Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 43
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array SlackROG PC Specs
    SlackROG PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX 16GB DDR4 2133 C13
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1060 06G-P4-6262-KR
    Sound CardMotherboard - Onboard
    MonitorMSI Optix G24C
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro SSD 128GB
    Storage #2Samsung 840 Pro SSD 128GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U14S
    CaseFractal Design Meshify
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 550 G3
    Keyboard Kingston HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
    Mouse Kingston HyperX Pulsefire
    Mouse Pad Kingston HyperX
    OS Slackware 14.2 x64 & Windows 10 x64
    SlackROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    287

    Disable CSM - Boot Windows 7 x64?

    I tried to disabled CSM in the bios of 2202, but when I try to start Win7 it just restarts...

    Is it possible to disable CSM and boot Win7 x64?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    Don't know if it's possible

    But, assuming Windows would boot properly, what advantage would you gain from disabling CSM?
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array SlackROG PC Specs
    SlackROG PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX 16GB DDR4 2133 C13
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1060 06G-P4-6262-KR
    Sound CardMotherboard - Onboard
    MonitorMSI Optix G24C
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro SSD 128GB
    Storage #2Samsung 840 Pro SSD 128GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U14S
    CaseFractal Design Meshify
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 550 G3
    Keyboard Kingston HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
    Mouse Kingston HyperX Pulsefire
    Mouse Pad Kingston HyperX
    OS Slackware 14.2 x64 & Windows 10 x64
    SlackROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    287

    Hi Korth,

    Well for starters I was looking at this from Linux, since I dual boot.

    With CSM enabled you get this in Linux logs;

    Your system is not currently configured to drive a VGA console on the primary VGA device. The NVIDIA Linux graphics driver requires the use of a text-mode VGA console. Use of other console drivers including, but not limited to, vesafb, may result in corruption and stability problems, and is not supported.

    If I disable CSM this goes away, so for Linux I was happy about that, first mission accomplished LOL...

    Next I was able to boot Win10 with CSM disabled, so I know it's not my hardware, and I read online that others are doing it.

    I remember that in rufus I had it set to the mbr/gpt settings, so I just went back to rufus and installed Win7 this time as only the uefi/gpt mode and I noticed the install completed looking different, creating the bootx64.efi which I didn't have before, I added it in manually before, so maybe now it's going to work.

    Off to try and boot this new usb format I did, will report back on how it goes...

    I thought disabling CSM kills off Legacy since it's not needed, improving performance and speed...

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array SlackROG PC Specs
    SlackROG PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX 16GB DDR4 2133 C13
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1060 06G-P4-6262-KR
    Sound CardMotherboard - Onboard
    MonitorMSI Optix G24C
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro SSD 128GB
    Storage #2Samsung 840 Pro SSD 128GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U14S
    CaseFractal Design Meshify
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 550 G3
    Keyboard Kingston HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
    Mouse Kingston HyperX Pulsefire
    Mouse Pad Kingston HyperX
    OS Slackware 14.2 x64 & Windows 10 x64
    SlackROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    287

    AHHH it just reboots...

    So I can't get this working...

    Hmm

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    616

    Quote Originally Posted by SlackROG View Post
    I tried to disabled CSM in the bios of 2202, but when I try to start Win7 it just restarts...

    Is it possible to disable CSM and boot Win7 x64?
    isn't CSM (compatibility support module) the other word for secure boot?
    • CSM = enable legacy support, or in other words, bios detects devices and tries to boot whatever it finds with MBR
    • CSM being enabled means secure boot = off?


    i don't think i've tried installing windows 7 with CSM disabled (there's no option for Secure boot on CHVF-Z). but first, a little backstory:
    when i bought this board (2013?), if i remember it correctly, the board comes with CSM = Enabled as default. the crosshair V formula Z isn't a full system upgrade, per se, but rather a incremental purchase. i bought the board and also the FX cpu to replace the previous MSI board that died. you know the feeling when you got a new board, and just wanted to work on it asap, to get everything up and running? yeah that.

    over the years, i tried software raid based on how-to-geek's guide (i used mirror mode), and finding out that if a power drop happens, the dual 6tb spends hours syncing. i think it was around the time i joined this ASUS forum that i started experimenting with hardware raid (creating, breaking, recreating arrays, trying out different install modes) like a madman. anybody remembered digging though AMD drivers to find that RaidXpert install files? since the RaidXpert that came with the motherboard is pretty much outdated.

    remembering back, i think i might have tried to get Windows 7 installed on UEFI mode (secure boot, CSM disabled, UEFI), and failing, and spending hours trying to figure out why. turns out, that was because my ASUS Radeon 6950 wasn't UEFI compatible. this dawned upon me when i opened GPU-Z.

    but hey, if it works, why bother tinkering, eh? (you might think. but i wasn't satisfied. and there's no way i'd buy a new GPU just to test installing Windows on UEFI mode). fast forward a couple of years and windows 10 comes as a free upgrade, and coupled up with me having purchased a R9 290X (with proper UEFI support), and that enabled me to try UEFI. but everything was running so fine! i was zealous when it comes to my OS' cleanliness and stability so i didn't feel the need for a reinstall.

    i think it was when i purchased this Samsung SSD and failing to clone it properly. contrary to popular belief, Samsung SSD migration tool don't go a good job at all when cloning from a HDD to SSD. i found myself the need to break my RAID 1 OS array, thinking to myself: am i gonna break stuff and my clean OS go up in smoke? fingers crossed when i finally hit the break array button. luckily it worked fine. the cloning to SSD went without a hitch. it was until i got back into OS loaded from SSD that i felt something was off. in disk optimizer view, the OS drive is labeled as HDD. i saw the Optimize button, i had a bad feeling about it, but pressed it anyway.

    i skipped a heartbeat when it actually tried to defragment. it was also the time i decided a proper reformat and reinstall was in order.

    I remember that in rufus I had it set to the mbr/gpt settings, so I just went back to rufus and installed Win7 this time as only the uefi/gpt mode and I noticed the install completed looking different, creating the bootx64.efi which I didn't have before, I added it in manually before, so maybe now it's going to work.
    heh, fellow rufus user. hello.
    Rufus > windows media creation tool, any day!

    anyway, continuing on. perhaps, i haven't actually encountered your problem (installing windows 7 on uefi), though for some reason, i think i might have tried this on someone else's computer if not on my own. people look for me to fix their PC (pfft). i don't charge money for it, but i'm one grumpy teacher, i'd lecture them on things they shouldn't install, things they should be doing to keep their system clean, etc. i think there maybe one instance where i fix this guy's PC, using the experimental Creator's update feature (MBR2GPT), explaining to in advance him the risk(s) involved since i would have no idea what might happen because his Graphics card isn't UEFI ready. funnily, it worked.

    the mystery remains to this date why his system worked. i handmade his Windows10 USB though using rufus. in fact, i carried two USBs when going over to his place to fix it, one Windows USB (MBR), one Windows GPT install. (i used the GPT install usb).

    god, it's getting too long again. sorry, got carried away again.


    tl;dr: i think you may need to actually reinstall windows on UEFI/ GPT environment, make sure the disk where you'd like windows is installed to is formatted as GPT, check and remove any leftover MBR partition.

    i'm hoping your linux isn't on the same physical drive as where you'd want windows to be (if you're going to dualboot), and whether you'd want to choose to extract linux bootloader into Windows, letting windows handle dual booting (BCDedit), or just let GRUB2 handle the bootlader.


    Question: Linux is happy with UEFI now? last i tried linux (ubuntu variant), it wasn't happy with UEFI.
    Last edited by haihane; 11-08-2017 at 01:37 AM. Reason: not the magician software, but the migration tool
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array ThrashZone PC Specs
    ThrashZone PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS z490 maximus XII Apex 2nd x299 Rampage VI Apex
    Processori9-10900k & i9-9940x
    Memory (part number)Trident-Z 3600c16 2nd Trident-Z 3600C16 both Samsung B-Dies
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080ti FTW3 water block 2nd Titan Xp copper water block
    MonitorAOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz & ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
    Storage #12-Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2 & 2.5" ssd's 850 pro's for os 850 evo for games
    Storage #22-LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
    CPU Cooler2-240GTX with Heatkiller-4-Pro/ vrm water block Both&x299 2-280GTX 2-D5's before and after rads
    Case2- Corsair 450D with second floors for 240GTX & 280GTX rads enclosed and filtered on top
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000P2 2nd EVGA 1200P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum 2nd Logitech G710+
    Mouse 2-Red dragon Perdition
    OS Win-7 & win-10 pro on both systems Win-7 everyday os
    Accessory #1 Optimus Foundation copper plexi 2nd Optimus SigV2
    Accessory #2 ModmyMods clear coolant
    Accessory #3 ModMyMods 3/8-5/8" clear soft tubing/ MORA 360 Pro x2
    ThrashZone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    389

    Hi,
    Not exactly sure why you'd want to disable CSM ?
    Which enables compatibilty legacy mode for yes win-7 to be installed.

    Fast start on the other had can and should be disabled.
    Secure boot should also be disable
    Also by switching OS Type to Other OS
    Then Key Management which is secure boot and Clear secure boot keys then finally secure boot will show as disabled.

    A windows update confirmed switching to Other OS a while back
    http://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1016356/

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array SlackROG PC Specs
    SlackROG PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX 16GB DDR4 2133 C13
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1060 06G-P4-6262-KR
    Sound CardMotherboard - Onboard
    MonitorMSI Optix G24C
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro SSD 128GB
    Storage #2Samsung 840 Pro SSD 128GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U14S
    CaseFractal Design Meshify
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 550 G3
    Keyboard Kingston HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
    Mouse Kingston HyperX Pulsefire
    Mouse Pad Kingston HyperX
    OS Slackware 14.2 x64 & Windows 10 x64
    SlackROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    287

    @haihane, I didn't just read that you tried to defrag an SSD did I? LOL Cause if I did, you don't defrag an SSD.

    From what I read Windows 7 only supports UEFI 2, which is why supposedly I can't get it installed, and need CSM enabled.

    @ThrashZone, Secure Boot from my understanding has nothing to do with getting Win7 installed, or working with EFI.

    The disk is GPT partition... So not sure why I need to disable Secure Boot since the BIOS is set as Other OS and everything boots up fine, I don't see that Secure Boot is getting in the way of anything.

    Yes Linux is on the same drive, different partition of course...

    GRUB works just fine dual booting and Linux works easy/great with EFI.

  8. #8

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array SlackROG PC Specs
    SlackROG PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX 16GB DDR4 2133 C13
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1060 06G-P4-6262-KR
    Sound CardMotherboard - Onboard
    MonitorMSI Optix G24C
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro SSD 128GB
    Storage #2Samsung 840 Pro SSD 128GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U14S
    CaseFractal Design Meshify
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 550 G3
    Keyboard Kingston HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
    Mouse Kingston HyperX Pulsefire
    Mouse Pad Kingston HyperX
    OS Slackware 14.2 x64 & Windows 10 x64
    SlackROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    287

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Windows 7 requires CSM.
    Because it only supports UEFI 2 is my understanding?

    I wonder how much work would be involved to bring it up to newer standards to get this working?

    Hmm

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,254

    No idea what UEFI 2 is.

    As far as I know, you can only disable CSM when installing Windows 8 and forward.

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •