Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    X299-E Gaming XMP Issues Advice/Input

    If anyone has any insight with this I would greatly appreciate it:

    I am having serious issues with stability on my X299-e with G.Skill 3600 C16 XMP speed. It has behavior I'm not used to with any other cpu/board which is it brings up a speed of 3603 mhz in the XMP box but then shows "3600" in the Frequency box.

    So far I've been able to get to 3000 mhz stable with the manuf. timings of 16-19-19-39 but not any higher. Am i missing something, has XMP always had odd speeds that seem to be off (3603 XMP vs 3600 Frequency)

    Parts:
    x299-e Gaming
    7940x
    64GB G.Skill (8x8 and shows as Hynix)

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,669

    Is that a single 64GB kit?

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    X299-E Gaming XMP Issues Advice/Input

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Is that a single 64GB kit?
    It is not, I definitely knew I was taking a risk but using multiple dual channel kits to run quad channel. I haven't had issues getting similar kits to be acknowledged as "Quad Channel" but this was with lower speed Corsair Vengeance RGB 3000mhz CL15 kits. I also tried with 4 sets of (2x8GB) G.Skill 3600 CL16 Hynix kits and can boot and test fine with 3200 and below speed but still getting an XMP profile reading "XMP 3603"

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,669

    Yeah...sometimes it works but a lot of times it doesn't...especially ay higher frequencies and tighter timings.

    Maybe try to set up manually not with XMP? and maybe bump SA IO volts and/or Dram volts

    not sure about the 3603.... "bus" speed is slightly over 100?...

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Carlyle2020 PC Specs
    Carlyle2020 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)amd4000 for sure next time
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI APEX
    Processorgaming9900ks/@5.2 avx -1 / manual vcore 1.32/LLC5/AC+dc 0.01/TVB off/all power savings on
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX 4000 CL19@16.17.28/300/2T/ 1.42 volt
    Graphics Card #13080
    Sound CardXonar STXII mods:3xLME 49720NA
    MonitorLG 38GL950G / -HDR / +madVR
    Storage #12TB 970evo plus nvme
    Storage #21TB 960evo nvme +2x 1tb evo 860 hw-sata-raid
    CPU Coolerarctic freezer II 280
    CaseV2-Silverstone FT2 dampened up the wazoo
    Power SupplySeasonic TX-850
    Keyboard Cherry KC 1000 on top of a cherry MX1 for ergonomics :)
    Mouse MX Master 3
    Headset Sennheiser PC360 + Philips X2HR
    Headset/Speakers A250 / cause LG was stingy
    OS Win 10 64bit
    Network Routeryeah right...
    Accessory #1 Silverstone EBA01 headphone stand / black
    Accessory #2 radio Keyfob to turn on and off
    Accessory #3 4 bay fantec /10tb red/+scrap

    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    144

    I do not have your platform.
    Do you have any "Spread Spectrum" related options in your Bios?
    I yes, turn them all off and check again if the frequency still gets slightly modulated.

    Rgds
    Carlyle

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Carlyle2020 View Post
    I do not have your platform.
    Do you have any "Spread Spectrum" related options in your Bios?
    I yes, turn them all off and check again if the frequency still gets slightly modulated.

    Rgds
    Carlyle
    *

    That’s a great suggestion, thank you, I’ll take a look shortly here and I’ll upload pics of the main BIOS screens where I have modifications if you have a chance to see if it might be another setting as well

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array ThrashZone PC Specs
    ThrashZone PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS z490 maximus XII Apex 2nd x299 Rampage VI Apex
    Processori9-10900k & i9-9940x
    Memory (part number)Trident-Z 3600c16 2nd Trident-Z 3600C16 both Samsung B-Dies
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080ti FTW3 water block 2nd Titan Xp copper water block
    MonitorAOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz & ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
    Storage #12-Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2 & 2.5" ssd's 850 pro's for os 850 evo for games
    Storage #22-LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
    CPU Cooler2-240GTX with Heatkiller-4-Pro/ vrm water block Both&x299 2-280GTX 2-D5's before and after rads
    Case2- Corsair 450D with second floors for 240GTX & 280GTX rads enclosed and filtered on top
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000P2 2nd EVGA 1200P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum 2nd Logitech G710+
    Mouse 2-Red dragon Perdition
    OS Win-7 & win-10 pro on both systems Win-7 everyday os
    Accessory #1 Optimus Foundation copper plexi 2nd Optimus SigV2
    Accessory #2 ModmyMods clear coolant
    Accessory #3 ModMyMods 3/8-5/8" clear soft tubing/ MORA 360 Pro x2
    ThrashZone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    389

    Hi,
    Try these timings

    DRAM voltage 1.36v
    DRAM Frequency Ratio [Auto]
    DRAM Frequency [DDR4-3600MHz]
    DRAM CAS# Latency [16]
    DRAM RAS# to CAS# Delay [16]
    DRAM RAS# PRE Time [16]
    DRAM RAS# ACT Time [36]
    DRAM Command Rate [Timing 1T]
    DRAM RAS# to RAS# Delay [4]
    DRAM RAS# to RAS# Delay L [6]
    DRAM REF Cycle Time [374]
    DRAM Refresh Interval [28076]
    DRAM WRITE Recovery Time [Auto]
    DRAM READ to PRE Time [8]
    DRAM FOUR ACT WIN Time [24]
    DRAM WRITE to READ Delay [5]
    DRAM WRITE to READ Delay L [14]
    DRAM CKE Minimum Pulse Width [Auto]
    DRAM Write Latency [Auto
    ]CPU VCCIO Voltage [1.06250]
    CPU System Agent Voltage [0.93500]

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    X299 timings

    Quote Originally Posted by ThrashZone View Post
    Hi,
    Try these timings

    Thank you so much for the time and effort you took to give me all those settings. I went through and executed them exactly but get a debug of “Ed” after saving and exiting bios*

    Update: Debug Code EE as well

    Update 2: tried minor increases in vccio and system agent voltage which resulted in a on/off loop with 00 code. Had to clear cmos to boot againÂ*
    Last edited by brownws1; 01-05-2020 at 10:36 AM.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array ThrashZone PC Specs
    ThrashZone PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS z490 maximus XII Apex 2nd x299 Rampage VI Apex
    Processori9-10900k & i9-9940x
    Memory (part number)Trident-Z 3600c16 2nd Trident-Z 3600C16 both Samsung B-Dies
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080ti FTW3 water block 2nd Titan Xp copper water block
    MonitorAOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz & ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
    Storage #12-Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2 & 2.5" ssd's 850 pro's for os 850 evo for games
    Storage #22-LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
    CPU Cooler2-240GTX with Heatkiller-4-Pro/ vrm water block Both&x299 2-280GTX 2-D5's before and after rads
    Case2- Corsair 450D with second floors for 240GTX & 280GTX rads enclosed and filtered on top
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000P2 2nd EVGA 1200P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum 2nd Logitech G710+
    Mouse 2-Red dragon Perdition
    OS Win-7 & win-10 pro on both systems Win-7 everyday os
    Accessory #1 Optimus Foundation copper plexi 2nd Optimus SigV2
    Accessory #2 ModmyMods clear coolant
    Accessory #3 ModMyMods 3/8-5/8" clear soft tubing/ MORA 360 Pro x2
    ThrashZone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    389

    Hi,
    Increase DRAM REF Cycle Time +20 until it posts.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •