Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Exclamation Asus rog rampage extreme vi - will not boot, hangs on Bios is updating / code 70.

    I tried flash back with 300x and 150x bios versions.

    Last night it was stuck on code 00 for hours.

    I finally got it to switch bios again, and it is back on code 70 bios is updating screen.
    Once it gets there. The computer will freeze, and hang.

    I bought this board for $600 on an ebay store, and last time I Contacted asus support they pretty much told me no, since I am not the original owner. This board was what i thought new in box. It worked a few weeks. And this happened.

    CPU is 7980xe, both CPU and ram are known good.

    If anyone has input that would be great.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Super Gnome PC Specs
    Super Gnome PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme Omega / ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-9980XE / AMD 3950x
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX Vengeance DDR4 2666MHz 128 GB / Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB DDR4-3200 32GB DDR4 3200MH
    Graphics Card #1Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    Graphics Card #2Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    MonitorJAPANNEXT JN-VT500UHD 4K 50-inch LCD
    Storage #1Crucial MX500 1 TB / Sabient SB-ROCKET-NVMe4-500
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB / ADATA XPG SX5500 Pro 3D NAND NVMe Gen3x4 PCIe M.2
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360 / NZXT Kraken X62
    CaseThermaltake View 71 TG / Thermaltake View 31
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AXi Series, AX1600i 1600 watt / Thermaltake Toughpower iRGB 1200 watt
    Accessory #1 Noctua 140mm 3000 RPM x 4 / Noctua 140 mm 3000 RPM x 2
    Accessory #2 Gigabyte GC-A 2WAY NVLINK RGB (3-slot) / ROG NVLINK Bridge 3-Slot A

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    290

    The BIOS 3006 would not flash manually for me. It had to be installed via the previous BIOS from the BIOS menu.

    It also had the CPU cores running at 4100 MHz at idle. Hence that BIOS is a buggy one.

    0802 works fine though for the Rampage VI Extreme Omega motherboard. It installs manually no problem and works like it should. I'm not sure if it is identical to the 0802 for your motherboard or not because the dates are different. But have you tried that one?

    Anyhow, good luck! Got my fingers crossed you sort it out.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    67
    Posts
    260

    Put BIOS rom on fat32 formatted USB drive, rename it to R6E.CAP nothing else on it. Load optomized defaults on current BIOS and turn machine off,
    Put drive into rear I/0 USB labeled BIOS.
    Push and hold BIOS labeled button until it starts flashing (top left). Should continue to flash for a minute or two. If it stops immediatly you either have it named wrong or the USB is in the wrong port or the file is corrupt. All you need us power on the ATX, not started up. Dont even have to have a CPU in it or ram or GPU. After a minute or two it will stop flashing and its done. Power up and enter new BIOS. Done it a million times.
    Last edited by BigJohnny; 02-26-2020 at 03:29 AM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Super Gnome PC Specs
    Super Gnome PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme Omega / ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-9980XE / AMD 3950x
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX Vengeance DDR4 2666MHz 128 GB / Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB DDR4-3200 32GB DDR4 3200MH
    Graphics Card #1Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    Graphics Card #2Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    MonitorJAPANNEXT JN-VT500UHD 4K 50-inch LCD
    Storage #1Crucial MX500 1 TB / Sabient SB-ROCKET-NVMe4-500
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB / ADATA XPG SX5500 Pro 3D NAND NVMe Gen3x4 PCIe M.2
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360 / NZXT Kraken X62
    CaseThermaltake View 71 TG / Thermaltake View 31
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AXi Series, AX1600i 1600 watt / Thermaltake Toughpower iRGB 1200 watt
    Accessory #1 Noctua 140mm 3000 RPM x 4 / Noctua 140 mm 3000 RPM x 2
    Accessory #2 Gigabyte GC-A 2WAY NVLINK RGB (3-slot) / ROG NVLINK Bridge 3-Slot A

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    290

    When naming it don't include the .CAP part. Just R6E. The ".CAP" part is automatically added. This took me a few tries to get right.

    Also this guy outlines how to do it. It is the same for your motherboard. Go to 11:20 to see it.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jXLi30V4Jw8

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •