Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    C7H-WiFi, can't boot at 3200MHz memory?

    I apologize if I'm just being stupid but I've been trying intermittently to get my DDR4-3200Mhz kit to run at DCOP speeds and have had absolutely no luck.

    I'm running the following:
    CPU: 3800X
    Mobo: C7H with the 2901 BIOS, tried 3004 and had no luck with that either.
    RAM: CMK16GX4M2B3200C16 (Corsair Vengeance 2x8GB 3200MHz Samsung B-Die)

    If I try DCOP, I get stuck in a funky boot loop with no definite QLED error, it just cycles through a large range of them.
    If I try manually inputting the frequency and timings, it does the same as enabling DCOP, the only way to break the loop cycle is clear CMOS.

    I've tried raising DRAM VBOOT from 1.2v to 1.35v/1.4v/1.45v to no avail, again no definite error, however the restart is very abrupt when I change this value.

    The defaulted speed of 2133MHz @ 1.2v runs but I can't seem to find a fix for this, apologies in advance as I'm not well versed with memory whatsoever.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,678

    Hi TwitchFast and Welcome to ROG

    Your RAM (CMK16GX4M2B3200C16) are OC RAM which is beyond the JDEC standard and therefore will default to a safe set of SPD values.
    To obtain the rated frequency for your RAM involves manually tweaking Timings and voltage in Bios. (AI Overclock tuner set to "manual".
    I and others have found that a slight CPU Overclock can also help.

    Most have found that using applications such as Thaiphoon and Ryzen RAM Calculator will get the job done and how best to use them go here:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1GTekAB1Zzc
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KOqhyVNPhaM

    First test your modules with Memtest86 to eliminate any possibilities of errors.If any errors whatsoever then RMA the whole kit.
    Test the Motherboard slots using just a single module in the first slot, switch them around and test the other slot. The only other issue could be the memory controller on the CPU. (very unlikely at 3200Mhz)
    Good luck and please report back.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by MeanMachine View Post
    Hi TwitchFast and Welcome to ROG

    Your RAM (CMK16GX4M2B3200C16) are OC RAM which is beyond the JDEC standard and therefore will default to a safe set of SPD values.
    To obtain the rated frequency for your RAM involves manually tweaking Timings and voltage in Bios. (AI Overclock tuner set to "manual".
    I and others have found that a slight CPU Overclock can also help.

    Most have found that using applications such as Thaiphoon and Ryzen RAM Calculator will get the job done and how best to use them go here:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1GTekAB1Zzc
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KOqhyVNPhaM

    First test your modules with Memtest86 to eliminate any possibilities of errors.If any errors whatsoever then RMA the whole kit.
    Test the Motherboard slots using just a single module in the first slot, switch them around and test the other slot. The only other issue could be the memory controller on the CPU. (very unlikely at 3200Mhz)
    Good luck and please report back.
    Thanks for your input, I should've clarified that I had this exact system running on another motherboard (MSI X570 Gaming Edge Wi-Fi) with the memory running at DOCP speeds.
    I replaced the board due to the VRMs getting unreasonably hot depite having little to no load on the CPU.

    I've input the appropriate values where specified and manually input all the timings and voltages, unfortunately it does the exact same thing as just enabling DOCP.
    Upon Save and Exiting the bios, it very suddenly turns off as though a relay was switched, then attempts to reboot and switches off suddenly again.
    The only way I can get out of that loop is to clear CMOS, and the QLED code isn't giving me a value to work with either.

    I'm sure the RAM is fine as I had it running at advertised speeds on the old motherboard, really hope I can get this ironed out.

    Thanks again.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Delta9K PC Specs
    Delta9K PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero (WiFi)
    ProcessorRyzen 7 2700X
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL F4-3200C14D-32GTZSW (2x16)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX1080TI-SC
    MonitorASUS ROG SWIFT PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro - 512GB NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerFractal Celsius S36
    CaseFractal Define R6
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK.2
    Mouse Logitech G403
    Delta9K's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    77

    I know this is going to appear humdrum & duh... But, make sure that you populate the A2/B2 Dimm slots -

    I could not find your rams listed at B-die finder (CMK16GX4M2B3200C16 (Corsair Vengeance 2x8GB 3200MHz Samsung B-Die)) and also the timings (16-18-18-36) don't line up for bdie but... Corsair does swap what ICs they use even on the same speed kits you have to pay attention to the version numbers. Here again, Thaiphoon burner should provide some clarity as it will read your ICs directly. I have a 32GB kit of that LPX Vengeance (CMK32GX4M2B3200C16) and they are Hynix MFR...

    If I missed this and you did it this way I apologize but the screenshot from DRAM calc you posted appears to be the timings generated from clicking R-XMP. Also, you really want to know what your ICs are (samsung, hynix etc.etc.) when doing the initial input into the calculator. So...,

    Run Thaiphoon burner to capture a report from your Dimms - after you've read your Dimms, click report and view it scroll to the bottom and click show timings in nanoseconds - then export the report as a complete report HTML. Now open DRAM calculator set it up as you did (entering the correct memory type as read from Thaiphoon burner) except don't click the purple button 'R-XMP' as that is just using generic sets of timings from tables based on the mem type entered - Instead click Import/XMP and then point it to the HTML report you just saved from Thaiphoon burner that is custom to your Dimms. Then calculate safe/fast - The timings may look really similar but I'd bet there's a few that differ especially if they are not B-die as you configured it as -

    Please report back what you find out or if you need some help determining what your ram components are from Thaiphoon burner -
    Last edited by Delta9K; 01-27-2020 at 01:11 AM. Reason: can't spell
    Other systems in addition to rig in the profile specs:
    Aorus Master x570, 3950X, 32GB GSkill c16 @3800, Sabrent PCIe4 1TB, Sabrent 1TB, 860Evo 1TB, 2080 Super, HX1200i, Celsius S36, Define S2, pg348q
    Aorus Master x570, 3900X, 32GB GSkill c16 @3800, Sabrent PCIe4 1TB, 860Evo 1TB, 5700XT, HX1000i, H150i Pro, Obsidian 500D, LG32GK650F-B
    MEG x570 Unify, 3800X, 32GB GSkill c16 @3800, Sabrent PCIe4 1TB, 860Evo 1TB, GTX1080Ti, SSR-850PD, Celsius S36, Define R6, u3415w

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by Delta9K View Post
    I know this is going to appear humdrum & duh... But, make sure that you populate the A2/B2 Dimm slots -
    Any input that could lead to a solution is appreciated, but yes I have populated the A2/B2 dimms.
    This hurts because 2133 is too low for the infinity fabric, so everything is out of whack :T
    -Edit
    Thanks for the updated post, much more comprehensive than the aforementioned videos.
    I have run Thaiphoon and I can confirm my kit is Samsung B-Die, I'll follow up with proof and results tomorrow, currently 1AM where I live.

    Pretty sure I did click R-XMP since the guide said to, but no worries, I'll try your method when I'm on the system next.
    Last edited by TwitchFast; 01-27-2020 at 01:03 AM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Delta9K PC Specs
    Delta9K PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero (WiFi)
    ProcessorRyzen 7 2700X
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL F4-3200C14D-32GTZSW (2x16)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX1080TI-SC
    MonitorASUS ROG SWIFT PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro - 512GB NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerFractal Celsius S36
    CaseFractal Define R6
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK.2
    Mouse Logitech G403
    Delta9K's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    77

    Quote Originally Posted by TwitchFast View Post
    Any input that could lead to a solution is appreciated, but yes I have populated the A2/B2 dimms.
    This hurts because 2133 is too low for the infinity fabric, so everything is out of whack :T
    -Edit
    Thanks for the updated post, much more comprehensive than the aforementioned videos.
    I have run Thaiphoon and I can confirm my kit is Samsung B-Die, I'll follow up with proof and results tomorrow, currently 1AM where I live.

    Pretty sure I did click R-XMP since the guide said to, but no worries, I'll try your method when I'm on the system next.
    Awesome - yes, please post the output from Thaiphoon burner for sure and Dram calc & we can have a look.
    Other systems in addition to rig in the profile specs:
    Aorus Master x570, 3950X, 32GB GSkill c16 @3800, Sabrent PCIe4 1TB, Sabrent 1TB, 860Evo 1TB, 2080 Super, HX1200i, Celsius S36, Define S2, pg348q
    Aorus Master x570, 3900X, 32GB GSkill c16 @3800, Sabrent PCIe4 1TB, 860Evo 1TB, 5700XT, HX1000i, H150i Pro, Obsidian 500D, LG32GK650F-B
    MEG x570 Unify, 3800X, 32GB GSkill c16 @3800, Sabrent PCIe4 1TB, 860Evo 1TB, GTX1080Ti, SSR-850PD, Celsius S36, Define R6, u3415w

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by Delta9K View Post
    Awesome - yes, please post the output from Thaiphoon burner for sure and Dram calc & we can have a look.
    Here's the correct info this time lol.


    Pretty sure I read somewhere that they made a brief stint of Samsung LPX kits, then started using Hynix.

    -Edit, I tried the Safe calculation + Recommended values where available, it did the exact same thing and switched off immediately upon saving and exiting the bios.
    Also, I saw nothing concerning VBOOT on the calculator, I tried to change it to 1.35v since 1.2 is likely much too low for my kit.
    Last edited by TwitchFast; 01-27-2020 at 09:41 AM.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)PVR416G413C9K @ 3600 14-15-14-28 CR1
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    347

    Take care/note that if manually setting from DRAM Calculator to BIOS that line for line, do not line up in particular tRCDWR and tRCDRD are listed around the other way in BIOS

    TWRRD is either 1 or 3 suggest trying 3.

    Also you could try CAD_Bus Block Alt 2
    24
    24
    24
    24

    Anything not covered in Ryzen DRAM calculator, leave in AUTO.

    Still not getting anywhere try 14-18-18-36 as base timings and then combination of the above defaults (you printed) from Ryzen calculator for the sub timings then alternatives. If you get boot then run something like aida64 (system stability test) to see if things are stable or whatever your preferred testing method is.

    I don't LPX line, back when I got my 1800x, LPX (Hynix) would not even boot, then finally did but never got to 3200, got rid of LPX in the end.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 01-27-2020 at 02:34 PM.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    Take care/note that if manually setting from DRAM Calculator to BIOS that line for line, do not line up in particular tRCDWR and tRCDRD are listed around the other way in BIOS

    TWRRD is either 1 or 3 suggest trying 3.

    Also you could try CAD_Bus Block Alt 2
    24
    24
    24
    24

    Anything not covered in Ryzen DRAM calculator, leave in AUTO.

    Still not getting anywhere try 14-18-18-36 as base timings and then combination of the above defaults (you printed) from Ryzen calculator for the sub timings then alternatives. If you get boot then run something like aida64 (system stability test) to see if things are stable or whatever your preferred testing method is.

    I don't LPX line, back when I got my 1800x, LPX (Hynix) would not even boot, then finally did but never got to 3200, got rid of LPX in the end.
    Tried your suggestions, still no dice I'm afraid.
    And when inputting timings I have been checking the names side-by-side via my Phone just to make sure I'm not buggering it up.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array ROGod's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Arrow

    I would stick to basics and try to establish a baseline.

    Manually change the DRAM and VBOOT voltage to 1.35v (yes the voltage is set in two different places).
    Then manually set the ram speed to 3200, and the infinity fabric to 1600.
    And then manually set your primary timings to 16-18-18-36 and leave everything else on auto.

    According to your SPD read from Thaiphoon Burner that should work.
    Last edited by ROGod; 01-27-2020 at 06:06 PM.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •