Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    99

    G731GW (Strix 3 RTX 2070) - works good in high demanding tasks, laggy in basic things

    Hi guys,
    Trying to set up my new G731GW laptop for over a week now with no avail.
    All updates are installed (from ASUS site and from Windows). When doing simple tasks (windows browsing, internet browsing) the system is laggy. Same happens when trying to work with AutoCAD and Solidworks. It feels like I'm using an old integrated video card (in nVidia Settings all these are set to use the High End graphics adapter). All programs (same releases) worked flawlessly on my previous ASUS (ZX753VD). The strange part is, when I start a demanding game with ultra setting it works flawlessly (!). Working with a basic CAD file is a struggle, but opening a very heavy file, performs good (!). Been trying all different video drivers and nothing helps Finally ended up again with the one from the ASUS support page . Also tried to disable UHD630 VGA or the RTX2070 VGA, no difference. Tried also a fresh windows install and all is the same. I've added extra SSD (500GB Samsung) and extra RAM (absolutely the same as the one the laptop came with, so now it's 16+16 GB Samsung). The problems were the same before the upgrade. Can't find a solution to this strange behavior, so any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
    PS: One other issue is the sound. I'm using the "Nahimic Component Driver" with "Sonic Studio 3 UWP" and the sound stutters for a fraction, when some process is started or closed;

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    99





    I've made a test in "UserBenchMark". Do you think, this test is valid and what could've be the issue to my problem?

    I've contacted the support and there was only one response to reinstall Windows, though I've mentioned I've done it two times before that, installing only drivers from their site and all was the same.

  3. #3
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    318
    Posts
    7,727

    Maybe check the Intel graphics settings. See if you can set the igpu to performance rather than efficiency.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    99

    Tried that, but didn't help. All is set to performance - same results. A friend of mine (sysadmin) said, I should return it. According to him it's some kind of components interference, which he's seen quite a lot with different brands. Each component separately performs with no errors, but there is something, that is making them not to work together as a whole. There's also an option to send it to a service center, but this way I would miss the 30 days return option.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    99

    Tried this benchmark test on my "old" Asus and very interesting, the results are pretty much the same, but that laptop works very smoothly... Totally stunned...

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    99

    One more thing I've noticed. The CPU is always showing 800MHZ. Is it normal??

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    99

    Reason found. CPU multiplier was locked at 8. With BD PROCHOT disabled, it's nothing to compare to before that. It's a rocket. What bothers me now is, should I leave the BD PROCHOT off, and why is all this strange behavior. Is disabling the BD-P only bypassing an existing problem, like faulty motherboard's sensor or it's a firmware issue?
    Last edited by AtGrigorov; 01-25-2020 at 07:23 PM.

  8. #8
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    318
    Posts
    7,727

    Given that it worked in some situations even before you made this change I would lean toward firmware over hardware.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    99

    It's just back from RMA Service. It looks like the Mainboard was replaced. All's good now.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •