5 defaults with the 3990X

    Don't ask me why....

  4. #34
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    The ZIIE only supports default RAM settings...i.e. F5 defaults with the 3990X

    Don't ask me why....
    Ok but why when I change the voltage of the Ram from Auto to any value this happens not when I change the memory frequency

  5. #35
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,666

    Stock means stock...i.e. 1.2v and 2133 and jdec timings...

    at 1.2v I have had success running 3000 and 3200MHz memory...at jdec timings...

    Again don't ask me why....just stating current state of play...

  6. #36
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by macmus View Post
    Same issues are propagated to Asus Zenith Extreme II Alpha.. this bios of them needs a serious rework.
    Unsurprising as Alpha version is basically the same card with better VRM

    ASUS support is still unhelpful on these FAN control issues

  7. #37
    New ROGer Array bluestang PC Specs
    bluestang PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 3900X
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C15D-16GTZ (2 kits)
    Graphics Card #1MSI Armor OC 1660ti
    Graphics Card #2MSI Armor OC 1660ti
    MonitorASUS VZ249H
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 250GB NVMe
    Storage #22x WD Red 10TB (RAID1)
    CPU CoolerFractal Design Celcius S36
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Luxe TG
    Power SupplySeaSonic Focus Plus Platinum 850W
    Keyboard Logitech MK-710 Combo
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS RT-N66U

    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    41

    What a crock that ASUS is limiting memory to "stock" speed on 3990X on all boards except the Alpha. Incompetence at its best by ASUS once again lately.

    This review show being tested with 3990X at 3600 MHz RAM. He has a Beta BIOS 0021. Anyone know where to get it?
    https://techgage.com/article/amd-ryz...tion-review/2/

  8. #38
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Quote Originally Posted by bluestang View Post
    What a crock that ASUS is limiting memory to "stock" speed on 3990X on all boards except the Alpha. Incompetence at its best by ASUS once again lately.

    This review show being tested with 3990X at 3600 MHz RAM. He has a Beta BIOS 0021. Anyone know where to get it?
    https://techgage.com/article/amd-ryz...tion-review/2/
    I have contacted ASUS for this memory problem they answered me that I should buy the Alpha because this board doesn’t support CPU and memory overclocking. I am sure 100% now that ASUS deliberately crippled the BIOS to force us to buy the Alpha if we want to upgrade to the 3990x.

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •