Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Boot issue with rampage vi extreme encore

    HI

    I have a question about Boot between AHCI and Intel RST Premium mode.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	AHCI BOOT.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	337.6 KB 
ID:	85195
    In this picture we can see a lot of drives to be selceted for boot . It is AHCI mode

    ************************************************** **

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	RST BOOT.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	251.0 KB 
ID:	85196
    In this picture we can see the drives that can be selected for Boot : It is Intel RST Premuim (RAID) mode.
    All the drives connected to sata ports have desappeared. So i can't boot from CDDVDROM.

    My question is : Is it possible to boot from SATA drives in Intel RST PREMIUIM mode. Is it possible to have raid function in AHCI mode?

    I can't find an answer to those questions and it appears to be impossible to have both cdrom and raid at the same time.

    If somebody can explain me this I will appreciate.

    Thanks
    François

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array cekeu PC Specs
    cekeu PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme Encore
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-10920X
    MonitorASUS ROG SWIFT PG27UQ
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare
    Mouse ROG Chakram Core

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    203

    All I noticed is that in Windows 10 we can activate a disk array in RAID if the disks are in AHCI in the bios. I have never done this and I do not know how to recover its data after a new installation of the system.
    For the DVDROM if it is recognized once in the system it may not be important. Better to use a usb stick to format and install the system or use a linux file system I think.
    But I don't have experience with your disk configuration, sorry
    Last edited by cekeu; 06-09-2020 at 10:02 PM.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array restsugavan PC Specs
    restsugavan PC Specs
    MotherboardRAMPAGE VI EXTREME BIOS 3403 MOD
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 7980XE 2.60GHz
    Memory (part number)64GB GSKILL 3.2 GHz 16-16-18-36 2T
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG POSEIDON 1080Ti
    MonitorSAMSUNG ODESSEY G9 49 Firmware 1010.2
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS 1TB x 3
    Storage #2WD 4TB External HDD
    CPU CoolerNZXT KRAKEN 62
    CaseCorsair Carbine 540
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Microsoft
    Mouse Microsoft
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Sony
    OS Windows 10 2021 Insider Preview 21382.1
    Network RouterD-LINK
    restsugavan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    86
    Posts
    648

    You can boot from SATA Drive on RST Premium mode but it will slower than other choices.
    Core i9 7980XE+R6E 3403 BIOS+Intel 02006B06 MCU 2021-03-08+VROC 7.5.0.1150+RST 18.35.0.4635+ME FW 11.12.86.1877 DV 2108.100.0.1053+64GB DDR4 3200+POSEIDON 1080i GTX+NVIDIA Driver 470.25 WHQL+3TB SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS + OMS Driver 18.32.0.1006 WHQL+Windows 10 Build 21382.1+i219 V OROM 0.1.00+BA 0.1.16+12.19.1.37 WHQL AQC 107n FW 3.1.121 + AQC 2.2.3.0 WHQL+CAM 4.23.0+Realtek HD 6.0.9136.1 WHQL+SAMSUNG ODYSSEY G9 49 FW 1010.2 HDR1400 Certified

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Quote Originally Posted by restsugavan View Post
    You can boot from SATA Drive on RST Premium mode but it will slower than other choices.
    Hi
    The problem is that I cannot boot from any sata drives because in RST mode all sata drives disappear from Boot Menu (see picture).
    And my problem is not speed but be able to boot on CD/DVDROM to access special testing software or to install other OS or .....
    In AHCI mode I can select between any drive connected to SATA ports but none is available in RST mode. It is the first time I see that in BIOS . SO I have to choose between booting with sata drives and no RAID possibility or RAID possibility and no SATA Drives.
    All this is only for booting as in both mode the drives are well detected and can be used by Windows.
    Thanks
    François
    Here are the picture of sata setup in both modes
    In RST all ports are empty, in AHCI port are filled with the drive names.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	AHCI STORAGE PCH.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	96.6 KB 
ID:	85224
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	RST STORAGE PCH.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	98.6 KB 
ID:	85225

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array restsugavan PC Specs
    restsugavan PC Specs
    MotherboardRAMPAGE VI EXTREME BIOS 3403 MOD
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 7980XE 2.60GHz
    Memory (part number)64GB GSKILL 3.2 GHz 16-16-18-36 2T
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG POSEIDON 1080Ti
    MonitorSAMSUNG ODESSEY G9 49 Firmware 1010.2
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS 1TB x 3
    Storage #2WD 4TB External HDD
    CPU CoolerNZXT KRAKEN 62
    CaseCorsair Carbine 540
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Microsoft
    Mouse Microsoft
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Sony
    OS Windows 10 2021 Insider Preview 21382.1
    Network RouterD-LINK
    restsugavan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    86
    Posts
    648

    From the pictures above. If it was for my own rig. I will choose DIMM.2 (M1+M2) on RAID-0 mode first.
    The setup GPT for Windows 10 installation on RAID-0 ( 970 EVO x 2 ).

    Other drive you must let W10 May 2020 update manage for work.
    For optimal performance choose the fastest drive do you have for OS and leave other slower drive on SATA attached for data.
    Core i9 7980XE+R6E 3403 BIOS+Intel 02006B06 MCU 2021-03-08+VROC 7.5.0.1150+RST 18.35.0.4635+ME FW 11.12.86.1877 DV 2108.100.0.1053+64GB DDR4 3200+POSEIDON 1080i GTX+NVIDIA Driver 470.25 WHQL+3TB SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS + OMS Driver 18.32.0.1006 WHQL+Windows 10 Build 21382.1+i219 V OROM 0.1.00+BA 0.1.16+12.19.1.37 WHQL AQC 107n FW 3.1.121 + AQC 2.2.3.0 WHQL+CAM 4.23.0+Realtek HD 6.0.9136.1 WHQL+SAMSUNG ODYSSEY G9 49 FW 1010.2 HDR1400 Certified

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Yes I agree the best choice is a raid 0 with the 2 M2 SSD if you look for best configuration relative to speed. But it is not my problem because as soon that I use RST mode (to raid the M2) all my SATA drives aren't available at boot time. So i can't boot on a CD/DVDROM. It is stupid because all the motherboard I own before that one gave me access to sata drive for boot nevertheless the sata mode was AHCI or RST.
    (For info I have a RAMPAGE IV EXTREME and there is no problem like this one)
    Thanks for your answer
    François

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •