Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array nomy PC Specs
    nomy PC Specs
    Motherboardasus zenith ii extreme
    Processor3970x

    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Angry Zenith ii extreme, Firewire cards issues

    Hi Guys!
    When inserting a firewire 800 card (been trying two different cards) computer wont boot up..
    Tried all solutions and settings in bios that I could find about this. But nothing changes anything.. computer wont boot.
    Tried both slot 3 & 4.

    when using slot 3 MOBO code say "Loading vga bios" then nothing..
    when using slot 4 MOBO code say "Detect HDD" then nothing...

    Nobody else had this problem?

    Btw... ASUS support have to be the most slow process in history.

    /Patrick

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array bogdi1988 PC Specs
    bogdi1988 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)2019 Macbook Pro 15.6 / Pixelbook
    MotherboardAsus Zenith Extreme II
    ProcessorAMD Threadripper 3970x
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C18D-32GTZN x2
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon VII + EKWB waterblock
    MonitorSamsung 49" CHG90
    Storage #12x MyDigitalSSD BPX Pro 500GB RAID 0
    Storage #24x Sabrent Rocket 4.0 1TB RAID 0
    CPU CoolerWatercool Heatkiller IV
    CaseCorsair 1000D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Ergodox EZ Glow
    Mouse Corsair Ironclaw
    Headset Sennheiser Momentum 3
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Speed Extended
    Headset/Speakers Samsung HW-K460
    OS Windows 10 Pro for Workstation
    Network RouterASUS GT-AX11000

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    44

    Yea, I called for a beta firmware for my router and they just quoted me 1 month on the process...

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array wekri PC Specs
    wekri PC Specs
    MotherboardZenith II extreme
    ProcessorThreadripper 3960X

    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Check

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array nomy PC Specs
    nomy PC Specs
    Motherboardasus zenith ii extreme
    Processor3970x

    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by wekri View Post
    Check
    You have the same Problem? same gear?

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array wekri PC Specs
    wekri PC Specs
    MotherboardZenith II extreme
    ProcessorThreadripper 3960X

    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    I have exactly(!) the same problem. Changing slot to GEN1-3 via bios had no effect. Asus support in Germany could not help. Hope that a update (bios or agesa) will change the situation.
    Werner

    I have recurrent difficulties to post something in this forum (access denied) so may be any further comminication will be difficult....

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array nomy PC Specs
    nomy PC Specs
    Motherboardasus zenith ii extreme
    Processor3970x

    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by wekri View Post
    I have exactly(!) the same problem. Changing slot to GEN1-3 via bios had no effect. Asus support in Germany could not help. Hope that a update (bios or agesa) will change the situation.
    Werner

    I have recurrent difficulties to post something in this forum (access denied) so may be any further comminication will be difficult....
    So you Will just wait for an update or will you return the MOBO?

    They sent my problem to Asus HQ so hopefully they will fix it.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array wekri PC Specs
    wekri PC Specs
    MotherboardZenith II extreme
    ProcessorThreadripper 3960X

    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    No, I will wait - the mobo works fine otherwise.
    I think that it may be a backward compatibility issue of new pci-e 4.0 and certain(?) older cards or (hopefully not) standards.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array wekri PC Specs
    wekri PC Specs
    MotherboardZenith II extreme
    ProcessorThreadripper 3960X

    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    I just tested a firewire card (QNINE Firewire Card PCI-e from Amazon) which has the VIA Chip VT6307. It seems that this card is functioning properly with my mainboard. The slot is configured as "GEN1" via Bios. The pc is booting now.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •