Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    GX502GW Ram frequency issue - solved

    Hello all ROGers

    I've recently got my GX502GW and as you may know it has 16GB of ram soldered into the motherboard and only just one empty slot provided, so I've decided to install an extra 16Gb just to get the benefits of dual channel ram.

    This is the ram I have installed:
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    Now this is the part where it gets a bit confusing for me.
    I'm currently using CPU-Z to check whether it is working or not, which it is but the DRAM frequency is only at 1196Mhz which corresponds to 2400Mhz only?
    Clicking into the SPD page of CPU-Z even says that the max bandwidth of my new ram is DDR4-2666 (1333Mhz)
    I made sure to check that the built in ram was running at 1333 and also checked that the new ram is at the same capacity and frequency, so why is it now running at 2400 instead of 2666?

    Anyone have any ideas as to what is causing this and is there a fix for it?
    Thanks everybody.
    Last edited by Feldt; 12-03-2019 at 01:28 PM. Reason: corrected link

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    55
    Posts
    541

    The link you provided is for 2400MHz memory.

    Brand Name HyperX
    Series KINGSTON TECHNOLOGY CORP.
    Item model number HX424S14IB/16
    RAM SDRAM PC66
    Memory Speed 2400 MHz

    Check your model number, if HX424S141B/16, then you ordered the wrong memory.

    This is what you should have ordered:

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...0?ie=UTF8&th=1

    Brand Name HyperX
    Series KINGSTON TECHNOLOGY CORP.
    Item model number HX426S15IB2/16
    RAM 16 GB SO-DIMM
    Memory Speed 2666 MHz

    Also, you posted to the wrong forum, you should post to GX/GM/GU Series Gaming Notebooks forum.

    Good Luck
    Last edited by jdfrench3; 12-03-2019 at 02:00 PM. Reason: Added info
    G752VSK, G75VW-3D, G51J, G1S
    Homebuilt Windows Server

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Thanks jdfrench3 for the reply

    Sorry that is my bad, I have copied the wrong link in the OP.
    I have already double checked the product # on the packaging and confirmed it with CPU-Z as well that the correct 2666Mhz ram has been installed.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    GX502GW Ram frequency issue

    Hello all ROGers

    I've recently got my GX502GW and as you may know it has 16GB of ram soldered into the motherboard and only just one empty slot provided, so I've decided to install an extra 16Gb just to get the benefits of dual channel ram.

    This is the ram I have installed:
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    Now this is the part where it gets a bit confusing for me.
    I'm currently using CPU-Z to check whether it is working or not, which it is but the DRAM frequency is only at 1196Mhz which corresponds to 2400Mhz only?
    Clicking into the SPD page of CPU-Z even says that the max bandwidth of my new ram is DDR4-2666 (1333Mhz)
    I made sure to check that the built in ram was running at 1333 and also checked that the new ram is at the same capacity and frequency, so why is it now running at 2400 instead of 2666?

    Anyone have any ideas as to what is causing this and is there a fix for it?
    Thanks everybody.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos Untitled.jpg  

    Untitled1.jpg  

    Last edited by Feldt; 12-03-2019 at 02:24 PM. Reason: link updated

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    55
    Posts
    541

    What speed did you register in CPU-Z without the new memory?

    Use HWiNFO64 to match memory.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos HWiNFO64.png  

    Last edited by jdfrench3; 12-03-2019 at 02:11 PM.
    G752VSK, G75VW-3D, G51J, G1S
    Homebuilt Windows Server

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by jdfrench3 View Post
    What speed did you register in CPU-Z without the new memory?

    Use HWiNFO64 to match memory.
    I have got 1333Mhz in CPU-Z without the new memory and I've double checked it with HWiNFO64 as well.

    Something I have realized is that the timing has changed since installing the new ram. It is currently at 14-17-17-39 where as before it was 19-19-19-43.

    In HWiNFO64, for my extra ram it lists that the CAS# Latencies(ie.14 at the moment) supported goes from 11 to 18 and doesn't reach 19. Can this mean that the timing difference between my new and pre-installed ram is different, therefore causing the frequency drop?
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos Untitled.jpg  


  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    55
    Posts
    541

    Last edited by jdfrench3; 12-03-2019 at 05:33 PM.
    G752VSK, G75VW-3D, G51J, G1S
    Homebuilt Windows Server

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by Feldt View Post
    I have got 1333Mhz in CPU-Z without the new memory and I've double checked it with HWiNFO64 as well.

    Something I have realized is that the timing has changed since installing the new ram. It is currently at 14-17-17-39 where as before it was 19-19-19-43.

    In HWiNFO64, for my extra ram it lists that the CAS# Latencies(ie.14 at the moment) supported goes from 11 to 18 and doesn't reach 19. Can this mean that the timing difference between my new and pre-installed ram is different, therefore causing the frequency drop?
    This is correct. You got a mis matched stick of ram. You must match the speed & timings exactly.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by jdfrench3 View Post
    Much thanks to you jdfrench3 and also titanfallking

    I went ahead and installed the Crucial ram. Now it is working perfectly, DRAM frequency is as expected at 2666Mhz.
    So just a quick tip to others out there with a GX502 and planning to get more ram, even thought the HyperX works it isn't the best match for the onboard ram.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •