Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    73

    Prevent Armoury Crate automatic updates?

    Is there any way I can prevent Armoury Crate to update the Aura service/LightingService automatically? Everytime I downgrade, it gets updated later by itself!

    There is a bug in the latest lightingservice 3.03.85 where the rainbow effect is the same as the color cycle effect. 3.03.79 does not have this issue

    Edit: Found a solution, I upgraded to the latest version (3.03.85) and then just replaced the lightservice.exe with the older version (3.03.79), now armoury crate thinks I have the latest version installed while the old exe is being used. All lighting profiles are working as they should.

    Update: Asus has released lightingservice version 3.03.89 today which fixes the rainbow effect issue, in addition to lighting freezing issue that I did not mention.
    Thank you Asus for releasing the fix!
    Last edited by mbushnaq00; 03-05-2020 at 04:18 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    281

    Quote Originally Posted by mbushnaq00 View Post
    Is there any way I can prevent Armoury Crate to update the Aura service/LightingService automatically? Everytime I downgrade, it gets updated later by itself!

    There is a bug in the latest lightingservice 3.03.85 where the rainbow effect is the same as the color cycle effect. 3.03.79 does not have this issue

    Edit: Found a solution, I upgraded to the latest version (3.03.85) and then just replaced the lightservice.exe with the older version (3.03.79), now armoury crate thinks I have the latest version installed while the old exe is being used. All lighting profiles are working as they should.
    do you have monitors with Aura Sync?*

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    73

    Quote Originally Posted by Re@per View Post
    do you have monitors with Aura Sync?*
    I dont, I only have strix flare keyboard and gladius mouse connected to my scar 2 laptop

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array MorePower PC Specs
    MorePower PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9 9900K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 32GB
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080 Ti OC
    MonitorLG UltraGear 34GK950G
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO NVMe M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 860 PRO SSD x 2
    CPU CoolerASUS ROG Ryuo 240
    CasePhanteks Evolv X
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 850W
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB MK.2 Low Profile
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB ELITE
    Headset/Speakers Kanto YU4 + Sub8
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    77

    Quote Originally Posted by mbushnaq00 View Post
    Is there any way I can prevent Armoury Crate to update the Aura service/LightingService automatically? Everytime I downgrade, it gets updated later by itself!

    There is a bug in the latest lightingservice 3.03.85 where the rainbow effect is the same as the color cycle effect. 3.03.79 does not have this issue

    Edit: Found a solution, I upgraded to the latest version (3.03.85) and then just replaced the lightservice.exe with the older version (3.03.79), now armoury crate thinks I have the latest version installed while the old exe is being used. All lighting profiles are working as they should.

    Update: Asus has released lightingservice version 3.03.89 today which fixes the rainbow effect issue, in addition to lighting freezing issue that I did not mention.
    Thank you Asus for releasing the fix!
    Are you sure it updates automatically? If I go to the Update Center it lists what is out of date and has a update button next to it or I can click update all.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    73

    Quote Originally Posted by MorePower View Post
    Are you sure it updates automatically? If I go to the Update Center it lists what is out of date and has an update button next to it or I can click update all.
    yes even if u do not click on update, it will update by itself after a while. I have tested this multiple times

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array DryreL PC Specs
    DryreL PC Specs
    MotherboardAsrock H310M-ITX/ac Intel 300 Series 2666MHz DDR4 Socket 1151 Mini-ITX
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i7-8700 (12MB, 4.20 GHz)
    Memory (part number)24 GB DDR4 2666MHz RAM (Dual)
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce GTX1660Ti GAMING X 6GB GDDR6 192Bit Nvidia DX12
    MonitorPORPOISE 17.3" 1080p HDR Portable
    Storage #1Intel 660P 1TB 1800MB-1800MB/s NVMe M.2 QLC SSD
    Storage #2Seagate BarraCuda 8TB 5400RPM 256MB Cache SATA 6.0GB/s 3.5" ST8000DM004
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-L9x65 65mm Low-Profile
    CaseSilverStone RVZ02 Small Form Factor
    Power SupplyCorsair SF450 450W Gold Modular SFX
    Keyboard Asus ROG Claymore RGB Cherry MX Red
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius II Wireless 16000 DPI
    Headset Razer Kraken Chroma 7.1 V2 Surround
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Mousepad
    OS Windows 10 64-bit

    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    I'm getting 502 error. It was working fine before update. How to disable it?

  7. #7
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z690-F Gaming WiFi
    Processori7-12700KF
    Memory (part number)Kingston Fury Beast 16GB (2x8GB) 6000MT/s (KF560C40B)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3090 Ti LC OC
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Seagate Firecuda 530 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Quantum Velocity2
    CaseThermaltake Tower 900
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 2x Swiftech Maelstrom X300 D5 V2
    Accessory #2 2x Hardware Labs SR2 560 MP radiators
    Accessory #3 Lamptron FC-5 V3 fan controller
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    398
    Posts
    17,535

    Hi DryeL

    Try using the Armoury Crate uninstall tool from the ASUS Support Center and reinstall.

    Select your operating system then click Show all in blue, it's the third download.

    https://www.asus.com/supportonly/Arm...Desk_Download/

    Once uninstalled, install Armoury Crate version 3.2.2.3 and run all the updates.

    Is the 502 error gone after this?

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array uxixu PC Specs
    uxixu PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Maximus XI Hero
    ProcessorCore i9 9900k
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 64GB
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3090 OC
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster ML360R
    CaseCoolermaster H500M
    Power SupplyEVGA 850W Super Nova G1

    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    It's definitely automatic. I haven't touched Armory Crate or aura in months and suddenly my CPU is spiking and fans are going off and I keep getting notifications about Aura performance mode.... click on Armoury Crate and it's suddenly installing stuck forever on "installing peripherals" while my CPU fans are kicking up. I don't like it when software does stuff behind my back without my instructions...

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array 420Assassin PC Specs
    420Assassin PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG STRIX B550-F (AM4)
    ProcessorRyzen 5 5600X
    Memory (part number)CMW32GX4M2Z3600C18 x2
    Graphics Card #1KO-RTX3070-O8G-V2-GAMING
    MonitorVG248QE /2nd display VH238
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 980 PRO 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung SSD 840 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair iCUE H115i Elite 280mm
    CaseAntec P120 Crystal
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra 750 Titanium
    Keyboard Asus TUF K3
    Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
    Headset Turtle Beach DX11
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z623 w/Subwoofer
    OS Win10 Pro
    Network RouterGT-AC5300

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Block Asus Armory in windows firewall so it can't get internet access.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array Englishman.Xperia PC Specs
    Englishman.Xperia PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RoG Strix B450-E Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 2700X
    Memory (part number)Corsair 16Gb DDR3200 LPX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS RoG Strix RX480 OC
    MonitorASUS RoG XG27VQ
    Storage #1Corsair MP510 480gb
    Storage #2AMD R7 240Gb SSD
    CPU CoolerASUS RoG Ryujin 240
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 450D
    Power SupplyASUS RoG Strix 750Watt
    Keyboard ASUS RoG Strix Flare
    Mouse ASUS RoG Gladius II Origin
    Headset ASUS RoG Strix GO 2.4
    Mouse Pad ASUS RoG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 5.1
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterASUS Lyra Mini
    Accessory #1 ASUS RoG ARION

    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    47

    The updates always makes me feel like playing lottery with Armoury Crate, no, normally they won't be automatic but if you don't update anyway, you can't even change the RGB, the device page is inaccessible till you update.

    I've been saying this for a long time, don't force update on us, the last update bugged my Ryujin OLED and no one even replied my topic!!!
    No help 4 U

    The first time it was the Gladius 2 Origin, it would let me get to the device settings as it would say disconnected.

    Super nice.....

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •