Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Issues with C7H bios 3004 1.0.0.4 patch B

    So I have a 3900x paired with the C7H board and since I updated to the latest bios, now my cores never go to sleep unless I revert back to the previous version. I made sure to update windows and also the chipset drivers. I am currently using the Ryzen Performance power plan, I also tried the Balanced plan but that didnt seem to make any difference either. I tried the update about a month ago on the bios, and it actually hurt my performance in benchmarks so I just reverted back. After AMD released the new chipset drivers I decided to give it another try, and now my scores are at least as good/better so it appears the chipset update did fix the performance issues I was having previously. Im not sure what I need to change to get the cores to start sleeping again, perhaps there is something in the bios which I am missing?

    TIA

    Specs:
    Ryzen 3900x
    C7H
    Team group B-die 3200mhz 14-14-14-31(DOCP enabled)
    Zotac 1080ti
    Samsung 970 evo boot drive
    Evga 850 G3 psu

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Baio73 PC Specs
    Baio73 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VIII Formula 2701 beta
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 3900XT
    Memory (part number)4x8 G.Skill F4-4000C17D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire RX 5700 XT
    MonitorLG 34GK950F
    Storage #1Samsung 980PRO nVme 512Gb
    Storage #2ADATA SX8200PNP NVMe 2Tb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Pro RGB
    CaseLian Li 011D XL
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Logitech G513
    Mouse Logitech G903 + Powerplay
    Headset G933 Artemis Spectrum
    Mouse Pad Logitech G840 XL
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G560
    OS Windows 10 64bit
    Network RouterLynksys EA6500
    Accessory #1 Corsair Commander Pro
    Accessory #2 10xCorsair QL120 RGB fan

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    135

    Which software do you use to monitor if the cores go to sleep?

    Baio
    CASE Lian Li 011D XL CPU AMD Ryzen 3900XT COOLER Corsair H150i Pro RGB MOBO Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Formula RAM 4x8 G.Skill F4-4000C17D-16GTZR PSU Corsair AX860i VGA Sapphire RX 5700 XT DISPLAY LG 34GK950GF AUDIO Logitech G560 SDD Samsung 970PRO NVVe 512Gb - ADATA SX8200PNP NVMe 2Tb NPUT Logitech G903 + Powerplay - G513

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Ryzen Master

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Baio73 PC Specs
    Baio73 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VIII Formula 2701 beta
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 3900XT
    Memory (part number)4x8 G.Skill F4-4000C17D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire RX 5700 XT
    MonitorLG 34GK950F
    Storage #1Samsung 980PRO nVme 512Gb
    Storage #2ADATA SX8200PNP NVMe 2Tb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Pro RGB
    CaseLian Li 011D XL
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Logitech G513
    Mouse Logitech G903 + Powerplay
    Headset G933 Artemis Spectrum
    Mouse Pad Logitech G840 XL
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G560
    OS Windows 10 64bit
    Network RouterLynksys EA6500
    Accessory #1 Corsair Commander Pro
    Accessory #2 10xCorsair QL120 RGB fan

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    135

    Quote Originally Posted by Sirshillbucks View Post
    Ryzen Master
    Ok, so you are using the right one.
    Do you have any other monitoring software installed? Or did you install some new software along with the 3004 BIOS?
    In my system I had the same issue and finally discovered that Corsair's iCue prevents the cores from going into sleep, if I close it, they sleep correctly.

    Baio
    CASE Lian Li 011D XL CPU AMD Ryzen 3900XT COOLER Corsair H150i Pro RGB MOBO Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Formula RAM 4x8 G.Skill F4-4000C17D-16GTZR PSU Corsair AX860i VGA Sapphire RX 5700 XT DISPLAY LG 34GK950GF AUDIO Logitech G560 SDD Samsung 970PRO NVVe 512Gb - ADATA SX8200PNP NVMe 2Tb NPUT Logitech G903 + Powerplay - G513

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    103
    Posts
    1,017

    Sirshillbucks I'd agree with Baio73, check any SW you have running in the background.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Power Plan.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	490.0 KB 
ID:	83977

    Also make sure on Advanced page of UEFI, AMD CBS > CPU Common Options > Global C-States Control set to [Enabled].
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Thanks guys, yeah I tried killing icue but it still wasnt sleeping so I just killed every single app I could find running in the background and then some of the cores started sleeping. Usually only like 1 or 2 though, which Im used to almost half or more sleeping while the pc is "idling" with those apps in the background. I guess this latest update just isnt as aggressive with the sleeping cores, but Im cool with that. Thanks again, glad it turned out to be fine!

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array liakou PC Specs
    liakou PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero X470
    ProcessorRyzen 3900x
    Memory (part number)G.Skill TridentZ Neo 32GB 3600C16
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix Vega 64
    MonitorSamsung Odyssey G7 32
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 1TB+500GB
    CPU CoolerArctic Liquid Freezer II 360
    CaseCoolermaster H500M
    Power SupplyCorsair RMi 850
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G PRO Wireless
    Headset Corsair VOID Pro
    Mouse Pad Logitech Powerplay
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G560
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterZTE ZXHN H168N VDSL2 + ASUS RT-AC86U
    liakou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    73

    To effectivelly kill iCue and check your cores apart from closing it you need to kill both related processes in the task manager "Corsair.Service.CpuIdRemote64.exe" & "Corsair.Service.exe".
    I have a long term experience with iCue because it was always the reason that kept my 3900X's cores active on idle. In particular the 1st process that I mention here, needs to be killed almost at the same time with the 2nd as it tends to revive Corsair.Service.exe after you kill it, thus keeping the cores still active. Give it a try.
    For me it was the only way for my cores to be able to sleep, until I eventually got rid of my Corsair AIO and iCue as well and all is fine now. I even have Logitech's GHUB controlling 4 different devices and RGB lights and my CPU sleeps tight.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •