Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array proxyoxy89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Strix Z390-E Gaming. CPU draws 2(two) watts under load

    Hey, I have what I think is an odd issue - HWinfo displays a CPU Package Power of 2 watts. Does anyone have an idea of what could be to blame? I own an ASRock Extreme4 as well that does not exhibit this issue. Thanks

    https://i.imgur.com/4VBn8h9.png

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array proxyoxy89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    I feel really bad bumping this thread - I apologize. But does anyone have any insight as to where this discrepancy could be originating from? My understanding is the motherboard is what will display how much power is being drawn from the CPU. All i'm asking is if I am incorrect in this assessment. Thanks.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array gb2048 PC Specs
    gb2048 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX z390-E
    ProcessorIntel i5-9500
    CPU CoolerbeQuiet Dark Rock Slim
    CaseNZXT H510
    Power SupplybeQuiet Straight Power 11 550W
    OS Windows 10 64-Bit 1903
    gb2048's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    I have the same MB. Could it be a SW fault? As AI Suite 3 for me shows power usage changing as I would expect. I've not run HW info in ages and have uninstalled. So if AI Suite for you is different and looks normal... then a SW bug!

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array proxyoxy89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Yeah, that's probably my fault for not exhausting every tool I've attempted to use.... Nothing will display a proper power usage from AI Suite, HWInFo, XTU, AIDA and more I'm probably just forgetting at this moment. I have exhausted every software based option, BIOS options (which would be weird), and essentially that is my all I options I can see that would affect it. My knowledge ends here on what else I could do.

    Ah, oh well. The fact that you have the same mobo makes this more than likely an (unintentional) issue with my own. I posted here @ ASUS hoping someone had seen something like this before haha.

    Thanks for responding though, =D


    I actually forgot to mention this before but my CPU is apparently running at a whopping 0.0v in AiSuite and XTU, whereas HWinfo and cpuz can read it correctly. I have no idea what to make of it. =(
    Last edited by proxyoxy89; 02-02-2020 at 02:22 PM. Reason: Quick addition:

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •