Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array Zbigniew PC Specs
    Zbigniew PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Alienware 13 R2
    MotherboardAsus Rampage Encore bios 401
    ProcessorI9 7920X @4,7GHz Air
    Memory (part number)Trident Z f4-3200c14q-32gtzr
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix Advanced 1070 Ti
    Sound CardCreative Labs Sound BlasterX AE-7
    MonitorAcer Predator XB321HK
    Storage #12x Samsung 970 PCI-EX
    Storage #2Plextor PX-512MB PCI-EX
    CPU CoolerProlimatech Genesis + 2x Corsair ML120RGB
    CaseThermaltake Level 20 ShowCase
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra 850W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinium
    Mouse Corsair Dark Core
    Headset German Maestro 8.35 Mobile
    Mouse Pad FUNC XXL + Asus ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Razer Mako
    OS Windows 10 X64Pro
    Network RouterHuawei B529
    Accessory #1 Rum Captain Morgan + Coca-cola wild cherry + ice
    Accessory #2 Knuckle with cabbage
    Accessory #3 Snickers Cake
    Zbigniew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    27

    Asus Encore Bios 0224 -> 0401/0504

    My set:
    Asus Rampage Encore
    G. Skill 4x8GB CL3200 C14-14-14 TridentZ RGB for Intel Processors
    (Samsung B-die)
    2xM2 Samsung 970 Pro in M2_1 & M2_2 slots
    Intel 7820X or 7920X (I have two processors)
    PSU Seasonic Titanium Ultra 850W
    All defaults, drives in AHCI mode
    Armory Crate - disabled
    .....................................
    I have been the owner of Asus Rampage Encore for several days.
    1. Reloading the bios from the original version 0224 to the newer 0401 causes:
    Loss of functionality of ERP-ready mode S4 + S5 or S5 mode
    (The computer after completely turning off and turning on the power after a few seconds turns itself off before loading the bios screen and after the spontaneous reset the correct passes and loads the operating system) The memories work properly in the XMP CL14 mode
    Each time this happens with different post codes.
    (after 2-5 seconds after switching on)
    It looks like a Bios program bug / code version 0401.
    After switching ERP-Ready to off, the LED backlight on the motherboard remains red and the Oled Screen is on.
    (which should not be the case - the board is always supplied with voltage from the power supply - the relay should disconnect the board from the power supply)
    2. Reloading the bios from the original version 0224 to the newer 0504 causes an even worse problem:
    Loss of functionality of ERP-ready mode S4 + S5 or S5 mode
    (The computer after completely turning off and turning on the power after a few seconds turns itself off after a few seconds before it loads the bios screen and after the reset the correct passes fast and loads the operating system)
    Each time this happens with different post codes.
    (after 2-5 seconds after switching on) Just like bios 0401
    The memories do not work properly at all in XMP mode.
    Clean windows 10 freezes on the default Bios settings in xmp mode. It looks like Ram has lost its compatibility with the motherboard. It seems that Bios version 0504 is already quite weak.
    After switching ERP-Ready to off, the LED backlight on the motherboard also stays red and the Oled Screen is on.
    (which should not be the case - the hob always has voltage from the power supply) The memories must work in 2133 mode.
    .................................................. .................................................. .....
    Apex, Omega had previously worked in this configuration.
    I was hoping that the migration to the next upgrade of the series would be something special. The motherboard looks like a work of engineering art, but such functionality does not justify the price of $ 750.
    Please let me know what to do to be able to use the latest Asus invention successfully in my case.
    Previous versions of X299 (Apex, Omega) were fairly OK.
    They had a few construction errors, I don't notice them in Encore,
    but with bios there is a downgrade.
    Apex & Omega did not show this error, so the configuration of the computer is not the cause of the problem. The problem lies in the disc, which looks electronically functional. What should I do?
    I read about the new bios versions:
    401 /
    1 Improve system performance and stability ????
    2 Improve DRAM stability ?????

    3 Show ACHI warning message in F1 POST message
    4 Shorten system boot time.
    5 Change the default setting for ASUS MultiCore Enhancement to disabled.
    504 /
    1. Improve system performance.
    2. Update to Intel’s latest microcode.

    What's wrong with me?
    P/s
    Fortunately, this motherboard properly reloads bios unlike Asus Omega. At least I have two functional bios chips so far.
    Yet...

    And how is healthy overclocking supposed to be?
    Last edited by Zbigniew; 01-13-2020 at 09:20 PM.
    Blessed are those who have not seen ... And now they see.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus R6EE Bios 0505
    Processori9 10900X @ 5.0 1.35V VCore
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-4000C18Q2-64GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080 Ti Kingpin
    Sound CardCreative SB AE7
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q
    Storage #1Intel 905p M.2 360G
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB and Quantum Kinetic D5
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus Strix Flare
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius II Origin
    OS Windows 10 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    2,144

    My encore board does the same thing after having the power cut off. It starts to boot and shuts down then boots normally. The omega never did that. I think it’s a bios problem but I’m not sure. No problem at all if the power is left on.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array CO8884 PC Specs
    CO8884 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus FX553VD
    MotherboardAsus Rog Rampage VI Extreme Encore
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-10980XE
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4000C18Q2-64GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Asus Rog Strix RTX2080TI O11G
    Graphics Card #2Asus Rog Strix RTX2080TI O11G
    MonitorAsus Rog Swift PG27UQ
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS 1TB M.2
    Storage #2SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS 1TB M.2
    CPU CoolerEK-Velocity D-RGB - Nickel + Acetal
    CaseAsus Rog Strix Helios
    Power SupplyAsus Rog Thor 1200W
    Keyboard Asus Rog Strix Scope
    Mouse Asus Rog Spatha
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterFritzBox 7590

    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    I also have the same problems with BIOS version 0504. Seems to be a very buggy BIOS version.
    I also have big problems that my SLI / NVLink is working properly.
    When starting a benchmark, both graphics cards build up very slowly. You can also notice it because it jerky.
    I was able to fix the problem by deactivating SLI in the Nvidia settings and activating it again immediately. Then it went. After a restart I have the same problem again.
    Could imagine that it has something to do with the problem that the motherboard starts again.
    I never had these problems with my predecessor motherboard - Asus Rog Maximus XI Extreme.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Quote Originally Posted by CO8884 View Post
    I also have the same problems with BIOS version 0504. Seems to be a very buggy BIOS version.
    I also have big problems that my SLI / NVLink is working properly.
    When starting a benchmark, both graphics cards build up very slowly. You can also notice it because it jerky.
    I was able to fix the problem by deactivating SLI in the Nvidia settings and activating it again immediately. Then it went. After a restart I have the same problem again.
    Could imagine that it has something to do with the problem that the motherboard starts again.
    I never had these problems with my predecessor motherboard - Asus Rog Maximus XI Extreme.
    I have no issues at all with SLI on this board, i'm using dual EVGA 2080ti Kingpins with the Asus Nvlink. My biggest problem is the memory, i'm still having alot of trouble with XMP profiles.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Quote Originally Posted by Hopper64 View Post
    My encore board does the same thing after having the power cut off. It starts to boot and shuts down then boots normally. The omega never did that. I think it’s a bios problem but I’m not sure. No problem at all if the power is left on.
    Yeah this is the same as what mine does, only when the power supply is shut off does it do it, other then that all is fine.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array tistou77 PC Specs
    tistou77 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processor7980XE @4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorDell U2417H
    Storage #1Intel M2 Optane 905P
    Storage #2Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    CPU CoolerWatercooling
    CaseLian Li A77F
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech LIK
    Mouse Logitech MX revolution
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    tistou77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    97
    Posts
    1,495

    I have the same thing with R6E, but only with OC 4.2ghz +
    Sorry for my english


    Case: Lian Li A77F
    MB: Rampage VI Extreme
    CPU: i9 7980XE
    RAM: G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    GPU: EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    OS: Intel M2 Optane 905P
    DATA: Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    SOUND: Asus Xonar Phoebus

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array Zbigniew PC Specs
    Zbigniew PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Alienware 13 R2
    MotherboardAsus Rampage Encore bios 401
    ProcessorI9 7920X @4,7GHz Air
    Memory (part number)Trident Z f4-3200c14q-32gtzr
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix Advanced 1070 Ti
    Sound CardCreative Labs Sound BlasterX AE-7
    MonitorAcer Predator XB321HK
    Storage #12x Samsung 970 PCI-EX
    Storage #2Plextor PX-512MB PCI-EX
    CPU CoolerProlimatech Genesis + 2x Corsair ML120RGB
    CaseThermaltake Level 20 ShowCase
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra 850W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinium
    Mouse Corsair Dark Core
    Headset German Maestro 8.35 Mobile
    Mouse Pad FUNC XXL + Asus ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Razer Mako
    OS Windows 10 X64Pro
    Network RouterHuawei B529
    Accessory #1 Rum Captain Morgan + Coca-cola wild cherry + ice
    Accessory #2 Knuckle with cabbage
    Accessory #3 Snickers Cake
    Zbigniew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    27

    Hello gentlemen again.
    I have read these comments.
    Thank you for sharing your thoughts.
    I see that my motherboard is fine.
    Bios 0504 is not for us.
    For me in bios 0504 after OC the processor (even on the settings memories in JEDEC 2133) freezes the system. It is not the fault of the memory or the motherboard. I count on a newer stable bios version.
    0504 should not be recommended for installation.
    P / S
    I have downgrade to bios 0401, which is working properly. The XMP memory profile for G. Skill TridentZ 3200 CL14 is working properly (1.35V). There are no restarts after disconnecting the computer from the wall socket. Everything is OK!
    The restart problem in bios 0401 disappeared after downgrade from 0504 and removing the battery from the board.
    I have an air-cooled I9-7920x processor.
    I don't trust AIO. The processor is stable @ 4.7 GHz.
    Cooled with historic Prolimatech Genesis and two Corsair 120ML RGB fans.
    Interestingly, the AI ​​Suite3 version attached to this motherboard can automatically overclock the computer on the fly.
    AND IT WORKS PERFECTLY, you don't have to bother.

    (I have never used this invention before, bugs in Apex, Omega.)
    At my place + 58-62% Oc in the air, without any manual settings in the bios.
    We are waiting patiently for the new bios in the 0666 version
    P/s
    Sorry for the mistakes, this time my daughter wasn't at home to check my spelling.

    Edit 17.01.2020

    After a few days of use, at 7920X 4.7 GHz and DDR4 on XMP settings with bios 0401 absolutely no errors. I am generally satisfied. I have the first Asus Rampage VI in which it works 100% correctly for me. Asus AURA also works correctly and simultaneously with Corsair iCUE. Asus Ai Suite 3 also works well thanks to AI Optimization. It never happened when I had Rampage V Edition 10, R6 Apex and R6 Omega. I think bios 0504 sucks, it's a shame to waste time with him. I think the problem has been discussed. Thanks again to everyone.
    If you don't have it (0504) - you like what you have - (0401)
    Last edited by Zbigniew; 01-17-2020 at 02:19 PM.
    Blessed are those who have not seen ... And now they see.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •