Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: CPU Fan error

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    CPU Fan error

    Hey all,

    So, everything was just fine with my prebuilt PC until I got that CPU Fan error thing.

    At first, I used to bypass it by restarting the PC several times until this screen goes away and login normally.

    I made a complete hardware cleaning to remove dust and such as this maybe the reason behind this error, but still the problem is there.

    My BIOS is updated and I did a "clear CMOS" by removing the battery for 5 mins. and putting it again but nothing happened, problem is still there.

    Using AIDA64 I looked into the V12 of my PSU, it's good, 11.9xx.

    Also, two times since yesterday, the PC was shutting down immediately after powering up.

    My PC specs is as follows,

    CPU : AMD FX-9590
    Motherboard : Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z
    Cooling Unit : Cooler Master Hyper 212X
    GPU : AMD Radeon RX 560 4GB
    Memory : 32GB, 4x Kingston HyperX 8GB

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    Set it to ignore in the bios*

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by OutSider420 View Post
    Set it to ignore in the bios*

    Pardon me, but this is not a solution.

    Thanks for your reply.

    Here are some updates which may help in my case

    - The PC barely started working today, always shutdown before that error appears or while booting up/entering the BIOS.

    - When the PC booted into Windows once today, the fans were super quiet although they were adjusted to "Standard" and not "Silent", the silence was up-normal and here are some reading from the BIOS,

    https://ibb.co/PcSZ9GS

    - I've noticed that when I adjust the CPU and Chassis fans to "Turbo" the temperature increases till the PC freezes.

    - Was converting some videos for the family, the PC freezes when it reach 65C - 70C although it's set in the BIOS to protect from overheat at 90C- 100C.

    - The PC is running smoothly now by putting a large fan in front of the open chassis and setting the fans speed to "Silent".

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(4) SSD's - Samsung 960 & 970 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    1,126

    The 4-pin connector must be plugged into the CPU Fan connector on the motherboard to avoid the error. Did you? In your whole writeup over 2 posts I could not find that. CPU fan speed listed in your BIOS as N/A indicates to me that you did not. Then the result would be as expected.

    The fact that things are getting worse and you are getting high temps and freezes means to me: assuming you have your power connected properly and also the fans are operating at suitable speeds, then you either have a damaged heat pipe or radiator, or you have applied your paste incorrectly. Conduction is conduction, you are either getting it or not based on one or more of the things I just mentioned. If it's electronics then ensure you plugged into the correct location and the fans are being controlled properly.
    Davemon50

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by davemon50 View Post
    The 4-pin connector must be plugged into the CPU Fan connector on the motherboard to avoid the error. Did you? In your whole writeup over 2 posts I could not find that. CPU fan speed listed in your BIOS as N/A indicates to me that you did not. Then the result would be as expected.

    The fact that things are getting worse and you are getting high temps and freezes means to me: assuming you have your power connected properly and also the fans are operating at suitable speeds, then you either have a damaged heat pipe or radiator, or you have applied your paste incorrectly. Conduction is conduction, you are either getting it or not based on one or more of the things I just mentioned. If it's electronics then ensure you plugged into the correct location and the fans are being controlled properly.

    Thanks for your reply davemon50,

    Pardon me if it's not mentioned, but yes, the cpu fan cable is plugged into the appropriate header on the motherboard.

    I got a reading only once, yesterday I think, for the cpu fan in the BIOS.

    Let's assume the thermal paste is degraded due to the factor of time, how would this get us the cpu fan error ?

    What about PSU and/or the motherboard, any chance of damage being done ?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(4) SSD's - Samsung 960 & 970 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    1,126

    Perhaps your cooler fan's wire connection has been compromised. The wire is thin and can go bad if mishandled. Such a wire issue could cause erratic readings of yes plugged in / no not plugged in. Just a theory.

    If the CPU_FAN header on the motherboard is bad, then you can test it by plugging your CPU cooler fan into another motherboard header (keep the fan speed high or constant), and plugging a case fan into the CPU Fan header. If the error happens as much as we are led to believe here through the thread and the CPU_FAN header is actually bad, then I would suspect you would soon see that case fan lose power on several occasions. This would be a lot easier and cheaper than RMA'ing the board with only a suspicion of a bad header.

    The thermal paste thought is only because you gave an impression of the CPU getting hotter and hotter. What you said was the temperature increases until the PC freezes. That's what happens with loss of temperature control but the paste can cause that if misapplied.

    The damage I would be worried about is the CPU overheating. That will likely be the first thing to go.

    What I would try at this point is to remove the cooler, inspect it (including heat pipes and fins and contact plate, wires and blades, clean out the CPU_FAN contact on the MoBo header and in the cooler plug, then reseat it. If no success, try the thing I mentioned above with a case fan.
    Davemon50

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Thanks for your reply davemon50

    Here is a small update but I think it will put the last nail in my issue's coffin,

    I've stopped using the desk table fan and set the fan speed/mode into "Silent", the PC restarted and on the 2nd windows login, I've got an warning that the CPU temp. is 65C so I raised the fan speed to "Standard"

    No load were done during that temperature rise, just web-browsing.

    Also, mainly on the restarts, I don't see that CPU Fan error and sometimes also on the first boot-up.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Getting the CPU fan error is a warning sign that points out the malfunction of the CPU fan error or other unexpected errors.
    So, in this case you need to try different solutions like
    • Change the CPU fan settings in the BIOS
    • Lower the default Fan RPM
    • Clean the CPU fans manually.
    • Or disable the fan speed in the BIOS.
    This may works in your case but if not then change the CPU fan.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •