Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array zurick PC Specs
    zurick PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG STRIX x570-E Gaming
    ProcessorRyzen 9 3950x
    Memory (part number)Corsair 32 GB (2x16) - CMT32GX4m2C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG STRIX 2080 TI OC
    Monitor2x Dell 2716DGR G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PLUS 1 TB NVME M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 970 PLUS 500 GB NVME M.2
    CPU CoolerCorsair AIO H115i Platinum RGB
    CaseCorsair 680X
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850X
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma v2
    Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite
    Headset Corsair Void RGB
    Mouse Pad Razer Firefly
    OS Windows 10 Enterprise
    zurick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Crosshair VIII Hero HELP!

    Hi all, I posted last week about not being able to get a ROG STRIX x570-E Gaming mobo to post with 32 GB (2x 16) G.Skill RAM and a 3950x. After working with support they suggested I get a replacement board, but they are out of stock so I'm waiting on that via Amazon.

    In the mean time decided I'll pick up a Crosshair VIII Hero from BesBbuy. Upon receiving that I get similar issues as I was getting with the other board. I was ONCE able to get the BIOS recovery screen but that is the only video I've seen from either board. I've done the bios flashback and CMOS reset many times. At this point I can't troubleshoot with ASUS they're referring me to BestBuy for assistance.

    I'm starting to think its the CPU or memory but I can't tell because the Qcodes on both boards are always randomly posting different codes and everything is brand new. If anyone else with experience with these recent boards and processor/memory combo or have any other troubleshooting I can try I'll gladly try anything before I start shipping back everything.

    I believe my co-worker is going to let me test the CPU on his working rig to see if its the CPU but beyond that I'm not sure what else to try other then buying different memory or trying to get a 3rd board.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    93

    Quote Originally Posted by zurick View Post
    Hi all, I posted last week about not being able to get a ROG STRIX x570-E Gaming mobo to post with 32 GB (2x 16) G.Skill RAM and a 3950x. After working with support they suggested I get a replacement board, but they are out of stock so I'm waiting on that via Amazon.

    In the mean time decided I'll pick up a Crosshair VIII Hero from BesBbuy. Upon receiving that I get similar issues as I was getting with the other board. I was ONCE able to get the BIOS recovery screen but that is the only video I've seen from either board. I've done the bios flashback and CMOS reset many times. At this point I can't troubleshoot with ASUS they're referring me to BestBuy for assistance.

    I'm starting to think its the CPU or memory but I can't tell because the Qcodes on both boards are always randomly posting different codes and everything is brand new. If anyone else with experience with these recent boards and processor/memory combo or have any other troubleshooting I can try I'll gladly try anything before I start shipping back everything.

    I believe my co-worker is going to let me test the CPU on his working rig to see if its the CPU but beyond that I'm not sure what else to try other then buying different memory or trying to get a 3rd board.
    What is the memory you are using? Model number (please be specific)

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    93

    One more note, I used this memory on the Crosshair VII x470 board and it worked just fine. I got it up to 3733 and it would not go any faster in a 2x16 (32) setup. I sold the memory and went down to a 2x8 setup.

    https://www.newegg.com/corsair-32gb-...82E16820236238

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array zurick PC Specs
    zurick PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG STRIX x570-E Gaming
    ProcessorRyzen 9 3950x
    Memory (part number)Corsair 32 GB (2x16) - CMT32GX4m2C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG STRIX 2080 TI OC
    Monitor2x Dell 2716DGR G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PLUS 1 TB NVME M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 970 PLUS 500 GB NVME M.2
    CPU CoolerCorsair AIO H115i Platinum RGB
    CaseCorsair 680X
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850X
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma v2
    Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite
    Headset Corsair Void RGB
    Mouse Pad Razer Firefly
    OS Windows 10 Enterprise
    zurick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    F4-3600c18d-32gtzn

    F4-3600C18D-32GTZN is the memory model 2x 16 GB sticks

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    93

    Quote Originally Posted by zurick View Post
    F4-3600C18D-32GTZN is the memory model 2x 16 GB sticks
    Did you check to see if they are Samsung B-Die?

    It was not on the list

    https://benzhaomin.github.io/bdiefinder/

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    93

    I found out that memory is not Samsung B-Die they are SK Hynix "C" Dies.

    https://www.newegg.com/g-skill-32gb-...82E16820232867

    That may be part of the issue, Samsung B-Die seems to work the best with Ryzen.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array bluestang PC Specs
    bluestang PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 3900X
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C15D-16GTZ (2 kits)
    Graphics Card #1MSI Armor OC 1660ti
    Graphics Card #2MSI Armor OC 1660ti
    MonitorASUS VZ249H
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 250GB NVMe
    Storage #22x WD Red 10TB (RAID1)
    CPU CoolerFractal Design Celcius S36
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Luxe TG
    Power SupplySeaSonic Focus Plus Platinum 850W
    Keyboard Logitech MK-710 Combo
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS RT-N66U

    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    41

    I'll assume your're loading XMP settings for the RAM. Also, check to make sure the BOOT VDRAM is set to the same value as the XMP, so 1.35v minimum.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array zurick PC Specs
    zurick PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG STRIX x570-E Gaming
    ProcessorRyzen 9 3950x
    Memory (part number)Corsair 32 GB (2x16) - CMT32GX4m2C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG STRIX 2080 TI OC
    Monitor2x Dell 2716DGR G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PLUS 1 TB NVME M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 970 PLUS 500 GB NVME M.2
    CPU CoolerCorsair AIO H115i Platinum RGB
    CaseCorsair 680X
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850X
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma v2
    Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite
    Headset Corsair Void RGB
    Mouse Pad Razer Firefly
    OS Windows 10 Enterprise
    zurick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    @bluestang I'm not loading any settings or modifications at the moment this is all out of the box, I simply want it to post and let me into the BIOS so I can make sure everything is set properly and install Windows.

    @Lothos I'm going to try new memory after I test this CPU at my buddies house tonight after work. The memory I purchased was on the QVL and states its "optimized for Ryzen" not sure if that's just generic marketing or not.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array zurick PC Specs
    zurick PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG STRIX x570-E Gaming
    ProcessorRyzen 9 3950x
    Memory (part number)Corsair 32 GB (2x16) - CMT32GX4m2C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG STRIX 2080 TI OC
    Monitor2x Dell 2716DGR G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PLUS 1 TB NVME M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 970 PLUS 500 GB NVME M.2
    CPU CoolerCorsair AIO H115i Platinum RGB
    CaseCorsair 680X
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850X
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma v2
    Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite
    Headset Corsair Void RGB
    Mouse Pad Razer Firefly
    OS Windows 10 Enterprise
    zurick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Resolved

    I ended up figuring out the issue. So I figured it was between my CPU and Memory and since I had two sticks of RAM (QVL approved G.Skill RAM - F4-3600C18D-32GTZN) the CPU was starting to look like the problem BUT I went to BestBuy anyway and got 2 sticks of Corsair 16 GB - CMT32GX4M2C3200C16 and this ram isn't even optimized per Corsair or on the QVL per ASUS but it didn't care and posted immediately.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    93

    Awesome!

    Glad you figured it out, I do suggest you just go through the Samsung B-Die list and pick that up. It does not matter if its on the QVL or not. Samsung B-Die is Samsung B-Die and Ryzen loves them!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •