Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 13 of 13
  1. #11
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Super Gnome PC Specs
    Super Gnome PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme Omega / ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-9980XE / AMD 3950x
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX Vengeance DDR4 2666MHz 128 GB / Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB DDR4-3200 32GB DDR4 3200MH
    Graphics Card #1Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    Graphics Card #2Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    MonitorJAPANNEXT JN-VT500UHD 4K 50-inch LCD
    Storage #1Crucial MX500 1 TB / Sabient SB-ROCKET-NVMe4-500
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB / ADATA XPG SX5500 Pro 3D NAND NVMe Gen3x4 PCIe M.2
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360 / NZXT Kraken X62
    CaseThermaltake View 71 TG / Thermaltake View 31
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AXi Series, AX1600i 1600 watt / Thermaltake Toughpower iRGB 1200 watt
    Accessory #1 Noctua 140mm 3000 RPM x 4 / Noctua 140 mm 3000 RPM x 2
    Accessory #2 Gigabyte GC-A 2WAY NVLINK RGB (3-slot) / ROG NVLINK Bridge 3-Slot A

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    339

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    For Steam downloads might help to manually set your location.
    Settings -> Downloads -> Download Region - Select the closest location to yourself.
    This is on an aside as you seem to know a lot about this and internet connections. Is it not possible and okay to just have both connected to your router? And if so, won't your system use both or automatically use the one that is faster/better?

    Forgive the newbie question, but I have no idea how this would/does work.

  2. #12
    New ROGer Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    699

    The problem is that steam content server may based on reading your IP, then incorrectly geolocate you (maybe you use VPN example) which *may provide less than optimal connection. Manual selection however does not stop steam, if say that location is unavailable deciding on the best (auto) location for download or overriding your choice. However it does allow you the chance to select the closest server to you as default.

    *The use of auto allows for mistakes. Manually setting this you can eliminate this possible cause.

    Quote Originally Posted by Super Gnome View Post
    Is it not possible and okay to just have both connected to your router?
    Not really sure what your trying to say here.

    For other possible causes to slow steam downloads you could try this
    https://support.steampowered.com/kb_...3220&l=english
    Last edited by RedSector73; 05-22-2020 at 08:41 AM.

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array XIIIIX PC Specs
    XIIIIX PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VIII Formula
    Processor3900X
    Memory (part number)Gskill F4-3000C14Q-32GTZ 1T@3733 16-16-16-36-60
    Graphics Card #1GTX2080Ti
    Sound CardX7 LE
    MonitorBig enough
    Storage #1SAMSUNG MZVKW512
    Storage #2SAMSUNG MZVKW1T0
    CPU CoolerH110
    CaseLevel 10
    Power SupplySeasonic 1050 Platinum
    Keyboard K70 Mk.2 SE
    Mouse M65 Elite SE
    Headset AKG
    Mouse Pad Rog big one
    Headset/Speakers Harman GLASS
    OS W10
    Network RouterRT-AX88U

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    92

    Quote Originally Posted by Super Gnome View Post
    This is on an aside as you seem to know a lot about this and internet connections. Is it not possible and okay to just have both connected to your router? And if so, won't your system use both or automatically use the one that is faster/better?

    Forgive the newbie question, but I have no idea how this would/does work.
    As I wrote before:

    When gaming Metro Exodus, and other Steam applications keep randomly crashing when internet is connected via the Aquantia AQC111C 5G LAN.
    Explorer, Chrome and Firefox having random connection fails, packet errors etc.

    Biggest problem is random crashes during games, and an occasional reboot.
    Did a clean Win10 install, etc. Trouble is a little less, but still hapening....

    As for connecting both, and using both, doesn`t help a bit, but makes it even worse
    Packet loss, game crash etc.
    Could be chip/port/driver related, but after a few days, I`ve given up on the Aquanta for now.
    Maybe with the next FW update it`s solved.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •