Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    i wanna build this what are your takes forum

    ASUS F1A75-V PRO FM1 AMD A75
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131765

    CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820233142

    AMD A8-3870K Unlocked Llano 3.0GHz Socket FM1 100W Quad-Core Desktop APU with DirectX 11 Graphic AMD Radeon HD 6550D
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819106001

    now i have a zalman 500w power supply 80plus bronze

    and i have the hd's all sata except one witch is a 500gb pata

    i hear j.j from asus saying that if i add the hd6670 i could make my gaming even better is that true
    or witch hd6000 series card can i get that would be compatible with this set up

    anything with in $100 would be great cause i am alrdy spending $324 on this set up alone

    reason why i wanna build this system is so i can play SWTOR and any newer games that might come around
    what are your takes and would you recommend anything better with in an AMD ATI set up i dont favor Intel
    much due to high pricing

    thank you guys in advance for reading and replying to this post
    Last edited by Wasted_Elmo; 02-18-2012 at 07:45 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Yeah that is a sweet little gaming rig, I am a big fan of Llano and have two in the house.

    Not sure about VGA's under $100 to be honest. Don't live in the US see, but head over to Andandtec and have a compare here. http://www.anandtech.com/bench/GPU12/372 Play around with the graphic cards you can compare with and see what works for you within your price range.

    Enjoy your new system
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    first off i wanna thank you HiVizMan for taking the time to reply

    what would you think about this card to go with the set up

    XFX HD-667X-ZWF4 Radeon HD 6670 Video Card - 1GB, DDR5
    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...&Sku=P450-6676

    i would have gone with this one out of desperation

    MSI R6570-MD2GD3/LP Radeon HD 6570 Video Card - 2GB, DDR3,
    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...044&CatId=7005

    or would i just be able to sit back and enjoy the graphics that come with the CPU for now
    being that i do have a compatible ram to support the integrated graphics

    i was about to pick this set up at first
    MSI A75MA-G55 AMD A Series Socket FM1 Motherboard and AMD Quad-Core A8-3870K 3.0GHz Radeon HD 6550D APU Bundle
    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...469&CatId=7249

    but i am glad i didnt cause that would mean i would have to OC the board for it to support the memory the CPU needs to run the integrated graphics

    all in all i wanna thank the viewers and HiVizMan for taking the time to read and reply to my post

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    * updated 2-21-12*

    well i ended up buying all the parts you see here from tiger direct
    i was a bit upset that TD didnt want to do a price match over newegg cause
    it was "way below our standard price" so said the TD REP so if any one wants to take advantage i left the
    new egg links there

    i went with TD cause i wanted to buy the XFX video card and wanted UPS to ship all my items in one box
    instead of having two companies send me two boxes and a longer wait to get everything

    shipping was a mess due to presidents day made my order on the 19th with two day shipping but end up getting my items tomorrow the 22nd witch sucked two times as they shipped it on the 21st at the crack of dawn


    ASUS F1A75-V PRO FM1 AMD A75
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131765

    CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820233142

    AMD A8-3870K Unlocked Llano 3.0GHz Socket FM1 100W Quad-Core Desktop APU with DirectX 11 Graphic AMD Radeon HD 6550D
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819106001

    XFX HD-667X-ZWF4 Radeon HD 6670 Video Card - 1GB, DDR5
    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...&Sku=P450-6676

    now i have a zalman 500w power supply 80plus bronze ( would this power supply work with my set up?)
    2tb WD hard drive


    now i have windows xp 32 bit witch i think might be a problem if i am not mistaken
    so would i have to go to a windows 7 64Bit if i take on the 8 gigs of ram correct?
    would like to know so i can start looking for a cheap place to get the retail version of windows 7
    cause not sure what would be the difference to get the OEM with RETAIL
    i take that its just that i wont get full support if i go with the OEM correct?
    but everything else is legit full working right?
    and if i pick OEM i would have to go with 64 bit right ?

    THANK YOU all for viewing and would appreciate if i got a reply or if you guys got questions feel free to ask or post

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array VistaKing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    130

    If you want the 8GB usage you would need Windows 7 X64 bit. XP does have X64. Called Windows XP 64-bit Professional but its an out dated OS. XP support will end in 2014 I believe . OEM version of an OS will be cheaper then the retail version only difference is Retail come inside the boxes while the OEMs just come in a nice little envelope with a little booklet( A crappy User Guide ). OEMs are also hardware linked. So if you install the OS and your hard drive dies you would need to call Microsoft to reactivate the OS.

    This might be helpful

    Last edited by VistaKing; 02-22-2012 at 04:41 AM.


    Created by DaemonCantor and Adam

  6. #6
    Shut Up Stupid! Array DaemonCantor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    175
    Posts
    2,289

    Yes VistaKing is right Windows 7 is the way to go with 8gigs but what he didn't say is Windows Vista also has a 64bit version but I personally wouldn't suggest using it just step up to Win7 and you won't be dissapointed! Windows XP Pro 64bit not only is badly outdated but there isn't hardly any drivers and from the start no support for it. Heck you can't even get iTunes to work with it! I used the version for 3 days and got so disgusted I went back to regular XP Pro!

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array VistaKing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    130

    LOL I didn't forget I just didn't want to mention Windows Vista cause I doubt Microsoft want to remember that OS. Windows Vista is Windows ME 2nd Edition.


    Created by DaemonCantor and Adam

  8. #8
    Shut Up Stupid! Array DaemonCantor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    175
    Posts
    2,289

    Nice signature! I wonder where you got it from...

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Someone makes nice sigs. Who did yours DC?
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  10. #10
    Shut Up Stupid! Array DaemonCantor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    175
    Posts
    2,289

    I'll hide in shame for twas me that made it....

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •