Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Cold Boot Issues with ROG Rampage VI Extreme Encore and Prime 30th Anniversary

    I originally started off with the Prime 30th Anniversary board but it had an issue where during POST it would stop at CPU00 and Memory Detect. It would freeze there so I would hold down power button to restart system. On next boot it would POST to BIOS Safe Mode and I would have to get into BIOS and then exit out of BIOS to boot up. It would boot up fine from there until the next cold start up.

    I called tech support and what a joke it was. I have been waiting for a real Asus tech to call me but no one ever did.

    I returned that board and got the ROG Rampage VI Extreme Encore.

    It is behaving the same since I got the board and upgraded the BIOS. I have switched out every component and still the same.

    I switched over to the BIOS slot 2 and I did not have the cold start up issue. I was having some stability problems under BIOS 2 so I updated the BIOS and the cold start issue has returned.

    This is ruining what is a FANTASTIC board. I love it but for this one flaw so far. When I call support they have me do the basic support which is of no help. I want someone to be aware of this issue so it gets sorted out.

    I am able to get my 10940X up to 51.Ghz on the board and have scored the 92nd place on 3DMark TimeSpy.

    https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/44185564

    https://www.3dmark.com/hall-of-fame-...et/version+1.0

    Please someone at Asus get in touch with me so we can go over this issue. I want this board to be a keeper and not return it.

    Thank you!

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array Jahmen PC Specs
    Jahmen PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ROG G75VW
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme Encore x299
    Processori9-10920x 3.5GHz
    Memory (part number)64 GB
    Graphics Card #1ASUS DUAL Ge Force RTX 2080 Ti DirectX 12 DUAL -RTX2080TI-O11G
    MonitorASUS ProArt x3
    Storage #1M.2 1TB SSD
    Storage #2M.2 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerDEEP COOL Castle 360EX
    CaseCorsair Graphite 780T (White)
    Power SupplyCORSAIR HXi Series, HX1200i, 1200 Watt, 80+ Platinum Certified,
    Keyboard Logitech G-15
    Mouse Logitech Trackball
    Headset Corsair Gamer Headset
    Mouse Pad None
    Headset/Speakers Corsair Handsfree Head set
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterAT&T-Uverse
    Accessory #1 ASUS Hyper M.2 x16 Card V@
    Accessory #2 X4 Intel Pro 7600p M.2 2280 256GB PCI-Express 3.0 x4 Internal SSD
    Jahmen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    YOUR NOT ALONE - Same kind of issue

    Quote Originally Posted by K01D57331 View Post
    I originally started off with the Prime 30th Anniversary board but it had an issue where during POST it would stop at CPU00 and Memory Detect. It would freeze there so I would hold down power button to restart system. On next boot it would POST to BIOS Safe Mode and I would have to get into BIOS and then exit out of BIOS to boot up. It would boot up fine from there until the next cold start up.

    I called tech support and what a joke it was. I have been waiting for a real Asus tech to call me but no one ever did.

    I returned that board and got the ROG Rampage VI Extreme Encore.

    It is behaving the same since I got the board and upgraded the BIOS. I have switched out every component and still the same.

    I switched over to the BIOS slot 2 and I did not have the cold start up issue. I was having some stability problems under BIOS 2 so I updated the BIOS and the cold start issue has returned.

    This is ruining what is a FANTASTIC board. I love it but for this one flaw so far. When I call support they have me do the basic support which is of no help. I want someone to be aware of this issue so it gets sorted out.

    I am able to get my 10940X up to 51.Ghz on the board and have scored the 92nd place on 3DMark TimeSpy.

    https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/44185564

    https://www.3dmark.com/hall-of-fame-...et/version+1.0

    Please someone at Asus get in touch with me so we can go over this issue. I want this board to be a keeper and not return it.

    Thank you!
    Mine went something like this.
    I can't call to to mind as to what or how my inability to boot to BIOS happened.
    Best guess was after I installed Windows 10 Pro 64-bit OS.
    In the UEFI BIOS Utility: Advanced\ PHC Storage Configuration
    SATA Controller(s) >Enabled<
    SATA Mode Selection >AHCI< this needed to be reset per some message after I had updated the BIOS using the downloaded UEFI BIOS 0504 version R6EE.Cap file on a USB.

    With ASUS Support agent's phone help we managed to restore the BIOS to boot.
    However, by the time we had removed all of the hardware but a single RAM stick, we had already tried Clear CMOS a couple times along with so many switched switches pushed buttons, jumped the jumper, and Cleared the CMOS again so many different ways and times that I lost track of it all.
    Yeah I know
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	BIOS Flashback & USB Web-SM.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	70.9 KB 
ID:	84163Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Updated successfully Check web.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	97.2 KB 
ID:	84164


    I still had the R6EE.Cap file Version 0504 on the USB, So we stuck it in the designated Slot for Flashback , cleared CMOS and tried the Flashback button.
    Like I said, we switched things back and forth and around so many times during the Flashback tries, I can't say with any certainty what it was we had done that fixed it.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Slow Mode & Jumper Pin Web-SM.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	39.4 KB 
ID:	84165Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Web SM-MoBo BIOS buttons.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	95.6 KB 
ID:	84166
    Last edited by Jahmen; 02-26-2020 at 02:29 PM.
    Go do crazy some place else, we're all stocked up here!

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Jahmen PC Specs
    Jahmen PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ROG G75VW
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme Encore x299
    Processori9-10920x 3.5GHz
    Memory (part number)64 GB
    Graphics Card #1ASUS DUAL Ge Force RTX 2080 Ti DirectX 12 DUAL -RTX2080TI-O11G
    MonitorASUS ProArt x3
    Storage #1M.2 1TB SSD
    Storage #2M.2 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerDEEP COOL Castle 360EX
    CaseCorsair Graphite 780T (White)
    Power SupplyCORSAIR HXi Series, HX1200i, 1200 Watt, 80+ Platinum Certified,
    Keyboard Logitech G-15
    Mouse Logitech Trackball
    Headset Corsair Gamer Headset
    Mouse Pad None
    Headset/Speakers Corsair Handsfree Head set
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterAT&T-Uverse
    Accessory #1 ASUS Hyper M.2 x16 Card V@
    Accessory #2 X4 Intel Pro 7600p M.2 2280 256GB PCI-Express 3.0 x4 Internal SSD
    Jahmen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    AND HERE WE Go AGAIN!

    Using my USB 8GB stick with downloaded BIOS R6EE.cap file versions to restore the BIOS back.
    Here is a help to share link. . .
    https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/RO...pDesk_Download

    It takes you to the ASUS Driver & Tools or BIOS & Firmware Download choices, specifically for the ROG Rampage VI Extreme Encore x299 motherboard model.
    You will need to Click on the: Please select OS and chose the WINDOWS 10 64bit.
    BIOS VERSIONS: 2019/11/04 Ver, 0401 9.62 MB | 2019/12/13/ Ver, 0504 10.03 MB | 2020/1/22 Ver. 0505 10.03 MB

    UEFI BIOS Fails to Boot past POST back into BIOS.
    REASON: Uncertain
    CIRCUMSTANCES: During the steps using the ASUS Motherboard RAID Configuration Guide 1.1.4. for a UEFI BIOS bootable VROC HD Key module RAID 10 on CPU setup.

    The CPU RAID functions of RAID 1, RAID 5, and RAID 10 requires the MoBo HD Key module and Intel VROC(RSTe) driver & software file to be enabled.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Copy2 of IMG_1266.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	35.3 KB 
ID:	84161Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Web SM of New Picture.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	343.0 KB 
ID:	84162

    Step1: Enter the BIOS Setup during POST. Check !

    Step2: Go to the Boot menu > CSM (Compatibility Support Module) > Launch CSM, then set the item to [Disabled]
    Check !
    The RAID Configuration Guide steps do not include anything about the NOTICE message that comes up when you change the CSM from enabled to disabled.
    Notice
    Due to Microsoft Secure Boot regulations, ensure the Microsoft signed UEFI driver is contained in the plugged PCI-E based storages including M.2 SSD before set the Launch CSM to [Disabled].
    Otherwise, the PCI-E based storages will be only available for the data drive usage. Contact the PCI-E storage vendor for the UEFI driver availability details.

    Because the Notice message says to ensure the Microsoft signed UEFI driver is contained in the plugged PCI-E based storages including M.2 SSD. (Hyper M.2 X16 Card SSDs)
    Should we not then look where that is and see if the driver is installed there or not?

    PROBLEM: I have no idea where to look to see if the driver is there or not. or how find the driver to install it.
    SUPPORT QUESTION: How do we check to ensure the Microsoft signed UEFI driver is contained in the plugged PCI-E based storages including M.2 SSD?
    Step3: Go to Advanced menu > CPU Storage Configuration, then set the PCIE slots that you have installed the Hyper M.2 X 16 Cards or PCIE X 4 SSD Cards to Hyper M.2 X16 or PCIE X 4 SSD Card correspondingly.
    Check !
    Step4: Save your changes and exit the BIOS Setup, then enter the BIOS Setup again.
    Check !

    PROBLEM: I cannot enter the BIOS setup again after I F10 exit to Save changes in the BIOS I made in the first 4 steps.
    The MoBo hangs up in the reboot POST.
    And I do not have any way to know if the paused reboot POST is related to the Notice message.

    So, I removed all the hardware but for a single RAM stick again and successfully like before reloaded the BIOS.
    But here was the catch. I couldn't get the updated 0504 version to load. So, I went back and got the original 0401 version the board came with.

    Yep! It loaded successfully! I put back all the RAM and tried to boot, But the BIOS still hung in POST on a Memory.
    Checked my memory sticks we seated in place right. Yep! Added the Graphics Card, still hung in POST on a Mem.
    Put back the Motherboard SSD's with OS. Still booted into hung POST.
    So, I decided to updated to the 0504 version, USB BIOS successfully. Still hanging in POST. Yep I'm stumped!

    After a few switches and what not, I eventually got a new hung POST message to Check CPU after several failed tries to boot to BIOS.
    Yep! the CPU Cooler head was HOTTER than usual.
    So, with the Cooler CPU head Light going out weeks before and now a Check CPU and finding it hotter than ever before, I figured the CPU COOLER pump stopped working.


    I have been using ASUS Support agent help for over 8 weeks now. The ASUS Support Services Senior Team has been working on my problems for weeks. ASUS is not without some very good agents that do actually know some things. I believe the ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme Omega & Encore x299 Motherboards are to new to the market with little to none technical support created for them.

    Intel makes it all extremely difficult, because everything online Intel has for supporting their Products with ASUS x299 MoBo, lacks any crossover compatibility information for the board or the drivers & software.

    If Intel's NVMe UEFI BIOS bootable VROC key RAIDS on CPU work, then why can't any examples for it be found?
    YouTube-nothing! Forums? Nothing!
    Well unless we count the forum posts about those who couldn't get the VROC Key RAID to work, citing virtually no support help.

    Sooner or later I will get the Intel's NVMe UEFI BIOS bootable VROC key RAIDS on CPU work, or I will eventually know that the tech was a fraud!
    Never worked. Time will tell.
    Last edited by Jahmen; 02-26-2020 at 02:20 PM.
    Go do crazy some place else, we're all stocked up here!

  4. #4
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    309
    Posts
    7,674

    Quote Originally Posted by K01D57331 View Post
    Please someone at Asus get in touch with me so we can go over this issue. I want this board to be a keeper and not return it.
    Just so you don't keep waiting, ASUS doesn't really read this forum. It's here for customer discussion and they provide support via phone and email, which I know you've tried.

    Some cold boot issues are due to aggressive overclocks but it should not happen with stock settings. If you still have issues with stock settings you may consider an RMA of the board.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    Just so you don't keep waiting, ASUS doesn't really read this forum. It's here for customer discussion and they provide support via phone and email, which I know you've tried.

    Some cold boot issues are due to aggressive overclocks but it should not happen with stock settings. If you still have issues with stock settings you may consider an RMA of the board.
    An RMA will not help since it is a BIOS issue so if they have some special BIOS that will fix it then they should release it. I would return the board anyways instead of RMA since I am still in my return period.

    Asus tech support is a joke. I tried contacting them many times, they want to do the same troubleshooting over and over. When I ask to speak to a manager or someone directly at Asus I get told I will receive a call back but no one every calls back.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Call Intel directly and follow the voice prompts for VROC. I was surprised how helpful they are. Their tech support has all different equipment on hand. The tech I got worked with me with my VROC issue and actually put a similar system together like mine to replicate issue.

    Are all your NVME drivers certified to work with VROC? VROC only works with a few NVME drives. Mostly Intel and Samsung OEM drives.

    Quote Originally Posted by Jahmen View Post
    AND HERE WE Go AGAIN!
    Last edited by K01D57331; 02-28-2020 at 01:59 PM.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    67
    Posts
    260

    VROC is intel drives only. I installed it to two 900P AIC versions. The trick is to have the F6 drivers. You don’t make the array for boot from the BIOS. Two F6 drivers are required at the F6 prompt. Once they are installed and drives chosen windows will install and boot from it. VROC will not work on any drive but Intel. Unless you have a high$$ enterprise MOBO and pay $500 for a key. This is a deterrent to keep the enterprise users from buying up HEDT boards. You can put Other drives on the M2x16 board and make a software only raid that you cannot boot from. 900Ps 905P work. Can’t speak for any others as none of the others are worth the bother. You can put 4 of the M2 905P drives on the M2x16 card and boot from it. That’s why the only key that works is the Intel only key. I’ve power the model number a few times. You don’t need a key for raid0. Win raid has the drivers. *I just put them in a folder by themselves on the win install USB.*

  8. #8
    ROG Junior Member Array MrTOOSHORT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    I have the same problem as the OP, but less frequently now because of a temporary fix. I have my VCCSA at the lowest setting, 0.7v. I used to have it at 0.9-1v, but found I'm still stable in my 4000MHz ram oc with 0.7v. IO is 1.125v. I'd have to say maybe out of 20 boot ups, it does it once now. This is on an Rampage Apex, two sets of 3600MHZ Cl15 2x8gb kits in quad. 9980xe cpu.
    9980XE • APEX VI • 360016 • KPE 2080TI • 905P AIC • 1600T2 • 800D

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    67
    Posts
    260

    Ram on this board is extremely picky. I could not get past 3200 before bios 505. I also used the modded BIOS with MC 49 which may not work On 109xx chips.Â*
    VROC does in fact only support intel drives to boot from. You can make software drives with Samsung but it will not boot from them.

    You will need to set PCIE to X16/X8/X8 to get DIMM.2_2 AMD woot will have to have PCH set to AHCI then the DIMM1.2will need to be enabled. to work at all, after that you can create a VROC array on the two DIMM.2 slots with intel drives only or sacrifice one of your GPU slots and use Intel AIC drives. After you crest the array you will need to get to F6 Prompt by selecting the advanced tab when you get to it.Â*

    To install drivers you will need two and you can get them from ASUS page or Â*station drivers has more current version. Iastore load first the the VROC driver and your array will show up. They package contains software that you can install later but for windows install just grab the F6 drivers and out them in the windows install USB. When you click advance then click load drivers and load up the previously mentioned drivers. Then you will see the array. Select it and go on with the install.Â*

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array ThrashZone PC Specs
    ThrashZone PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS z490 maximus XII Apex 2nd x299 Rampage VI Apex
    Processori9-10900k & i9-9940x
    Memory (part number)Trident-Z 3600c16 2nd Trident-Z 3600C16 both Samsung B-Dies
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080ti FTW3 water block 2nd Titan Xp copper water block
    MonitorAOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz & ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
    Storage #12-Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2 & 2.5" ssd's 850 pro's for os 850 evo for games
    Storage #22-LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
    CPU Cooler2-240GTX with Heatkiller-4-Pro/ vrm water block Both&x299 2-280GTX 2-D5's before and after rads
    Case2- Corsair 450D with second floors for 240GTX & 280GTX rads enclosed and filtered on top
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000P2 2nd EVGA 1200P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum 2nd Logitech G710+
    Mouse 2-Red dragon Perdition
    OS Win-7 & win-10 pro on both systems Win-7 everyday os
    Accessory #1 Optimus Foundation copper plexi 2nd Optimus SigV2
    Accessory #2 ModmyMods clear coolant
    Accessory #3 ModMyMods 3/8-5/8" clear soft tubing/ MORA 360 Pro x2
    ThrashZone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    389

    Quote Originally Posted by MrTOOSHORT View Post
    I have the same problem as the OP, but less frequently now because of a temporary fix. I have my VCCSA at the lowest setting, 0.7v. I used to have it at 0.9-1v, but found I'm still stable in my 4000MHz ram oc with 0.7v. IO is 1.125v. I'd have to say maybe out of 20 boot ups, it does it once now. This is on an Rampage Apex, two sets of 3600MHZ Cl15 2x8gb kits in quad. 9980xe cpu.
    Hi,
    Which bios ?
    I use primarily 1705 haven't had any issues on 9940x
    I have 1902 on bios 2 it wasn't all that great so I just switched back to 1705 and leave it.
    No 10980xe yet so no need for newer bios can't remember which bios is minimum for 10 series ?
    I've got 2002 and 3006 if 10980xe ever show up locally bestbuy or micro center.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •