Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array rsweeko PC Specs
    rsweeko PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP 15" SPECTRE CORE i7 LAPTOP
    MotherboardCROSSHAIR VIII HERO
    ProcessorAMD RYZEN 9 X3950
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TRI Z NEO F4-3600C16Q-32GTZNC
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX-2080 TI FTW3 ULTRA
    Graphics Card #2CORSAIR RGB LED STRIPS (4)
    Graphics Card #3CORSAIR RGB PRO ML140 FANS (5)
    Graphics Card #4CORSAIR RGB PRO ML120 FANS (3)
    Sound CardCREATIVE LABS ZXR 5.1 SOUND CARD
    Monitor3 SAMSUNG 27" -DISPLAY PORT
    Storage #1two SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS M.2 NVME (OS AND GAMES)
    Storage #2Third SSD storage.
    CPU CoolerCORSAIR H115i PRO 280MM AIO
    CaseCORSAIR CRYSTAL 680X CASE
    Power SupplyEVGA 1200-P2 PLATINUM PSU
    Keyboard CORSAIR PROGRAMMABLE KEYBOARD K90
    Mouse CORSAIR AND MICROSOFT MOUSE
    Headset BEATS
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH 5.1 SPEAKERS
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO 64 BIT
    Network RouterNETGEAR NIGHTHAWK X10
    Accessory #1 USB 3.0 4+4 CHARGING EXTERNAL HUB

    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    16

    Always booting back to the BIOS?

    Full shutdown or reset. Can't get past the bios now. I was trying to solve the issue of having the BIOS see the third SSD drive as "Present"' in the bios and shown in the device manager. I had two NVMe drives working well and wanted to add in a third SATA SSD. It was not being seen either by BIOS or the device manager in win10. The NVMe drives are shown in the device manager. I decided to reset to defaults, do a save and reset and now cannot get out of the bios in booting. Always comes back to the bios window now.
    So I thought of clearing the CMOS. The crosshair viii hero manual says to use the clear cmos button "only when the system hangs due to overclocking". Where do I go from here? Will clearing the CMOS work and if so, power down, pull the plug, and hit the CMOS button after a minute or so, and boot back up?
    My PC was previously working very nicely on the two NVMe drives. This darn SATA third drive "not present" issue is hair pulling.
    I have been communicating with Asus support on this issue. Case number N200253701 if that helps any.
    Ron

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array rsweeko PC Specs
    rsweeko PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP 15" SPECTRE CORE i7 LAPTOP
    MotherboardCROSSHAIR VIII HERO
    ProcessorAMD RYZEN 9 X3950
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TRI Z NEO F4-3600C16Q-32GTZNC
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX-2080 TI FTW3 ULTRA
    Graphics Card #2CORSAIR RGB LED STRIPS (4)
    Graphics Card #3CORSAIR RGB PRO ML140 FANS (5)
    Graphics Card #4CORSAIR RGB PRO ML120 FANS (3)
    Sound CardCREATIVE LABS ZXR 5.1 SOUND CARD
    Monitor3 SAMSUNG 27" -DISPLAY PORT
    Storage #1two SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS M.2 NVME (OS AND GAMES)
    Storage #2Third SSD storage.
    CPU CoolerCORSAIR H115i PRO 280MM AIO
    CaseCORSAIR CRYSTAL 680X CASE
    Power SupplyEVGA 1200-P2 PLATINUM PSU
    Keyboard CORSAIR PROGRAMMABLE KEYBOARD K90
    Mouse CORSAIR AND MICROSOFT MOUSE
    Headset BEATS
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH 5.1 SPEAKERS
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO 64 BIT
    Network RouterNETGEAR NIGHTHAWK X10
    Accessory #1 USB 3.0 4+4 CHARGING EXTERNAL HUB

    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    16

    Third drive recognized.

    Second ASUS build. Just learning this new PC and how the BIOS works.
    My mobo would not recognize a third SSD plugged in so I was working with the help of the ASUS tech group who, by all means, is very consistent and helpful with this build. Anyway, the solution was to simply just reset the BIOS. I held down the CMOS button a few seconds. The BIOS was now clean and new. It recognized the third drive which I enabled and made a few other adjustments. I created a clone. Seems like the PC is running OK now.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(4) SSD's - Samsung 960 & 970 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    1,122

    Hmm, maybe I should've tried that same thing with my own board. When I tried to install a PCIe card with a second NVMe M.2 on it I got that same boot loop to BIOS and never got it recognized. I gave up and used USB instead in an enclosure.
    Davemon50

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •