Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array pinkfloyd1173 PC Specs
    pinkfloyd1173 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog Maximus XI (Wi-Fi)Z390
    ProcessorIntel i9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsiar Dominator Platinum RGB 32GB 3200MHZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra Overclocked
    MonitorAsus Swift PG279QZ
    Storage #11 v-NAND SSD 970 PRO 2 TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i Pro RGB
    CaseCOOL MASTER MC500P
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-AX88u

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    Question about M.2 nvme ssd on ROG MAXIMUS XI HERO (WI-FI)

    Hey guys so I have a question about my old m.2 ssd.

    I replaced my old m.2 with a new one today, I had my old m.2 on the bottom slot of my mobo. I decided to add the new one to the top slot and the old one on the bottom slot, like before.

    Well for me to not get confused on what m.2 is where, I decided to remove the old m.2, until I had the new m.2 with windows 10 on it in the top slot.

    So everything went well with the new install, no issues. I went forth and put back my old m.2 in the bottom slot like before and reformat it once I booted back up in to windows.

    Well I reformatted the old m.2 drive, no issues there.

    Once I got back in too the bios I noticed that both m.2 are named windows boot drives???

    I was trying to see if I could rename it but could not find anything like that in the bios. As I was seraching in the bios, by acceident booted back up on the old m.2 drive.

    It started to do it thing, no way to stop it. It finally came to the windows blue screen of trouble shooting. I think you guy know what I am talking about.

    What I am trying to figure out is

    1. Can I rename the old m.2 in the bios menu, in windows I all ready renamed it no issues there.

    2. Is windows 10 still on my old m.2 drive even after I formatted it in windows??

    Any advice and help would be appreciated.

    Thanks in advance guys.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 20200213_181955.jpg  


  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    60
    Posts
    226

    The MBR still resides on the old drive. Even if windows is gone the MBR is what the BIOS looks for.
    One booted on correct new drive open up disk management and delete all the partitions on the old drive. Easier to do with app like acronis disk director. Or just wipe it in the BIOS under tools tab.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array pinkfloyd1173 PC Specs
    pinkfloyd1173 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog Maximus XI (Wi-Fi)Z390
    ProcessorIntel i9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsiar Dominator Platinum RGB 32GB 3200MHZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra Overclocked
    MonitorAsus Swift PG279QZ
    Storage #11 v-NAND SSD 970 PRO 2 TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i Pro RGB
    CaseCOOL MASTER MC500P
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-AX88u

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    Hey thanks for the reply.

    I know there is a option in the bios tools to wipe it clean.
    But I remember reading somewhere that it does not support Nvme drives?

    Will try the other option.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array Pavoluhliarik PC Specs
    Pavoluhliarik PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Hero
    ProcessorCore i9 9900k @ 5GHZ (XMP) 1.290 V
    Memory (part number)Kingston predator HX430C15PB3K2/32
    Graphics Card #1Asus Rog Strix 2018ti oc
    Sound Cardon board
    MonitorAsus PG279Q Gaming Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 970 evo 250Gb-os
    Storage #2Samsung 970 evo 1TB-games
    CPU CoolerBe quiet 240 water cooling
    CaseEvga dg 84
    Power SupplyCorsair HX 1200w platinum
    OS Windows 10 pro 64b
    Network RouterMikrotik RB962UiGS-5HacT2HnT
    Accessory #1 Online UPS PS 30N

    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    In Bios, in tool / Asus secure erase, format the disk as new and then update it in windows to manage it so that windows can see it.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	secure.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	144.1 KB 
ID:	84063
    Last edited by Pavoluhliarik; 02-14-2020 at 10:21 AM.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Arrow

    Quote Originally Posted by Pavoluhliarik View Post
    Open the TOOL item in the bios, then Asus secure erase and delete it there and then update it in the window.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	secure.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	144.1 KB 
ID:	84063
    nice

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array pinkfloyd1173 PC Specs
    pinkfloyd1173 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog Maximus XI (Wi-Fi)Z390
    ProcessorIntel i9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsiar Dominator Platinum RGB 32GB 3200MHZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra Overclocked
    MonitorAsus Swift PG279QZ
    Storage #11 v-NAND SSD 970 PRO 2 TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i Pro RGB
    CaseCOOL MASTER MC500P
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-AX88u

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    Hey guys thanks for your help on this got everything up and running.

    Thanks again.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •