Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 27
  1. #11
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array tistou77 PC Specs
    tistou77 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme Encore
    Processor10980XE @4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorDell U2417H
    Storage #1Intel Optane 905P PCIe
    Storage #2Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    CPU CoolerWatercooling
    CaseLian Li A77F
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech LIK
    Mouse Logitech MX revolution
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    tistou77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    103
    Posts
    1,616

    Quote Originally Posted by CSN7 View Post
    Performance on Cascade Lake-X CPU's is definitely down starting from the 050X Bios Revisions. I can only guess it's the new microcode.
    Have you tried with the latest microcode (bios 0505 modded) ?
    Sorry for my english


    Case: Lian Li A77F
    MB: Rampage VI Extreme Encore
    CPU: i9 10980XE
    RAM: G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    GPU: EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    OS: Intel Optane 905P PCIe
    DATA: Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    SOUND: Asus Xonar Phoebus

  2. #12
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    52

    @tistou77 where to find the modded bios 0505?

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array tistou77 PC Specs
    tistou77 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme Encore
    Processor10980XE @4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorDell U2417H
    Storage #1Intel Optane 905P PCIe
    Storage #2Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    CPU CoolerWatercooling
    CaseLian Li A77F
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech LIK
    Mouse Logitech MX revolution
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    tistou77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    103
    Posts
    1,616

    Quote Originally Posted by einsindrei View Post
    @tistou77 where to find the modded bios 0505?
    In my modded topic
    Sorry for my english


    Case: Lian Li A77F
    MB: Rampage VI Extreme Encore
    CPU: i9 10980XE
    RAM: G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    GPU: EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    OS: Intel Optane 905P PCIe
    DATA: Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    SOUND: Asus Xonar Phoebus

  4. #14
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    I have cold boot issue too. Turn on computer, stops at Memory Detect, hold power button to turn off system, turn system back on, then forced into BIOS by pressing F1, discard changes and exit. After that it boots up fine.

    Is that the same issue you have?

    It is driving me crazy.

    Quote Originally Posted by Zbigniew View Post
    I also have bios 505, like 504, reset at cold power off. Samsung b-die CL14 3200 do not want to work stable in XMP mode. In bios 401 not any of the above problems. As I wrote in my previous thread - bios series 5xx is also not for me. We are waiting for bios 06xx.
    I am very glad that Asus-Engineers has not yet forgotten about us. But for now the work is going weakly ...
    (After all, I think it's a great x299 board. Read reviews on amazon.de)
    .................................................. .................................................. .......
    Re-edit February 8, 2020
    I completely cleared the bios 0401 settings, reset the motherboard and removed the battery on the motherboard for the night.
    Then I set bios 0401 completely by default.
    I migrated to version 0505.
    The memories work correctly in XMP mode.
    Unfortunately, enabling the ERP-ready S4 + S5 function causes the computer to start incorrectly.
    After starting, a single reset occurs and then the computer properly loads bios and OS Win10.
    I return to 0401.
    Version 0505 (&0504) has an internal error. It is a pity that it does not work for me.

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus R6EE Bios 0702
    Processori9 10900X @ 5.0 1.37V VCore
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-4000C18Q2-64GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080 Ti
    Sound CardCreative SB AE7
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q
    Storage #1Intel 905p M.2 360G
    CPU CoolerEKWB Magnitude RGB and Quantum Kinetic D5
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus Strix Flare
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius II Origin
    OS Windows 10 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    47
    Posts
    2,220

    Quote Originally Posted by K01D57331 View Post
    I have cold boot issue too. Turn on computer, stops at Memory Detect, hold power button to turn off system, turn system back on, then forced into BIOS by pressing F1, discard changes and exit. After that it boots up fine.

    Is that the same issue you have?

    It is driving me crazy.
    That’s not the same issue I have. It stops at CPU q code 38 and then restarts on its own. Having to press F1 with a memory code suggests a memory problem, perhaps. List your hardware for everyone to review. *

  6. #16
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by Hopper64 View Post
    That’s not the same issue I have. It stops at CPU q code 38 and then restarts on its own. Having to press F1 with a memory code suggests a memory problem, perhaps. List your hardware for everyone to review. *
    My current memory is Crucial Baslistik BLE8G4D36BEEAK.M8FE1 which is on the approved list. I have tried with Corsair 3200 from approved list and HyperX from approved list with same results. Even at default settings.

    Motherboard:
    ROG Rampage VI Extreme Encore

    CPU:
    10940x

    PSU:
    Corsair AX1600i but also had issues with Corsiar AX1200i and Asus ROG 1200w

    GPU:
    2080Ti x2

    Issue:
    BIOS 0505 - On cold boot, first start of day or after computer has been turned off the BIOS does not post. It get stuck at DETECT MEMORY. This happens with default settings, XMP settings or if you set the RAM timings manually. I am currently using BLE8G4D36BEEAK.M8FE1 as my RAM and it is listed in the DRAM QVL for this motherboard. I have also tried using Corsair and HyperX RAM that is listed in the same DRAM QVL.

    When POST gets stuck at DETECT MEMORY, I hold power button to turn off computer, once turned off I press power button again to turn back, it goes through POST and then a message appears about BIOS did not boot last time so press F1 to enter BIOS. I press F1, select EXIT, select DISCARD CHANGES & EXIT or SAVE CHHANGES & EXIT and then the board reboots fine.

    If I select restart in Windows10 it does not have this issue. It is every time at a cold start.

    I have tried different power supply, CPU, RAM and video cards. I have tried with 1,2 and 4 sticks of RAM and every combo of hardware has this issue. I have also tried with an external power button, power button on motherboard and jumping the jumpers to turn on board

    BIOS 0504 and below
    It does not have the cold start issue but once RAM is set to XMP or values changed manually for RAM timings the board freezes up in minutes.

    Before I got the ROG Rampage VI Extreme Encore, I tried out the ASUS Prime X299 Edition 30 which showed same behavior but I did not troubleshoot that one as much as the Rampage. I returned it and got the Rampage hoping I wouldn't experience the same issues but I have.

  7. #17
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by tistou77 View Post
    In my modded topic
    When I tried to flash this BIOS I got error message saying it was not for my motherboard.

  8. #18
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus R6EE Bios 0702
    Processori9 10900X @ 5.0 1.37V VCore
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-4000C18Q2-64GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080 Ti
    Sound CardCreative SB AE7
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q
    Storage #1Intel 905p M.2 360G
    CPU CoolerEKWB Magnitude RGB and Quantum Kinetic D5
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus Strix Flare
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius II Origin
    OS Windows 10 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    47
    Posts
    2,220

    2 different MBs causing the same thing. Different memory causes the same problem. Is the IMC on the CPU defective? But you tried another CPU too. Are the correct slots populated on the board? Page 1-5 of the manual.

  9. #19
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by Hopper64 View Post
    2 different MBs causing the same thing. Different memory causes the same problem. Is the IMC on the CPU defective? But you tried another CPU too. Are the correct slots populated on the board? Page 1-5 of the manual.
    I have not tried a different CPU on this board but I have tried the CPU on a different board and it worked fine. I thought CPU at first too but then I tried it in a different board and it worked fine.

    I also had it in a Prime II Deluxe with no issue. My X299 build started out with the Prime II Deluxe which all worked well but then I wanted a nicer board which started these issues

    It has to be the BIOS and the changes from 0504 to 0505. The 30th Anniversary board is very similar to the Encore and had same issues.

    I may switch over to 3970x and Zenith Alpha build. I only have until Monday to return board. I know the issue will not be fixed by then but I am worried it will never be fixed the way Asus tech support handled my call. I almost am willing to live with this issue for now since this system is so nice every other way but since I invested so much into system it is kind of hard to just suck it up but I may have finally got my hands on a 10980xe.

    Such first world problems

    Yes, memory slots are correct.

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus R6EE Bios 0702
    Processori9 10900X @ 5.0 1.37V VCore
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-4000C18Q2-64GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080 Ti
    Sound CardCreative SB AE7
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q
    Storage #1Intel 905p M.2 360G
    CPU CoolerEKWB Magnitude RGB and Quantum Kinetic D5
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus Strix Flare
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius II Origin
    OS Windows 10 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    47
    Posts
    2,220

    Sorry you’re having so much of a headache with this. Hope you get it worked out one way or another.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •