Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Zenith II RAID 0 compatibility

    Hi all,

    I just received the Zenith II. It is beautiful. Still waiting to receive my new 3960x and put it all together.

    Now I have a question, hopefully someone can help. My current rig runs the very first original Zenith along with a 2950X. The old mb/cpu I plan to sell on ebay once I move everything, but the issue is my data is on 2x1TB NVMe in RAID 0, plus 2x2 TB SSDs again in RAID 0, which I still want to use. Once I switch the boards will the existing RAID partitions recognized or I will have to backup all my data and reinstall?
    Last edited by injurer; 12-11-2019 at 03:59 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array bogdi1988 PC Specs
    bogdi1988 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)2019 Macbook Pro 15.6 / Pixelbook
    MotherboardAsus Zenith Extreme II
    ProcessorAMD Threadripper 3970x
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C18D-32GTZN x2
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon VII + EKWB waterblock
    MonitorSamsung 49" CHG90
    Storage #12x MyDigitalSSD BPX Pro 500GB RAID 0
    Storage #24x Sabrent Rocket 4.0 1TB RAID 0
    CPU CoolerWatercool Heatkiller IV
    CaseCorsair 1000D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Ergodox EZ Glow
    Mouse Corsair Ironclaw
    Headset Sennheiser Momentum 3
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Speed Extended
    Headset/Speakers Samsung HW-K460
    OS Windows 10 Pro for Workstation
    Network RouterASUS GT-AX11000

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    42

    Quote Originally Posted by injurer View Post
    Hi all,

    I just received the Zenith II. It is beautiful. Still waiting to receive my new 3960x and put it all together.

    Now I have a question, hopefully someone can help. My current rig runs the very first original Zenith along with a 2950X. The old mb/cpu I plan to sell on ebay once I move everything, but the issue is my data is on 2x1TB NVMe in RAID 0, plus 2x2 TB SSDs again in RAID 0, which I still want to use. Once I switch the boards will the existing RAID partitions recognized or I will have to backup all my data and reinstall?
    Just pop those NVMEs in the new board and the array will carry over. You should be able to swap the motherboard and CPU and not have to reinstall Windows either.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Quote Originally Posted by bogdi1988 View Post
    Just pop those NVMEs in the new board and the array will carry over. You should be able to swap the motherboard and CPU and not have to reinstall Windows either.
    Really? That's great if it works. Thanks! My new CPU arrives tomorrow and I will give it a try. If it doesn't work it will be a real pain as I will have to reconnect everything to start the old board and make a backup. I will share my experience here once done.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    I want to confirm it just worked. Replaced the mobo and the CPU. Moved the NVMe and the SATA SSDs and all started normally. Both the NVMe and the SATA RAID was recognized immediately. Windows booted with no issues. No backup or reinstallation was required.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array bogdi1988 PC Specs
    bogdi1988 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)2019 Macbook Pro 15.6 / Pixelbook
    MotherboardAsus Zenith Extreme II
    ProcessorAMD Threadripper 3970x
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C18D-32GTZN x2
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon VII + EKWB waterblock
    MonitorSamsung 49" CHG90
    Storage #12x MyDigitalSSD BPX Pro 500GB RAID 0
    Storage #24x Sabrent Rocket 4.0 1TB RAID 0
    CPU CoolerWatercool Heatkiller IV
    CaseCorsair 1000D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Ergodox EZ Glow
    Mouse Corsair Ironclaw
    Headset Sennheiser Momentum 3
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Speed Extended
    Headset/Speakers Samsung HW-K460
    OS Windows 10 Pro for Workstation
    Network RouterASUS GT-AX11000

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    42

    There you go
    I will be doing the same exercise soon! Zenith Alpha to Zenith II with 3970x. Now I just need to find a replacement for the Asus Hyper m.2 card with PCI 4.0 support... grrr

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Red face

    Quote Originally Posted by bogdi1988 View Post
    There you go
    I will be doing the same exercise soon! Zenith Alpha to Zenith II with 3970x. Now I just need to find a replacement for the Asus Hyper m.2 card with PCI 4.0 support... grrr
    How many m.2 drives do you have?

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array bogdi1988 PC Specs
    bogdi1988 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)2019 Macbook Pro 15.6 / Pixelbook
    MotherboardAsus Zenith Extreme II
    ProcessorAMD Threadripper 3970x
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C18D-32GTZN x2
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon VII + EKWB waterblock
    MonitorSamsung 49" CHG90
    Storage #12x MyDigitalSSD BPX Pro 500GB RAID 0
    Storage #24x Sabrent Rocket 4.0 1TB RAID 0
    CPU CoolerWatercool Heatkiller IV
    CaseCorsair 1000D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Ergodox EZ Glow
    Mouse Corsair Ironclaw
    Headset Sennheiser Momentum 3
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Speed Extended
    Headset/Speakers Samsung HW-K460
    OS Windows 10 Pro for Workstation
    Network RouterASUS GT-AX11000

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    42

    Quote Originally Posted by injurer View Post
    How many m.2 drives do you have?
    6 NVMEs 2 PCIe 3.0 and 4 PCIe 4.0 haha

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •