Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Maximus XI or CPU dead?

    I have had this build running I think since May this year. I have not had any windows errors or issues prior to the issue below.

    Windows 10
    Monitor ASUS PG279Q
    Motherboard: ASUS Maximus XI hero
    CPU: Intel i9 9900k
    Memory: Corsair cmw32gx4m2c3200c16 - 2x16gb (32gb) - ddr4 3200 - C16
    Video card:EVGA 1080 SC
    PSU: Corsair hx1200i
    all hard drives removed when dealing with tech support.

    I was playing a game before my windows said it had a error and needed to restart. I am unable to get into the bios screen. The pc will start to boot up, but will not turn the power on to the keyboard or send a signal to my monitor on display port. I am getting different Q-Code's every time I restart. The most common codes I am getting are 6A, 71, 09, 18. I have rarely gotten other codes( 31 - memory seating fine, 23????, 00, 15, but I am wondering if the board is bad and is just randomly stopping while cycling though its codes. After a code is thrown, there are no lights under the q-code box to determine if its cpu, vga, memory, or post. I am not sure if this is a bad cpu, motherboard or if there is a way to put in a new bios if for whatever reason it is corrupted. I am unable to get to the screen where it will post the asus logo and press del to enter bios.

    Things I have tested:
    Switching out the PSU - no change
    Running a single memory stick in the a2 slot. Both Dimms tested. - no change
    Removing the video card and using trying the hdmi and display port on the back of the board - failed. (video card and monitor tests fine on other pc)
    Reset the cmos on back of mobo.
    Checking for blown capacitors on the motherboard

    The only thing I have not tried yet that I am considering is reseating the CPU to see if it makes a difference. I am waiting on new thermal paste to do so.

    Any other suggestions?
    Last edited by Trogdor469; 12-01-2019 at 10:32 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    88

    Quote Originally Posted by Trogdor469 View Post
    I have had this build running I think since May this year. I have not had any windows errors or issues prior to the issue below.

    Windows 10
    Monitor ASUS PG279Q
    Motherboard: ASUS Maximus XI hero
    CPU: Intel i9 9900k
    Memory: Corsair cmw32gx4m2c3200c16 - 2x16gb (32gb) - ddr4 3200 - C16
    Video card:EVGA 1080 SC
    PSU: Corsair hx1200i
    all hard drives removed when dealing with tech support.

    I was playing a game before my windows said it had a error and needed to restart. I am unable to get into the bios screen. The pc will start to boot up, but will not turn the power on to the keyboard or send a signal to my monitor on display port. I am getting different Q-Code's every time I restart. The most common codes I am getting are 6A, 71, 09, 18. I have rarely gotten other codes( 31 - memory seating fine, 23????, 00, 15, but I am wondering if the board is bad and is just randomly stopping while cycling though its codes. After a code is thrown, there are no lights under the q-code box to determine if its cpu, vga, memory, or post. I am not sure if this is a bad cpu, motherboard or if there is a way to put in a new bios if for whatever reason it is corrupted. I am unable to get to the screen where it will post the asus logo and press del to enter bios.

    Things I have tested:
    Switching out the PSU - no change
    Running a single memory stick in the a2 slot. Both Dimms tested. - no change
    Removing the video card and using trying the hdmi and display port on the back of the board - failed. (video card and monitor tests fine on other pc)
    Reset the cmos on back of mobo.
    Checking for blown capacitors on the motherboard

    The only thing I have not tried yet that I am considering is reseating the CPU to see if it makes a difference. I am waiting on new thermal paste to do so.

    Any other suggestions?
    You are not the first to have had CPU's just suddenly die like that. In most cases where this happened, it was always the CPU that died, as a replacement worked fine, but no one determined why it died. Whether the motherboard killed it or the CPU decided to commit sudoku.

    The only way to troubleshoot this is to unfortunately try a new CPU. I'm sorry.
    Contact Intel for a RMA? Just do NOT tell them that you used XMP. Period.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array hortons71 PC Specs
    hortons71 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XI Gene
    ProcessorIntel i9-9900KF
    Memory (part number)G Skill TridentZ Royal F4-4600C18-8GTRG
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 Ti OC
    MonitorAcer Predator X34a
    Storage #1Seagate FireCuda 510 SSD M.2 2TB
    CPU CoolerFractal Design Celsius S36
    CaseFractal Design Define S2 Vision Blackout
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 850 Titanium
    OS Windows 10 Home
    Accessory #1 Supra DC Blocker
    hortons71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Just a thought.

    Have you tried shift bios. You have dual bios?
    Bios may have become corrupt or viruses. Not common but can happen.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
    You are not the first to have had CPU's just suddenly die like that. In most cases where this happened, it was always the CPU that died, as a replacement worked fine, but no one determined why it died. Whether the motherboard killed it or the CPU decided to commit sudoku.

    The only way to troubleshoot this is to unfortunately try a new CPU. I'm sorry.
    Contact Intel for a RMA? Just do NOT tell them that you used XMP. Period.
    I did a reseat today and I am getting Q code 31 (no other random codes). I have alternated the sticks on the a2 slot. I did not see any bent pins on the motherboard in the cpu slot. I am going to RMA the cpu. Thanks for the help.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by hortons71 View Post
    Have you tried shift bios. You have dual bios?
    Bios may have become corrupt or viruses. Not common but can happen.
    I tried format the usb stick i got to fat32. I changed the bios file to M11HW.cap. The light will blink for a bit (like a minute) and turn solid blue. I do not think it is taking it.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array hortons71 PC Specs
    hortons71 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XI Gene
    ProcessorIntel i9-9900KF
    Memory (part number)G Skill TridentZ Royal F4-4600C18-8GTRG
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 Ti OC
    MonitorAcer Predator X34a
    Storage #1Seagate FireCuda 510 SSD M.2 2TB
    CPU CoolerFractal Design Celsius S36
    CaseFractal Design Define S2 Vision Blackout
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 850 Titanium
    OS Windows 10 Home
    Accessory #1 Supra DC Blocker
    hortons71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    You have only clear the bios on the reset button at the back of the mainboard earlier? You have a switch button too.

    The secondary bios have you never used, i guess. It is default version.
    Last edited by hortons71; 12-09-2019 at 01:27 AM.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by hortons71 View Post
    You have only clear the bios on the reset button at the back of the mainboard earlier? You have a switch button too.

    The secondary bios have you never used, i guess. It is default version.
    I am not seeing anything about a secondary bios either on the board or the manual. I only have a clear cmos and the bios button. Where would this switch be that you are referring to?

    Right now the mobo is pretty much sticking at q-code 09. Would removing the panel in the lower right corner void the warranty? I would like to see the PCH area.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mobo1.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	69.4 KB 
ID:	83351Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mobo2.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	65.4 KB 
ID:	83352Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mobo3.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	93.0 KB 
ID:	83353

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array hortons71 PC Specs
    hortons71 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XI Gene
    ProcessorIntel i9-9900KF
    Memory (part number)G Skill TridentZ Royal F4-4600C18-8GTRG
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 Ti OC
    MonitorAcer Predator X34a
    Storage #1Seagate FireCuda 510 SSD M.2 2TB
    CPU CoolerFractal Design Celsius S36
    CaseFractal Design Define S2 Vision Blackout
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 850 Titanium
    OS Windows 10 Home
    Accessory #1 Supra DC Blocker
    hortons71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Okay that's the Flashback button. Have you tested different usb memories, preferably usb 2.0

    https://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1038568/

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array hortons71 PC Specs
    hortons71 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XI Gene
    ProcessorIntel i9-9900KF
    Memory (part number)G Skill TridentZ Royal F4-4600C18-8GTRG
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 Ti OC
    MonitorAcer Predator X34a
    Storage #1Seagate FireCuda 510 SSD M.2 2TB
    CPU CoolerFractal Design Celsius S36
    CaseFractal Design Define S2 Vision Blackout
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 850 Titanium
    OS Windows 10 Home
    Accessory #1 Supra DC Blocker
    hortons71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    If it is not possible to flashback to an earlier bios version, then it is probably better to send back the motherboard.
    There are many negative reviews on XI Hero, so I guess that's a common problem.

    In one of the computer stores I buy from, you can buy motherboards repaired by the manufacturer for a lower price, and there are many Maximus XI Hero.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by hortons71 View Post
    If it is not possible to flashback to an earlier bios version, then it is probably better to send back the motherboard.
    There are many negative reviews on XI Hero, so I guess that's a common problem.

    In one of the computer stores I buy from, you can buy motherboards repaired by the manufacturer for a lower price, and there are many Maximus XI Hero.
    I bought another usb stick and had the same issue. It is time to use the warranty. Thanks for the help.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •