Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Lightbulb Rampage VI Extreme Encore XMP Ram Profiles

    So i am curious, is anyone using high frequency ram like 4000 or 4266 on there Encore motherboard that is not on the QVL list? I have tried 3 different sets of DDR4 memory. 2 Sets of 4000MHz and a set of 4266MHz Corsair and Gskill TridentZ and when they are set to XMP in the bios they all show the correct timings and voltages are set but the pc just wont boot at all. These are not on the QVL list but they all worked fine on the Rampage VI Extreme Omega if i set them at 4100MHz and they were not on that QVL list either. I could get all sets to work on the Encore board but only if i set them at 3400MHz or below. I'm using a 7980XE cpu on the board. I did end up finding a set of this ram Model F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR which is on the QVL list so i'm gonna try it when it gets here and see if that works. If not it seems to me there is an issue with my board.
    Last edited by altonatrucker; 12-10-2019 at 11:33 AM.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Quote Originally Posted by Mreksoll View Post
    Dot not use XMP ! It's work not correct , make clear cmos , better reflash bios and put all manual with no xmp , xmp broke some variable at UEFI ( simple click last modify and if you see after choise xmp some binnary trash , its hv bug .

    Then if its not work with manual puted settings , write to asus support about RTL IOL bug and ask when they fix ( this bug make wrong training memory after 2400 mhz )

    So only solution write and push asus support for fix bug. Of make RMA and buy somting other.

    Omega to hv this bug. i was to try many kit's after my was not work , and no mater QVL or not , i stuck always at buged training .

    Yeah i did the manual settings as well with no luck, already have the newest bios in it. I do have another board being delivered today so i will see if the same problems are with it as well, if so i'll know its a problem in general with the boards and not just mine. My first one is being returned anyway because the rear panel audio jack is defective, lots of noise in the left speaker or headphone when plugged in.
    Last edited by altonatrucker; 12-10-2019 at 11:53 AM.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Quote Originally Posted by Mreksoll View Post
    Try test it at 2400 with jedec timigns, then with 2666 to xmp freq with xmp timings , step by step at freq.

    sa and io put 1.1 , and no mater what monitoring says ignore , at my it say's when i put bolth 1.1 , sa 1.76 io 1.144. When find stable you can try lower sa .

    + try replase dimms before training not be at RTL IOL table more adequate

    I meen exampme RTL 57 RTL 63 iol 5 iol 10 bad

    RTL 57 RTL 57 IOL 6 - 8 "normal"

    What cpu are you using in your encore board?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array ThrashZone PC Specs
    ThrashZone PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS x99 sabertooth 2nd x299 Rampage VI Apex
    Processori7-5930k & i9-9940x
    Memory (part number)Trident-Z 3200C14 2nd Trident-Z 3600C16 both Samsung B-Dies
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080ti FTW3 water block 2nd Titan Xp copper water block
    MonitorAOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz & ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
    Storage #12-Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2 & 2.5" ssd's 850 pro's for os 850 evo for games
    Storage #22-LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
    CPU Coolerx99 2-240GTX with Heatkiller-4-Pro/ vrm water block Both&x299 2-280GTX 2-D5's before and after rads
    Case2- Corsair 450D with second floors for 240GTX & 280GTX rads enclosed and filtered on top
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000P2 2nd EVGA 1200P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum 2nd Logitech G710+
    Mouse 2-Red dragon Perdition
    OS Win-7 & win-10 pro on both systems Win-7 everyday os
    Accessory #1 Heatkiller 4 Pro copper plexi/Optimus Foundation copper plexi
    Accessory #2 Mayhems Biocide and Inhibitor with distilled water
    Accessory #3 ModMyMods 3/8-5/8" clear soft tubing/ MORA 360 Pro
    ThrashZone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    378

    Hi,
    Been quite a few xmp failures reported
    Mostly with hynix memory kits loose timings

    But really high frequency kits is also hit and miss
    I'd try first dual channel mode and see if that makes any difference at all using just two sticks.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array ThrashZone PC Specs
    ThrashZone PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS x99 sabertooth 2nd x299 Rampage VI Apex
    Processori7-5930k & i9-9940x
    Memory (part number)Trident-Z 3200C14 2nd Trident-Z 3600C16 both Samsung B-Dies
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080ti FTW3 water block 2nd Titan Xp copper water block
    MonitorAOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz & ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
    Storage #12-Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2 & 2.5" ssd's 850 pro's for os 850 evo for games
    Storage #22-LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
    CPU Coolerx99 2-240GTX with Heatkiller-4-Pro/ vrm water block Both&x299 2-280GTX 2-D5's before and after rads
    Case2- Corsair 450D with second floors for 240GTX & 280GTX rads enclosed and filtered on top
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000P2 2nd EVGA 1200P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum 2nd Logitech G710+
    Mouse 2-Red dragon Perdition
    OS Win-7 & win-10 pro on both systems Win-7 everyday os
    Accessory #1 Heatkiller 4 Pro copper plexi/Optimus Foundation copper plexi
    Accessory #2 Mayhems Biocide and Inhibitor with distilled water
    Accessory #3 ModMyMods 3/8-5/8" clear soft tubing/ MORA 360 Pro
    ThrashZone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    378

    Hi,
    Encore or even omega is way out of my price range for a board
    I've used a cheapo mark 2 and now on a 200.us used apex on 1705 bios and both did fine with 3600C16 4x8gb kits in quad channel at rated speed with tweaked timings and also 4000MHz tweaked a little more timings.

    But i agree these are high dollar boards you'd expect better support.

    I still have my cheapo mark 2 board might eventually fire it back up it holds all my highest benchmarks apex has not beat them.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array vmanuelgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    298

    I agree rtls and iols autotuning is a bit odd, but I run 3800 cl15 totally stable reboot after reboot, passing hci, gsat and prime.

    U have to find the proper frequency, timings and associated voltages to suit your cpu and memory modules and u'll find stability. XMP should work ok, but sometimes it doesn't, so manual setup is needed, specially using Hynix modules.

    And finally u won't be able to force rtls and iols, they are autotuned so no tricks to manage it. But u can force rtl init which can help in finding stability.
    Last edited by vmanuelgm; 12-10-2019 at 01:44 PM.
    Omega, 7980xe, G.Skill 3600, 2080Ti, SM951 256, 970 PRO, 860 EVO
    Intel 750, WD SN750 Black, 840 Pro, 2xSkyhawk 4TB, 7200.14, 207EBK
    EVGA T2 1600, Silverstone TJ11, Custom LC. @Acer Predator x34

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array vmanuelgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    298

    I use HCI and GSAT. I start for GSAT 2 hours and then I pass 1000% HCI, which is a good base to have a stable system. Prime95 is easier to pass, cpu even runs cooler (tried 2 hours). Then I reboot along the days and pass GSAT 2 hours to confirm after every reboot the system keeps stability, and it keeps it in my case.

    Before I bought this Omega, I had a pair of Gigabytes x299, the Gaming 9 and the Gaming 7 Pro with better VRM's. Both had some weird RTL's and IOL's autotuning too, but u could try to force them not like in Omega. I say u could try since the board autotuned when the forced ones weren't liked. Under x299 Samsung B-Die's are the right choice to help overclocking, not your case with Hynix.

    Furthermore u have to manual setup the most of your memory timings which are far from best configured. Some of the timings u show in your pics are not proportional. I would also start with 3600MHz frequency which is usually accepted for the most of cpu IMC's and is a fast one when paired with low clocks. CL16 (or even lower) should be possible even under Hynix. Wait some manual timing advise at OC.NET if u need them.
    Last edited by vmanuelgm; 12-10-2019 at 03:50 PM.
    Omega, 7980xe, G.Skill 3600, 2080Ti, SM951 256, 970 PRO, 860 EVO
    Intel 750, WD SN750 Black, 840 Pro, 2xSkyhawk 4TB, 7200.14, 207EBK
    EVGA T2 1600, Silverstone TJ11, Custom LC. @Acer Predator x34

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array vmanuelgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    298

    I, like u, suffered some problems with certain frequencies and timings, for example 4000 cl16 with 59-61-59-61 while 59-61-59-59 are rock solid. That's why I insist u have to find your frequency timings voltage match. For example your rw's should be around 15. I can lower them but i have 32gb and a very good bdie kit for overclocking.

    Asus is not doing right but neither does Intel which developed buggy microcodes like mc49, unusable with avx512 loads.

    I tried Gigabyte and autotraining is not the best. So what brand next??? Evga??? Have a mate here with the dark and memory configuration is as difficult as in Asus boards...
    Last edited by vmanuelgm; 12-10-2019 at 08:17 PM.
    Omega, 7980xe, G.Skill 3600, 2080Ti, SM951 256, 970 PRO, 860 EVO
    Intel 750, WD SN750 Black, 840 Pro, 2xSkyhawk 4TB, 7200.14, 207EBK
    EVGA T2 1600, Silverstone TJ11, Custom LC. @Acer Predator x34

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array vmanuelgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    298

    I don't have the CocaCola formula for your rig. U read my posts??? U have to test yourself in your rig several combinations of frequency-timings-voltage overclock trying to get stability.

    I right now can say some of your timings are not proportional, so u can go to OC.NET and enter the memory stability thread to see pics of other mates' memory overclocks, so that u can copy and test them in your rig.

    I am not an Asus Fanboy, I said not long ago here and at OC.NET RTLs and IOLs autotuning is quite odd in this board, so is the unability to force RTLs and IOLs. But after testing thorougly the board, I am in the position to say that if u find the right match for your components, u will be able to stabilize them.

    Try to calm down, it is not worth it!!!

    Omega, 7980xe, G.Skill 3600, 2080Ti, SM951 256, 970 PRO, 860 EVO
    Intel 750, WD SN750 Black, 840 Pro, 2xSkyhawk 4TB, 7200.14, 207EBK
    EVGA T2 1600, Silverstone TJ11, Custom LC. @Acer Predator x34

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Thumbs up

    So i ended up getting some of this ram Gskill TridentZ RGB F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR which is on the QVL list for this Encore motherboard and can't get it to boot with it either unless i set it at 3200 or 3400MHz, i'll give a little time to see if they come up with some bios fixes for this board but as of right now its a big failure as far as i'm concerned with any high frequency ram. I don't know maybe things will work better with a 10xxx series cpu but until i get one i won't know.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •