Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    ASUS Splendid Video installer failing in ROG G752 VM

    I just did a clean OS install for my ROG G752VM and I am having issues with the ASUS Splendid Video Enhancement Technology installer.

    For this laptop there are are two versions on the official support website: V3.19.0003 and V3.15.0003. The former gets stuck half way once a black window appears with the message "Success! Task succesfully registered". In the latter the same window appears but without any message.

    In both cases once I close the window I get a message warning of a problem with the windows installer package since a program run as a part of the setup did not finish as expected and the installation fails.

    Any suggestion on how to make it run?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(4) SSD's - Samsung 960 & 970 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    1,126

    Install as Administrator.

    Splendid is one of the programs that seems to get wiped out with the W10 feature updates (at least did for me, twice). All the Asus utilities that I had to re-install on G752VT and G752VY after W10 feature updates did re-install correctly, but each had to be installed as Administrator in order be successful. I also used the official ones from the Asus support page.

    If you already have it installed as Administrator, choose to Run as Administrator for all users of the laptop. It's in the properties of the shortcut.
    Last edited by davemon50; 02-28-2020 at 05:26 PM.
    Davemon50

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Quote Originally Posted by davemon50 View Post
    Install as Administrator.

    Splendid is one of the programs that seems to get wiped out with the W10 feature updates (at least did for me, twice). All the Asus utilities that I had to re-install on G752VT and G752VY after W10 feature updates did re-install correctly, but each had to be installed as Administrator in order be successful. I also used the official ones from the Asus support page.

    If you already have it installed as Administrator, choose to Run as Administrator for all users of the laptop. It's in the properties of the shortcut.
    Thank you Davemon for your reply.

    I tried to install it as an administrator but I ran into the same issue... (right click -> Run as administrator... maybe you meant a more fancy administrator installation?)

    I also tried the installers from the asus G752VT and G752VY but I also got stuck on those black screens.

    I also rolled back to the nvidia driver on the support page but I got stuck at the same point.

    Finally I called the asus support number in my country. They are worse than useless (suggesting to stay without internet to avoid windows updates...) but they pointed out that there is a splendid version on the windows store. That one gets installed but all the display set-ups are greyed out and this message is written on the splendid window: "Splendid does not support the current screen settings".

    What would you do?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •