Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7 8 LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 75
  1. #61
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Cpu U still fairly high hitting 90 to 100 Celsius!

    Nice one bro, alright for some lol my pc was running fine until i updated bios 3006 now i cant seem to put it right

  2. #62
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Super Gnome PC Specs
    Super Gnome PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme Omega / ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-9980XE / AMD 3950x
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX Vengeance DDR4 2666MHz 128 GB / Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB DDR4-3200 32GB DDR4 3200MH
    Graphics Card #1Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    Graphics Card #2Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    MonitorJAPANNEXT JN-VT500UHD 4K 50-inch LCD
    Storage #1Crucial MX500 1 TB / Sabient SB-ROCKET-NVMe4-500
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB / ADATA XPG SX5500 Pro 3D NAND NVMe Gen3x4 PCIe M.2
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360 / NZXT Kraken X62
    CaseThermaltake View 71 TG / Thermaltake View 31
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AXi Series, AX1600i 1600 watt / Thermaltake Toughpower iRGB 1200 watt
    Accessory #1 Noctua 140mm 3000 RPM x 4 / Noctua 140 mm 3000 RPM x 2
    Accessory #2 Gigabyte GC-A 2WAY NVLINK RGB (3-slot) / ROG NVLINK Bridge 3-Slot A

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    398

    Quote Originally Posted by newbie2021 View Post
    Nice one bro, alright for some lol my pc was running fine until i updated bios 3006 now i cant seem to put it right
    I had a whole whack of issues start in late January or February. I have sorted them all out since, but before going into detail, it is strange that going back to the earlier BIOS did not fix the temperature issue--because others with the same problem (me too) had the problem go away when they went back to the old BIOS.

    It sounds like there is a new issue unrelated to the BIOS now. It makes sense that any new issue would have to do with something you did. However, my computer was getting blue screens until using the Windows refresh tool to reinstall Windows. But after that, my system was suddenly restarting at times--but that issue was fixed with the latest chipset driver.

    Is your motherboard an Omega version?

  3. #63
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    My Motherboard is a rog strix x299 E-gaming, last night, I Unplugged the power cable, and removed the battery from the motherboard for 60 seconds while holding the power button for 60 seconds witch i read resets the bios to factory settings, then i put the battery back in place on the motherboard and connect the power cable and rebooted and enabled the c state in cpu config, and went into q-fan and turned cpu fan from stable to turbo speed, and noticed my temps are between 48 Celsius and 60 Celsius while playing music and browsing the internet, when i play a game my temp is 70 Celsius, so i can only assume since the resetting of the bios and turning my cpu fan to turbo, that my temps are a lot better, i will apply the thermal paste tomorrow and report back with my temps.

  4. #64
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    So, through testing, I confirmed that the C state thing seems to be unrelated to speed shift not working correctly. With the C states configured that way it does drop the ratio on cores, but the threshold to do that is significantly lower than what speedshift should be working at based on how my CPU used to work. Asus "engineers" have also not suggested doing anything with C states and in our latest correspondence I specifically mentioned that messing with them seemed to produce some effect, they did not even reply to this part of my video that I sent to them so I assume they thought it was unrelated or not relevant.


    What they did say is that speed shift is not working because I'm in "sync all cores" mode, note it also doesn't work in by specific core, but whatever. They said it works in auto. Except it also doesn't and in auto my CPU doesn't go UP to its rated clock speeds, I have a 7820X and in auto it only goes up to 4.1~, even on relatively single-threaded workloads. The auto setting is completely irrelevant though because as I said before I ran by specific core just fine before this bios version and speedshift worked in that configuration, which it doesn't now.

    I am also noticing higher temps in by specific core, which is the reason why I'm in sync all cores now, but I haven't had enough time to dig into why the by specific core temps are so much hotter.

    Also, my latest correspondence included this gem:

    "The frequency of light cannot be determined."

    That's all the context that was given, so if anyone has any idea what that means, feel free to clue me in. I'm getting very frustrated by asus on this one, my motherboard has no way to revert its bios without RMAing and we're in the middle of a quarantine in which I need this computer to work from home.

    I also showed them this thread and they said it's not relevant because the X299 Mark Tuf 1 (not my motherboard, note, I have a mark 2) is not the same as the X299 Rampage VI. Yes, I understand they are right, they are slightly different motherboards, but the fact that they're both X299 and both running the same bios version makes it pretty clear they're extremely similar.

    For the record, the frequency of light can absolutely be determined, that's literally what we see as color.
    Last edited by Alex6511; 05-13-2020 at 05:30 PM.

  5. #65
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array restsugavan PC Specs
    restsugavan PC Specs
    MotherboardRAMPAGE VI EXTREME BIOS 3301 MOD
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 7980XE 2.60GHz
    Memory (part number)64GB GSKILL 3.2 GHz 16-16-18-36 2T
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG POSEIDON 1080Ti
    MonitorSAMSUNG ODESSEY G9 49
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS 1TB x 3
    Storage #2WD 4TB External HDD
    CPU CoolerNZXT KRAKEN 62
    CaseCorsair Carbine 540
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Microsoft
    Mouse Microsoft
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Sony
    OS Windows 10 2021 Insider Preview 21318.1000
    Network RouterD-LINK
    restsugavan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    75
    Posts
    633

    It's maybe coming from new method of Intel Turbo Boost Max 3.0 all mates. Since Intel discovered that Intel Turbo Boost Max 3.0 app
    cause some vulnerable to its CPU series here https://www.intel.com/content/www/us...-sa-00243.html.

    Intel and Microsoft agreement to bring its next revision of Intel Turbo Boost Max 3.0 app inside Windows OS kernel as service process.
    When you use new Windows Version such as 1909 or 2004. It'll auto overclock to what Intel recommended speed of each CPU SKUs.
    Just like my 7980XE will be automatic running at max turbo boost 2.0 and 3.0 ( 4.2GHz and 4.4GHz ) as picture belows.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	W10196241000A3.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	532.9 KB 
ID:	84871

    The OS does it even we choose F5 Load Optimized Default via BIOS. I'd report to Microsoft last week. They'd fixing these
    via lastest build 19628.1 today. They'll update to normal Windows soon.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	W1019628A3.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	508.3 KB 
ID:	84872
    Core i9 7980XE/R6E 3301 BIOS/Intel 02006B05 MCU 2021-01-15/VROC 7.5.0.1990/RST 18.35.0.4635/ME FW 11.12.82.1838 DV 2102.100.0.1044/64GB GSKILL/POSEIDON 1080i GTX + NVIDIA Driver 465.51 WHQL/3TB SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS + OMS Driver 18.31.2.1034 WHQL/Windows 10 Build 21318.1000/i219 V OROM 0.1.00/BA 0.1.16/12.19.1.32 WHQL AQC 107n FW 4.2.32 + AQC 2.2.2.0 WHQL/CAM 4.20.0/Realtek HD 6.0.9102.1 WHQL/SAMSUNG ODYSSEY G9 49

  6. #66
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by restsugavan View Post
    It's maybe coming from new method of Intel Turbo Boost Max 3.0 all mates. Since Intel discovered that Intel Turbo Boost Max 3.0 app
    cause some vulnerable to its CPU series here https://www.intel.com/content/www/us...-sa-00243.html.

    Intel and Microsoft agreement to bring its next revision of Intel Turbo Boost Max 3.0 app inside Windows OS kernel as service process.
    When you use new Windows Version such as 1909 or 2004. It'll auto overclock to what Intel recommended speed of each CPU SKUs.
    Just like my 7980XE will be automatic running at max turbo boost 2.0 and 3.0 ( 4.2GHz and 4.4GHz ) as picture belows.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	W10196241000A3.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	532.9 KB 
ID:	84871

    The OS does it even we choose F5 Load Optimized Default via BIOS. I'd report to Microsoft last week. They'd fixing these
    via lastest build 19628.1 today. They'll update to normal Windows soon.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	W1019628A3.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	508.3 KB 
ID:	84872
    I'm on 1909 18363.836 and when setting to optimized defaults my CPU never went above 4.0, so unless it's not in this build then I think there's something wrong.

    Question for you though, when you go into services.msc do you see the intel turbo boost 3.0 service? Is it running. Additionally, in details of task manager, do you see itbmsys or in device manager the intel turbo boost 3.0 driver? In the other thread about removing the ITBM there are people recommending deleting the service, so I'm somewhat confused.

    In other news, I played around with manual voltage a lot and noticed auto was applying way more than the required amount of voltage for any load, in one case a core was at 1.219 in auto with a ratio of 43, when on manual 1.115 (all core) I can get stable at a ratio of 44, provided I use avx offsets to low my avx ratio to 40.

    EDIT: I'm actually in the insider program but had insider builds disabled, I've signed up so I can test newer builds but I'm out of time to test tonight.
    Last edited by Alex6511; 05-14-2020 at 04:51 AM.

  7. #67
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array tistou77 PC Specs
    tistou77 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme Encore
    Processor10980XE @4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorDell U2417H
    Storage #1Intel Optane 905P PCIe
    Storage #2Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    CPU CoolerWatercooling
    CaseLian Li A77F
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech LIK
    Mouse Logitech MX revolution
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    tistou77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    109
    Posts
    1,637

    With W10 1909 and 2004 and bios 3006, no ITB service and no ITB device in device manager
    Present with bios 2004
    Sorry for my english


    Case: Lian Li A77F
    MB: Rampage VI Extreme Encore
    CPU: i9 10980XE
    RAM: G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    GPU: EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    OS: Intel Optane 905P PCIe
    DATA: Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    SOUND: Asus Xonar Phoebus

  8. #68
    New ROGer Array H-de PC Specs
    H-de PC Specs
    MotherboardWS-X299-PRO
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-10900X
    Memory (part number)KHX3200C16D4/4GX
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080 XC Ultra Gaming
    Sound CardHyperX(USB)
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U9S
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 White
    Power SupplyCooler Master v750
    Keyboard HyperX FPS Blue-Switches
    Mouse Zowie FK1
    Headset HyperX Cloud 2
    Mouse Pad QCK+
    OS WIndows 10 Build 2004
    H-de's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    36

    since first BIOS rev. i enabled native Turbo Boost 3.0 in the BIOS and not Software.
    Software sided TB 3.0 was always crap in last Gens


    ASUS always set Voltage for 5.0GHz if you OC.
    e.g you set allcore 4.7GHz the BIOS will enable the Voltage Table for 5.0GHz.
    and thats waaaaaaaaay to much
    So i need to reduce voltage up to -0.070 offset.
    But i can't go lower, because with Cascade lake adaptive voltage will also decrease idle voltage

    idle:

    Default


    Adaptive voltage -0.070


    if i go lower bluescreen due to less voltage in lower Clock states

    im actually not sure why ASUS dit that.
    anyone can answer that?

    I wish we could reduce Turbo Voltage and not just increasing :/
    Last edited by H-de; 05-14-2020 at 11:24 AM.

  9. #69
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by H-de View Post
    since first BIOS rev. i enabled native Turbo Boost 3.0 in the BIOS and not Software.
    Software sided TB 3.0 was always crap in last Gens


    ASUS always set Voltage for 5.0GHz if you OC.
    e.g you set allcore 4.7GHz the BIOS will enable the Voltage Table for 5.0GHz.
    and thats waaaaaaaaay to much
    So i need to reduce voltage up to -0.070 offset.
    But i can't go lower, because with Cascade lake adaptive voltage will also decrease idle voltage

    idle:

    Default


    Adaptive voltage -0.070


    if i go lower bluescreen due to less voltage in lower Clock states

    im actually not sure why ASUS dit that.
    anyone can answer that?

    I wish we could reduce Turbo Voltage and not just increasing :/
    This is the same situation I've found myself in, I want to lower my turbo voltage only, but using an offset makes me unstable at idle, can't even boot into windows with the offset it would need (it's like -0.105 to -0.200 or something).

    I've settled for manual voltage for now because speed shift still doesn't seem to be as aggressive as it used to, if it's working at all, so it stays at max clocks most of the time anyway , guess I just eat the increased power at idle.


    I'm planning on switching to the next gen ryzen when they come out and moving this cpu over to a server machine, with that on the horizon and all this weirdness I'm getting on this Asus board im having a hard time deciding what motherboard I'm going to go with.

  10. #70
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Hey everyone.


    Simply opening and closing throttlestop, making zero modifications, seems to completely fix the issue with speedshift for that boot. If you notice some of your cores getting "stuck" on a certain frequency, check the EPP checkbox and change the number a bit then put it back and uncheck it.


    My temps are still crazy but I've decided to move on from this problem, I guess I just get stupidly high temps now, even on a nd-h15.

Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7 8 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •