Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array rsweeko PC Specs
    rsweeko PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP 15" SPECTRE CORE i7 LAPTOP
    MotherboardCROSSHAIR VIII HERO
    ProcessorAMD RYZEN 9 X3950
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TRI Z NEO F4-3600C16Q-32GTZNC
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX-2080 TI FTW3 ULTRA
    Graphics Card #2CORSAIR RGB LED STRIPS (4)
    Graphics Card #3CORSAIR RGB PRO ML140 FANS (5)
    Graphics Card #4CORSAIR RGB PRO ML120 FANS (3)
    Sound CardCREATIVE LABS ZXR 5.1 SOUND CARD
    Monitor3 SAMSUNG 27" -DISPLAY PORT
    Storage #1two SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS M.2 NVME (OS AND GAMES)
    Storage #2Third SSD storage.
    CPU CoolerCORSAIR H115i PRO 280MM AIO
    CaseCORSAIR CRYSTAL 680X CASE
    Power SupplyEVGA 1200-P2 PLATINUM PSU
    Keyboard CORSAIR PROGRAMMABLE KEYBOARD K90
    Mouse CORSAIR AND MICROSOFT MOUSE
    Headset BEATS
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH 5.1 SPEAKERS
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO 64 BIT
    Network RouterNETGEAR NIGHTHAWK X10
    Accessory #1 USB 3.0 4+4 CHARGING EXTERNAL HUB

    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    16

    BIOS shows two "working NVMe" SSD's "not present"....

    ...the second NVMe is for games. I tried to add in a third SSD connected to a mobo SATA connector, same not present in BIOS. The disk manager shows the NVMe drives AOK but no third installed SSD shown. I scanned for new hardware, still nothing. This build is completely new and clean from the start. I installed Win10 from an MS usb flash drive. No issues. Installed all my programs, no issues. It is running fine on the two NVMe drives and I didn't find this problem until a few days ago. Of course the return policy at Amazon ran out a day before I found this problem because everything was running great.
    I contacted ASUS support and what they suggest is the following:
    1. Select Boot -> CSM
    2. Change Launch CSM to Disable
    3. Go to Secure Boot
    4. Set OS type to Other OS
    5. Under Key Management,
    6. Clear Key Boot key
    7. Press F10 to save
    8. Install Windows 8, Windows 8.1 or Windows 10
    Before I do this, my question here on the forum is, has anyone ever heard of this remedy being used before? Could deleting these Boot keys be the answer to getting BIOS to recognize the SSD's and see them as Present? I am told reinstalling Win10 will delete everything from the main drive and I will have to trust a clone to have no hitches.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(4) SSD's - Samsung 960 & 970 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    1,122

    I have read items 3 thru 6 as a solution before but never tried it. I have had success with items 1 to 2. I wouldn't reinstall W10 if it were me, it's a system thing not a Windows thing.
    Davemon50

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array rsweeko PC Specs
    rsweeko PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP 15" SPECTRE CORE i7 LAPTOP
    MotherboardCROSSHAIR VIII HERO
    ProcessorAMD RYZEN 9 X3950
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TRI Z NEO F4-3600C16Q-32GTZNC
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX-2080 TI FTW3 ULTRA
    Graphics Card #2CORSAIR RGB LED STRIPS (4)
    Graphics Card #3CORSAIR RGB PRO ML140 FANS (5)
    Graphics Card #4CORSAIR RGB PRO ML120 FANS (3)
    Sound CardCREATIVE LABS ZXR 5.1 SOUND CARD
    Monitor3 SAMSUNG 27" -DISPLAY PORT
    Storage #1two SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS M.2 NVME (OS AND GAMES)
    Storage #2Third SSD storage.
    CPU CoolerCORSAIR H115i PRO 280MM AIO
    CaseCORSAIR CRYSTAL 680X CASE
    Power SupplyEVGA 1200-P2 PLATINUM PSU
    Keyboard CORSAIR PROGRAMMABLE KEYBOARD K90
    Mouse CORSAIR AND MICROSOFT MOUSE
    Headset BEATS
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH 5.1 SPEAKERS
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO 64 BIT
    Network RouterNETGEAR NIGHTHAWK X10
    Accessory #1 USB 3.0 4+4 CHARGING EXTERNAL HUB

    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    16

    Using a clone after.....

    Actually, using a clone would give me the same exact issue, true? Seems like, to avoid having to install all my programs again, I will have to solve this problem without re-installing windows? Is there a way to do that?

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array rsweeko PC Specs
    rsweeko PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP 15" SPECTRE CORE i7 LAPTOP
    MotherboardCROSSHAIR VIII HERO
    ProcessorAMD RYZEN 9 X3950
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TRI Z NEO F4-3600C16Q-32GTZNC
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX-2080 TI FTW3 ULTRA
    Graphics Card #2CORSAIR RGB LED STRIPS (4)
    Graphics Card #3CORSAIR RGB PRO ML140 FANS (5)
    Graphics Card #4CORSAIR RGB PRO ML120 FANS (3)
    Sound CardCREATIVE LABS ZXR 5.1 SOUND CARD
    Monitor3 SAMSUNG 27" -DISPLAY PORT
    Storage #1two SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS M.2 NVME (OS AND GAMES)
    Storage #2Third SSD storage.
    CPU CoolerCORSAIR H115i PRO 280MM AIO
    CaseCORSAIR CRYSTAL 680X CASE
    Power SupplyEVGA 1200-P2 PLATINUM PSU
    Keyboard CORSAIR PROGRAMMABLE KEYBOARD K90
    Mouse CORSAIR AND MICROSOFT MOUSE
    Headset BEATS
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH 5.1 SPEAKERS
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO 64 BIT
    Network RouterNETGEAR NIGHTHAWK X10
    Accessory #1 USB 3.0 4+4 CHARGING EXTERNAL HUB

    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    16

    I agree

    Thanks for the reply Davemon. I will keep on researching and go in a little deeper at ASUS to get a solution.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •