Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Wodin PC Specs
    Wodin PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G750JZ
    MotherboardZenith II Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Threadripper 3960X
    Memory (part number)64GB G.Skill Trident-Z Neo 3600 C16
    Graphics Card #1ASUS 2080 Super DUO OC
    Sound CardOn board
    MonitorASUS ROG PG278QR
    Storage #1Samsung 870 EVO Plus 1TB M.2 NVME
    Storage #2Samsung 860 PRO 512GB M.2 NVME
    CPU CoolerKraken x72
    CaseBeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 rev.2
    Power SupplyBeQuiet! Dark Power 1200W platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitecg G502
    Headset Logitech G430
    OS Windows 10
    Wodin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Zenith II Extreme Shutdown to S5

    Hi i have a Zenith 2 Extreme Mobo with a AMD 3960X CPU. In the Bios setting i have trp enabled to S5. This normally shuts down my pc so it will not show any RGB or lights whatsoever. But since i exchanged my Memory from 32GB Corsair 3200 C18 to 64GB Gskill 3600 C16 it will not shutdown to S5 although its enabled in bios.

    So the question is how do i get it to work again in S5?

    Things i already tried:

    - I updated my bios to latest 0702 version
    - I reset the bios to original settings before i made my own changes. i also tried to clear cmos with the button on the back (although it should do the exact same)
    - Confusion is that i have the same bios settings as before with the corsair ram, but now with gskill the lcd info display stays on and apparently the power stays on the usb devices since my cooling remembers the rgb settings now... the rest of the lights are out.
    Desktop: ASUS Zenith II Extreme, AMD Ryzen Threadripper 3960X, 64GB G.Skill Trident Neo 3600 C16, ASUS RTX 2080 Super OC, Bequiet! Dark Base Pro rev.2, Kraken X72, Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB M.2 NVME. Laptop: ASUS ROG G750JZ-T4046H

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    I had the same issue to turn off the oled screen with S5, so I tried the S4+S5 setting and that took care of the usb stuff as well including the oled.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Wodin PC Specs
    Wodin PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G750JZ
    MotherboardZenith II Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Threadripper 3960X
    Memory (part number)64GB G.Skill Trident-Z Neo 3600 C16
    Graphics Card #1ASUS 2080 Super DUO OC
    Sound CardOn board
    MonitorASUS ROG PG278QR
    Storage #1Samsung 870 EVO Plus 1TB M.2 NVME
    Storage #2Samsung 860 PRO 512GB M.2 NVME
    CPU CoolerKraken x72
    CaseBeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 rev.2
    Power SupplyBeQuiet! Dark Power 1200W platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitecg G502
    Headset Logitech G430
    OS Windows 10
    Wodin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Yes that worked for me to, thanks

    By any chance is your mobo also restarting during boot?
    It only happens from cold start, but not at a restart. Don't know if that's normal with these boards or not.
    Desktop: ASUS Zenith II Extreme, AMD Ryzen Threadripper 3960X, 64GB G.Skill Trident Neo 3600 C16, ASUS RTX 2080 Super OC, Bequiet! Dark Base Pro rev.2, Kraken X72, Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB M.2 NVME. Laptop: ASUS ROG G750JZ-T4046H

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    No, that's not happening for me now that I have my memory timings stable. Not sure what to make of it. When I was trying to optimize my memory timings, I would get a lot of reboots but only because that timing test failed, and then it would put me back into the BIOS. As I got closer to stable memory timings, it might reboot once and then post. I kept tweaking the timings until it would boot the first time, and then tested those settings with prime95 until I got to where I am now. Perhaps your issue is memory related? Does it still have reboot issues with your memory at default settings?

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array Wodin PC Specs
    Wodin PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G750JZ
    MotherboardZenith II Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Threadripper 3960X
    Memory (part number)64GB G.Skill Trident-Z Neo 3600 C16
    Graphics Card #1ASUS 2080 Super DUO OC
    Sound CardOn board
    MonitorASUS ROG PG278QR
    Storage #1Samsung 870 EVO Plus 1TB M.2 NVME
    Storage #2Samsung 860 PRO 512GB M.2 NVME
    CPU CoolerKraken x72
    CaseBeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 rev.2
    Power SupplyBeQuiet! Dark Power 1200W platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitecg G502
    Headset Logitech G430
    OS Windows 10
    Wodin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Hmm i use standard settings atm so i don't think it's memory related. Or maybe the form they come in, like i have 4 sticks of 16GB. I heard that the more capacity one stick has the more problems that the memory controller will have with it (that was with 1 stick of 32GB). I did some poking around and found out that it's ether Precision Boost/auto overclocker or when i enable 2 numa nodes. I enable 2 nodes cause my memory bandwidth goes up from 80+ to 100+ GB/s and also the latency improves from 82 to 72ns (in Aida64). I keep looking and poking around and let it know if i found out.

    By the way this is a nice tool to find good timings for memory: https://www.techpowerup.com/download...am-calculator/
    Desktop: ASUS Zenith II Extreme, AMD Ryzen Threadripper 3960X, 64GB G.Skill Trident Neo 3600 C16, ASUS RTX 2080 Super OC, Bequiet! Dark Base Pro rev.2, Kraken X72, Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB M.2 NVME. Laptop: ASUS ROG G750JZ-T4046H

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Yep, I tried that first, but I don't think it works well for 128 GB of 3600 memory filling all dimm slots, at least not for the latest crop of threadripper stuff. I didn't want to have to take out half my memory to get the optimum speeds either and I managed to get stable timings at 14-15-15-15-30 at 3400. I did encounter one error after 30 mins of prime95 testing, so loosened the timings one step across the board to 15-16-16-16-32 and so far so good. I don't think I'm really going to notice any real world differences with my CL18 3600 memory set to CL15 3400, so I've moved on to tackling my temps which seem to be idling higher than most other folks at about 47 C. I have a new cooler on the way, so I'll see if that move things in the right direction...

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array Wodin PC Specs
    Wodin PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G750JZ
    MotherboardZenith II Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Threadripper 3960X
    Memory (part number)64GB G.Skill Trident-Z Neo 3600 C16
    Graphics Card #1ASUS 2080 Super DUO OC
    Sound CardOn board
    MonitorASUS ROG PG278QR
    Storage #1Samsung 870 EVO Plus 1TB M.2 NVME
    Storage #2Samsung 860 PRO 512GB M.2 NVME
    CPU CoolerKraken x72
    CaseBeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 rev.2
    Power SupplyBeQuiet! Dark Power 1200W platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitecg G502
    Headset Logitech G430
    OS Windows 10
    Wodin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Memory should be good then indeed. i usually go till i encounter issues or hangups and then ill take it 2 steps back to be safe. I found out that AMD 3th gen including threadripper has a sweet spot at 3600/3733 with latency.

    On the cooling part, I have a Kraken X72 380mm rad with 3 fans. It does not say its compatible with sTRX socket because its a little older, but its the same fit as TR4. But tests with it seemed good although i was a bit concerned that it had not full coverage. Now i have idle temps around 44c witch seems ok. In load it will go to like 80c. In games it will stay around 60/65c. At the time i bought it only the thermaltake had a AIO cooler that officialy supported the sTRX socket.. but they seem to bother from residue in the block after a short period.
    Desktop: ASUS Zenith II Extreme, AMD Ryzen Threadripper 3960X, 64GB G.Skill Trident Neo 3600 C16, ASUS RTX 2080 Super OC, Bequiet! Dark Base Pro rev.2, Kraken X72, Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB M.2 NVME. Laptop: ASUS ROG G750JZ-T4046H

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Thanks, I think you meant the Enermax coolers and I read the same issues with the coolant eventually gunking up the water block. I didn't want to take that risk, so I went with the thermaltake floe triple riing, the specific tr4 edition which has a water block that covers the whole chip. If it doesn't work better than the deepcool castle 360ex I'm using now then I'll send it back to amazon. I get it tomorrow so we'll see...

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array Wodin PC Specs
    Wodin PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G750JZ
    MotherboardZenith II Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Threadripper 3960X
    Memory (part number)64GB G.Skill Trident-Z Neo 3600 C16
    Graphics Card #1ASUS 2080 Super DUO OC
    Sound CardOn board
    MonitorASUS ROG PG278QR
    Storage #1Samsung 870 EVO Plus 1TB M.2 NVME
    Storage #2Samsung 860 PRO 512GB M.2 NVME
    CPU CoolerKraken x72
    CaseBeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 rev.2
    Power SupplyBeQuiet! Dark Power 1200W platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitecg G502
    Headset Logitech G430
    OS Windows 10
    Wodin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Great, let me know how it works
    Desktop: ASUS Zenith II Extreme, AMD Ryzen Threadripper 3960X, 64GB G.Skill Trident Neo 3600 C16, ASUS RTX 2080 Super OC, Bequiet! Dark Base Pro rev.2, Kraken X72, Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB M.2 NVME. Laptop: ASUS ROG G750JZ-T4046H

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array Wodin PC Specs
    Wodin PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G750JZ
    MotherboardZenith II Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Threadripper 3960X
    Memory (part number)64GB G.Skill Trident-Z Neo 3600 C16
    Graphics Card #1ASUS 2080 Super DUO OC
    Sound CardOn board
    MonitorASUS ROG PG278QR
    Storage #1Samsung 870 EVO Plus 1TB M.2 NVME
    Storage #2Samsung 860 PRO 512GB M.2 NVME
    CPU CoolerKraken x72
    CaseBeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 rev.2
    Power SupplyBeQuiet! Dark Power 1200W platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitecg G502
    Headset Logitech G430
    OS Windows 10
    Wodin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    BTW, Do you use numa nodes? if yes how many?
    Desktop: ASUS Zenith II Extreme, AMD Ryzen Threadripper 3960X, 64GB G.Skill Trident Neo 3600 C16, ASUS RTX 2080 Super OC, Bequiet! Dark Base Pro rev.2, Kraken X72, Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB M.2 NVME. Laptop: ASUS ROG G750JZ-T4046H

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •