Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 73
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array tistou77 PC Specs
    tistou77 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme Encore
    Processor10980XE @4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorDell U2417H
    Storage #1Intel Optane 905P PCIe
    Storage #2Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    CPU CoolerWatercooling
    CaseLian Li A77F
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech LIK
    Mouse Logitech MX revolution
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    tistou77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    103
    Posts
    1,585

    New bios 3006 for Rampage VI Extreme

    New bios for Rampage VI Extreme

    ROG RAMPAGE VI EXTREME BIOS 3006
    Improve system performance and stability
    Improve DRAM stability
    Update RC code for new CPU
    Update ME FW
    Update IRST and RSTe driver
    Fix AURA issue when using Intel thunderbolt devices.
    Fix some M.2 device detect issue
    Sorry for my english


    Case: Lian Li A77F
    MB: Rampage VI Extreme Encore
    CPU: i9 10980XE
    RAM: G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    GPU: EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    OS: Intel Optane 905P PCIe
    DATA: Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    SOUND: Asus Xonar Phoebus

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array tistou77 PC Specs
    tistou77 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme Encore
    Processor10980XE @4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorDell U2417H
    Storage #1Intel Optane 905P PCIe
    Storage #2Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    CPU CoolerWatercooling
    CaseLian Li A77F
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech LIK
    Mouse Logitech MX revolution
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    tistou77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    103
    Posts
    1,585

    Following the update of this bios, I had to reinstall the NVidia drivers, I don't know why
    And I have a missing driver in the device manager (linked to ACPI it seems)

    Do you have the same ?

    Windows takes a little longer to boot compared to 2002 and the Last Bios time (startup tab in task manager) is not reset to 0 with a reboot (not very important but I looked at it to see the boot time)

    In the bios, there is a new option "Boot Sector (MBR / GPT) Recovery Policy"
    What is this option for ?
    Last edited by tistou77; 02-15-2020 at 09:06 PM.
    Sorry for my english


    Case: Lian Li A77F
    MB: Rampage VI Extreme Encore
    CPU: i9 10980XE
    RAM: G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    GPU: EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    OS: Intel Optane 905P PCIe
    DATA: Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    SOUND: Asus Xonar Phoebus

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array G75rog PC Specs
    G75rog PC Specs
    MotherboardR VI Apex
    ProcessorI9-7900X
    Memory (part number)64GB Gskill Trident Z
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon VII EKWB water block
    Graphics Card #2Waste of PCI lanes in NVME environment
    Sound CardStock
    MonitorLG 34" Ultra Wide3440x1440
    Storage #14ea 960 Pro 2TB, 2ea 970 Evo 2TB
    Storage #21ea 960 Pro 1 TB, 1ea 970 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB CPU, Swiftech Res/pump, 400mm Rad
    CaseThermaltake View 91
    Power SupplyNZXT Hale 90 1200W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    OS W10 64 1809, 1903, Ubuntu Linux
    Network RouterNetgear R9000 + 4ea R9000 AP's, 10 Gb Switch
    Accessory #1 Hyper M.2 X16 V2
    Accessory #2 10GB network via Intel 550 Nic
    Accessory #3 2 10GB Asustor NAS 7000 series

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    264

    On my Apex it disabled the first OS drive on the HyperX16 card in slot 1.
    Booting from the secondary OS drive on the HYperX16 I found it also disabled the 10GB Intel Nic in slot 4.
    Reverted to previous bios in order to recover the system.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array tistou77 PC Specs
    tistou77 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme Encore
    Processor10980XE @4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorDell U2417H
    Storage #1Intel Optane 905P PCIe
    Storage #2Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    CPU CoolerWatercooling
    CaseLian Li A77F
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech LIK
    Mouse Logitech MX revolution
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    tistou77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    103
    Posts
    1,585

    Ok, too bad...

    For the missing driver, it would be the "ACPI Wake Alarm" (new device, for ???)
    Last edited by tistou77; 02-16-2020 at 07:34 AM.
    Sorry for my english


    Case: Lian Li A77F
    MB: Rampage VI Extreme Encore
    CPU: i9 10980XE
    RAM: G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    GPU: EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    OS: Intel Optane 905P PCIe
    DATA: Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    SOUND: Asus Xonar Phoebus

  5. #5
    ROG Junior Member Array Andy PC Specs
    Andy PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Rampage VI Extreme Omega
    ProcessorIntel i9 9980xe
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX 4x16 3 GHz
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1080 TI
    Sound CardCreative SoundBlaster ZXR
    MonitorSamsung S27B970D
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo 2TB
    CaseCorsair 900d
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra 1KW
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64

    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Has anyone else noticed changes in how speedstep and turbo boost work? With firmware optimized defaults loaded windows task manager reports a constant 3.00 GHz speed no matter what the processor load. HWInfo64 however, shows that it seems to be working ok. also, in control panel > power options > CPU Power management i only have the cooling policy option and not the 2 other options to change min and max percentages as before. (bios 0802)

    My system by the way is 9980xe with Rampage 6 Extreme Omega 64gb corsair LPX and windows 10 pro 1909.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Super Gnome PC Specs
    Super Gnome PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme Omega / ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-9980XE / AMD 3950x
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX Vengeance DDR4 2666MHz 128 GB / Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB DDR4-3200 32GB DDR4 3200MH
    Graphics Card #1Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    Graphics Card #2Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    MonitorJAPANNEXT JN-VT500UHD 4K 50-inch LCD
    Storage #1Crucial MX500 1 TB / Sabient SB-ROCKET-NVMe4-500
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB / ADATA XPG SX5500 Pro 3D NAND NVMe Gen3x4 PCIe M.2
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360 / NZXT Kraken X62
    CaseThermaltake View 71 TG / Thermaltake View 31
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AXi Series, AX1600i 1600 watt / Thermaltake Toughpower iRGB 1200 watt
    Accessory #1 Noctua 140mm 3000 RPM x 4 / Noctua 140 mm 3000 RPM x 2
    Accessory #2 Gigabyte GC-A 2WAY NVLINK RGB (3-slot) / ROG NVLINK Bridge 3-Slot A

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    296

    At least since installing 3006 (but maybe before that, I'm not absolutely certain its only since 3006) with my rig Windows power setting set at Power Saver and the BIOS settings all at default (no overclocking at all) the CPU clock speeds (and also temperatures) are very high. At idle the cores are flying at 4100 MHz with no windows open with the CPU core temperatures very high and reaching in the 90s plus range with very basic tasks. At idle unless the fans are blasting at full the temperatures are nuts. There is no dust at all in the system, and it runs a water cooler, a Ryujin in fact. A virus scan done by a pro company found no virus, nor did any other virus scans. Task Manager shows nothing is using the CPU in any way a lot at all.

    Can anyone help with this issue? I have powered the rig down until I know how to tackle this. This kind of thing can cook your components.
    Last edited by Super Gnome; 02-21-2020 at 01:14 AM.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    After the 3006bios was updated, the speed dropped a lot(R6EO 9980xe )
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	123.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	200.0 KB 
ID:	84112

  8. #8
    ROG Junior Member Array Andy PC Specs
    Andy PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Rampage VI Extreme Omega
    ProcessorIntel i9 9980xe
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX 4x16 3 GHz
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1080 TI
    Sound CardCreative SoundBlaster ZXR
    MonitorSamsung S27B970D
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo 2TB
    CaseCorsair 900d
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra 1KW
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64

    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Super Gnome View Post
    At least since installing 3006 (but maybe before that, I'm not absolutely certain its only since 3006) with my rig Windows power setting set at Power Saver and the BIOS settings all at default (no overclocking at all) the CPU clock speeds (and also temperatures) are very high. At idle the cores are flying at 4100 MHz with no windows open with the CPU core temperatures very high and reaching in the 90s plus range with very basic tasks. At idle unless the fans are blasting at full the temperatures are nuts. There is no dust at all in the system, and it runs a water cooler, a Ryujin in fact. A virus scan done by a pro company found no virus, nor did any other virus scans. Task Manager shows nothing is using the CPU in any way a lot at all.

    Can anyone help with this issue? I have powered the rig down until I know how to tackle this. This kind of thing can cook your components.
    Looks like you're having the same problems I am. In HWInfo64 i noticed the cores are clocked near or above 4 GHz despite no/little cpu load. Also according to HWinfo the idle power consumption is 35 watts at its lowest, compared to 17 watts on bios v0802. Luckily i only flash one of the two bios's at a time so i could keep my previous setup. So i've just switched back to the alternate bios (bios 2 in my case). I don't know what Asus has done but this bios isn't as good as the previous versions and am surprised it has been released.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Super Gnome PC Specs
    Super Gnome PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme Omega / ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-9980XE / AMD 3950x
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX Vengeance DDR4 2666MHz 128 GB / Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB DDR4-3200 32GB DDR4 3200MH
    Graphics Card #1Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    Graphics Card #2Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    MonitorJAPANNEXT JN-VT500UHD 4K 50-inch LCD
    Storage #1Crucial MX500 1 TB / Sabient SB-ROCKET-NVMe4-500
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB / ADATA XPG SX5500 Pro 3D NAND NVMe Gen3x4 PCIe M.2
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360 / NZXT Kraken X62
    CaseThermaltake View 71 TG / Thermaltake View 31
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AXi Series, AX1600i 1600 watt / Thermaltake Toughpower iRGB 1200 watt
    Accessory #1 Noctua 140mm 3000 RPM x 4 / Noctua 140 mm 3000 RPM x 2
    Accessory #2 Gigabyte GC-A 2WAY NVLINK RGB (3-slot) / ROG NVLINK Bridge 3-Slot A

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    296

    Quote Originally Posted by Andy View Post
    Looks like you're having the same problems I am. In HWInfo64 i noticed the cores are clocked near or above 4 GHz despite no/little cpu load. Also according to HWinfo the idle power consumption is 35 watts at its lowest, compared to 17 watts on bios v0802. Luckily i only flash one of the two bios's at a time so i could keep my previous setup. So i've just switched back to the alternate bios (bios 2 in my case). I don't know what Asus has done but this bios isn't as good as the previous versions and am surprised it has been released.
    You are the third person to notice this, lucky for you. HWMonitor does not show any temperature situation when not looking at the core temperatures. I'm thinking and wondering about how many people have downloaded this BIOS and are using it without any idea of the problem. They may be like me thinking all is well until they notice something is up--which, I fear and wonder might be when their box bursts into flames or their computers simply shut down automatically--or after their CPU has been half cooked and suffered a load of stress that will burn it out. My Ryujin LED (when working properly--which is every second day or so, lol) was showing normal CPU temperatures. The fans were not kicking in at all to reduce the core temperatures. This, on an aside from the main issue, is also a sham, if you ask me.

    Anyhow, it is going to be interesting to see if, how, and when Asus gets out a fix. My computer was getting blue screens prior to this new BIOS, and I constantly update my software, under tax it to no end, clean the dust out weekly, etc etc. Hence I've wondered if this new BIOS might have been rushed out because of some other issue with a Windows update or some recent security related development.

    Anyhow, its a good thing you noticed.

    Edit: You say you only flash one of the two BIOSes at at time. Hmm, I had no idea you could do that, and wonder about this. Do all Asus motherboards allow this? And if so, is there an easy way to go back to your previous BIOS without first having to flash again with the older software?
    Last edited by Super Gnome; 02-23-2020 at 03:52 AM.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Rob W. PC Specs
    Rob W. PC Specs
    MotherboardRog Asus Rampage vi extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7980x Oc 4.6ghz 24/7
    Memory (part number)64 gb GSkill 3600mhz (8x8) 15,15,15,35
    Graphics Card #1nvidia Titan V + ekwb custom loop
    Graphics Card #2nvidia RTX 2080Ti on air.
    Sound Cardonboard?
    MonitorIAsus PA329Q 4k 32"
    Storage #1samsung SSD 960 EVO 250 GB. M2 nvme
    Storage #2Samsung ssd 970 evo 500gb m2 nvme
    CPU CoolerEKwb custom loop
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1200i 1200w
    Keyboard Logitech G910 orion spark
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus core
    OS Win 10
    Network Routerbt infinity super fast.
    Accessory #1 Seagate Barracuda 2 TB HDD
    Accessory #2 Aqeuaro 6xt fan controller
    Accessory #3 Intel Optane 280gb

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    104
    Posts
    501

    @Super Gnome
    All boards with twin bios chips you can flash separately,
    My M8E and R6E also the Omega has two bios so you can leave one as is and switch to the other and flash it with new bios, if new bios causes problems then you can just press the bios button and revert to original bios ( bios 1 and bios 2) this is the practice I’ve adopted for safety.

Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •