Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Question ASUS RVIE ENCORE 6 pin power connector?

    Noticed ASUS Rampage Vi Extreme Encore had a 6 pin power connector as well as 2x 8 pin connectors. Heard of a 6 pin gpu connector to connect to the gpu but not a 6 pin connector to connect to the motherboard. My question is would I need to connect a 6 pin as well as the 2x 8 pin cables?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1546A9FB-FAED-4907-90B6-7745150BCBD3.jpeg 
Views:	0 
Size:	246.9 KB 
ID:	83215Â*

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array vmanuelgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    38
    Posts
    338

    If u are gonna push the cpu under LN2, yep. Otherwise, u only need both 8pin.
    Omega, 10980xe, G.Skill 3600, 2080Ti, SM951 256, 970 PRO, 860 EVO
    Intel 750, WD SN750 Black, 840 Pro, 2xSkyhawk 4TB, 7200.14, 207EBK
    EVGA T2 1600, Silverstone TJ11, Custom LC. @Acer Predator x34

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by vmanuelgm View Post
    If u are gonna push the cpu under LN2, yep. Otherwise, u only need both 8pin.

    Thanks.*

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    99

    If I remember correctly my RIVE had a 6 Pin Connector as well.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array gogo974 PC Specs
    gogo974 PC Specs
    Motherboardrampage v extreme
    Processor5930K
    Memory (part number)G SKIL RIPJAWS 3000MHz 16 GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA TITAN X HYBRID
    Graphics Card #2EVGA TITAN X HYBRID
    MonitorROG PG278Q
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 850 PRO
    Storage #2SAMSUNG 850 PRO
    CPU CoolerCORSAIR 110 GTX
    CaseCORSAIR 900D
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AX 1500I
    OS WINDOWS 10 64B

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    54

    I made the test ca heats less all the connector plug

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array Brockmonster PC Specs
    Brockmonster PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme Encore
    ProcessorI9 10980XE
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL F4-3200C14Q-32GTZ Trident Z Series 32 GB DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Hydro Copper GTX 2080TI
    Graphics Card #2EVGA Hydro Copper GTX 2080TI
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster ZxR PCI-Express
    MonitorSamsung 32"
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO Polaris 512GB M.2 2280 PCI-e 3.0 x4 NVMe Solid State Drive
    Storage #2Samsung 970 PRO Polaris 512GB M.2 2280 PCI-e 3.0 x4 NVMe Solid State Drive
    CPU CoolerEK Water Blocks EK Encore Full coverage
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite Super Tower Case - Black
    Power SupplyEVGA 1600w
    Keyboard Corsair CH-9127014-UK K95 Platinum RGB Rapid Fire Cherry MX Speed Multi-Colour Backlit Mechanical Ga
    Mouse Corsair Gaming CH-9302111-EU Glaive RGB Multi-Colour Backlit Performance 16000 DPI
    OS Windows 10 X64
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC3200 Tri-Band Wireless Gigabit Router with USB 3.0
    Accessory #1 2 x 480mm push pull 1 x 240mm push pull
    Accessory #2 2 Custom loops, 2 x D5 Pumps, Solid Brass nickel plated tube
    Accessory #3 6 x Corsair XTI 480gb SSD`s, Aquaero 6 XT, 3 x Poweradjust 3 USB, ultra version, 2x Flow sensor hig

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    61

    Quote Originally Posted by gogo974 View Post
    I made the test ca heats less all the connector plug
    I have the 6pin and both 8 pin plugged in and it works fine. VGA lead fits the 6 pin.

    Has anybody used the T-Sensors on this board ?? I connected the DIMM2_1 temps lead to one and my M.2 showed 180c. The T-Sensor next to the 24pin ATX is redundant when you use the heat spreader. Do you need to use the add on fan card temp sensors for the DIMM2 temps to show in Ai Suite??
    Last edited by Brockmonster; 11-28-2019 at 04:09 PM.
    Phanteks Enthoo Elite, Asus Rampage VI Extreme Encore, Intel I9 10980XE, G.SKILL F4-3200C14Q-32GTZ Trident Z Series @3200, 2 x EVGA Hydro Copper GTX 2080TI, Creative Sound Blaster ZxR PCI-Express Sound Card, EK ASUS ROG R6EE RGB Monoblock, 2 x Samsung 970 Pro 512GB Direct to CPU, Aqua Computer kryoM.2 with Samsung 960 Pro 512GB PCIe slot 4, 4 x Corsair XTI 480GB SSD, Aqua Computer Aquaero 6XT, 2x Aqua Computer D5 NEXT pump with Aquabus interface, 2 x XSPC 480mm Rads, EVGA 1600w PSU and more

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Quote Originally Posted by Homewrecker View Post
    If I remember correctly my RIVE had a 6 Pin Connector as well.
    I don't think so, i think this is the first board with 2x8 pin and 1x 6 pin connections on it.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Quote Originally Posted by Brockmonster View Post
    I have the 6pin and both 8 pin plugged in and it works fine. VGA lead fits the 6 pin.

    Has anybody used the T-Sensors on this board ?? I connected the DIMM2_1 temps lead to one and my M.2 showed 180c. The T-Sensor next to the 24pin ATX is redundant when you use the heat spreader. Do you need to use the add on fan card temp sensors for the DIMM2 temps to show in Ai Suite??

    I have both 8-pin and the 6-pin connected as well but don't really need the 6-pin connected. I have never used the thermal sensors so can't be of help there. It was kind of confusing though when you read about which DIMM.2 is disabled and when running in X16 X16 X8 mode or X16 X8 X4 mode whichever but after doing some searching in the bios you have to set that mode and it doesn't matter if the PCIe slots are being used or not in the board.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array vmanuelgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    38
    Posts
    338

    There are some old boards with a 6pin but in old ones is to feed the pciexpress slots when using multiple graphics cards.
    Omega, 10980xe, G.Skill 3600, 2080Ti, SM951 256, 970 PRO, 860 EVO
    Intel 750, WD SN750 Black, 840 Pro, 2xSkyhawk 4TB, 7200.14, 207EBK
    EVGA T2 1600, Silverstone TJ11, Custom LC. @Acer Predator x34

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Quote Originally Posted by vmanuelgm View Post
    There are some old boards with a 6pin but in old ones is to feed the pciexpress slots when using multiple graphics cards.
    Yeah i just meant as far as 2x8 and 1x6 as the main 12V connections, there has been several with 1x8 with 1x6 or 1x8 with 1x4 and then the extra connection for extra vga's but this one has 2x8, 1x6, and 1x 4 pin molex for extra video cards so its for sure got plenty of power connections on it.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •