Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    BSOD after crash during OC process

    Hello fellow gamers

    I am kind of desperate. Yesterday I wanted to give AI Suite and Intelligent Processors 5 a try to boost my i7 6700k.
    Unfortunately my computer crashed during the process of overclocking with this program.
    I have since lost the control of the pc. I have BSODs with critical process failure message. I have managed to uninstall AI suite, reverted back to default both in the program and in the Bios of my Maximus VIII Hero, even with the clear CMOS button, but to no avail.
    BSODs appear either during boot or on desktop after a few minutes.
    Is my hardware destroyed? What can I do?
    Any help really appreciated!

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array hortons71 PC Specs
    hortons71 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XI Gene
    ProcessorIntel i9-9900KF
    Memory (part number)G Skill TridentZ Royal F4-4600C18-8GTRG
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 Ti OC (Matrix Bios)
    MonitorAcer Predator X34a
    Storage #1Seagate FireCuda 510 SSD M.2 2TB
    CPU CoolerFractal Design Celsius S36
    CaseFractal Design Define S2 Vision Blackout
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 850 Titanium
    OS Windows 10 Home
    Accessory #1 Supra DC Blocker
    hortons71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    39

    You can try a Safe Boot with Windows usb or disc, so only the most essential processes start. Then clear away overclocking programs and other programs you suspect. Restart. See if it solves anything. Otherwise, you may have to run a Windows repair from usb or disc. It is possible that something has been damaged, but if it is okay from bios then it is worth a try. Maybe some system files have been damaged so you need to run a repair.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Thanks a lot.
    I tried to boot in safe mode but it didn't work.
    After that I booted with a USB key with windows 10 but it crashes with the same bsod during installation.
    I then mounted a different ssd just to be sure mine was not the culprit, I managed to boot into windows but the same bsod happens after a few minutes.
    I removed one ram card, then the other one, didn't change anything.
    I'm lost. In the Bios the default settings are loaded so it should be good, I don't understand what is causing this issue. Any idea, anyone?

    Edit: I have two random messages with the bsod. The first is "critical process died" and the other one which appears more occasionally is "crypto library internal error"
    Considering everything started after a crash of AI suite and its bloody automatic OC process, it must be something related to the CPU and/or mobo mustn't it? Would it be possible that somehow loading fail safe defaults in the Bios didn't revert the modifications?
    Last edited by vil-2; 01-18-2020 at 10:28 AM.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array hortons71 PC Specs
    hortons71 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XI Gene
    ProcessorIntel i9-9900KF
    Memory (part number)G Skill TridentZ Royal F4-4600C18-8GTRG
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 Ti OC (Matrix Bios)
    MonitorAcer Predator X34a
    Storage #1Seagate FireCuda 510 SSD M.2 2TB
    CPU CoolerFractal Design Celsius S36
    CaseFractal Design Define S2 Vision Blackout
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 850 Titanium
    OS Windows 10 Home
    Accessory #1 Supra DC Blocker
    hortons71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    39

    I've never had Crypto Library Internal Errors myself, but there is some information on the web. Here is one ...

    https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...4-c8db26b66e02

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array hortons71 PC Specs
    hortons71 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XI Gene
    ProcessorIntel i9-9900KF
    Memory (part number)G Skill TridentZ Royal F4-4600C18-8GTRG
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 Ti OC (Matrix Bios)
    MonitorAcer Predator X34a
    Storage #1Seagate FireCuda 510 SSD M.2 2TB
    CPU CoolerFractal Design Celsius S36
    CaseFractal Design Define S2 Vision Blackout
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 850 Titanium
    OS Windows 10 Home
    Accessory #1 Supra DC Blocker
    hortons71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    39

    I just trimmed my memory settings so it might not be the best time to run diagnostic tests in overclocked state, but my CPU was okay.
    A useful tool.

    https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/19792

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CPUtest.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	156.5 KB 
ID:	83831

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Okay, but now the pc is so unstable I can't even boot to desktop so I can't try those.
    Considering I have tried with a different ssd, or by alternating the ram sticks, or by unplugging my graphic card and use the IGP, for no result, I fear that this might has something to do with my cpu...
    How the hell is that even possible I thought AI suite would be safe. I'm really out of solutions now, and I don't have a spare machine to check my cpu.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(4) SSD's - Samsung 960 & 970 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    1,124

    My guess is you damaged your CPU. If I were you, I would look online for the cheapest replacement I could find with the same socket, and see if you can boot successfully. If it does, buy another good CPU (and OC more carefully and gradually thereafter).
    Davemon50

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by davemon50 View Post
    My guess is you damaged your CPU. If I were you, I would look online for the cheapest replacement I could find with the same socket, and see if you can boot successfully. If it does, buy another good CPU (and OC more carefully and gradually thereafter).
    I came to that conclusion as well. Yesterday I tried a couple of CPU diagnostic tools within Ultimate Boot CD (UBCD), like CPUStress. But the tests failed or didn't even start.

    Only problem is that 2nd hand market is scarce here in Switzerland so there are not many 1150 CPUs to be found.

    I am very disappointed with Asus AI Suite 3 and I will never use it again to overclock my hardware. I usually do it in the BIOS, I wanted to give it a try, my (big) mistake.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array HisEvilness PC Specs
    HisEvilness PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus Hero XI
    ProcessorIntel i7 8086k
    Memory (part number)32gb G.Skill TrridentZ RGB
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG 1080ti
    MonitorAcer Predator 27Inch/Iiyama G-Master GE2488HS-B2/ProLite E2474HDS
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO x 2
    CPU CoolerCorsair 150i Pro
    CaseLian-Li Dynamic
    Power SupplyRMx 850
    Keyboard Roccat Vulcan 120 AIMO
    Mouse Roccat Kone AIMO
    Headset Sennheiser 58X
    OS Win 10 Pro 64
    Network RouterASUS RT-N18U
    HisEvilness's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    102

    Boot into the BIOS ad just reset your PC hardware to default. If BSOD persist check the C drive for errors.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •