Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    NvME as Boot device

    Hi

    I have asus rog strix b450-f board.

    I have added 2 x NvME Drives.

    neither of these seem to be able to be set as the BOOT Device, i have also tried the 2 NvME as a RAID again cannot boot from this.

    is this normal?

    if so what is the point of adding NvME on a motherboard if its not possible to boot from them?

    thanks

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array UltraNEO* PC Specs
    UltraNEO* PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell XPS 13
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel i7-6850k
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL F4-3600C17Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Titan X (Pascal)
    Graphics Card #2Titan X (Pascal)
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q (x3)
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 1TB NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 1Tb (x4)
    CPU CoolerCustom Watercooled
    CaseCaseLabs SMA8
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Keyboard Paradise Custom
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Mouse Pad Logitech G840 XL
    Headset/Speakers ART SLA2 Linear Amp with JBL Control 5
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterPF Sense
    Accessory #1 Logitech Brio 4k
    Accessory #2 Logitech PowerPlay Game Pad
    UltraNEO*'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    605

    Quote Originally Posted by keithdib View Post
    Hi

    I have asus rog strix b450-f board.

    I have added 2 x NvME Drives.

    neither of these seem to be able to be set as the BOOT Device, i have also tried the 2 NvME as a RAID again cannot boot from this.

    is this normal?

    if so what is the point of adding NvME on a motherboard if its not possible to boot from them?

    thanks
    I don't have this board but googling the details... Looks like this guy was experiencing similar issues.

    https://www.reddit.com/r/ASUS/commen..._in_the_trash/

    I would have "NVMe Support" enabled in BIOS, even if your not using it as RAID.
    Last edited by UltraNEO*; 03-03-2020 at 01:30 PM.
    ASUS ROG RVIE Encore| i9-10940x | Dominator Platinum 128GB 3333 MHz | EVGA RTX 2080 Ti SLI | Samsung 970 Pro 1TB NVMe (x3)
    WD Black 4TB | WD Black 6TB x2 | EVGA 1600 P2 | CaseLabs SMA8 | Custom Water Cooling | HWLabs Black Ice Nemesis GTX 560
    XSPC RX 480 v3 | XSPC D5 Vario x2 | EK Blocks | EK-RES X3 400 | BitsPower Fittings | GentleTypoon 1850 x12 | Corsair SP140 x8 | Lamptron CM615

    Twitch.tv/MsNikita | Twitter.com/MsNikitaTV | Instagram.com/MsNikitaTV | Reddit.com/r/MsNikitaTV

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    so now I try to RAID SATA Drives..

    Only to find out if I use RAID on SATA ALL SATA posts become RADI, no long have an option to use an optical drive

    also the BIOS menu's are like a maze, you need 2 separate documents to configure a simple RAID,

    Republic of Gamers, should be republic of ****ing idiots..

    I WILL NEVER buy any ASUS product again, especially an ROG item

    I am off to buy a MOBO that actually works

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array raju2529 PC Specs
    raju2529 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)R542UQ-DM153 ( X542UQ.309SA )
    MotherboardAsus Builtin Motherboard X542UQ
    ProcessorIntel core i5 7200u @2.5Ghz
    Memory (part number)Adata 2400 Mhz 16GB DDR4
    Graphics Card #1intel HD 620 graphics 1GB DDR3 DCH WHQL driver v.30.100.9667
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GeForce 940MX 2GB GDDR5 DCH WHQL driver v30.0.14.7076
    Graphics Card #3nil
    Graphics Card #4nil
    Sound CardRealtek HD Audio controller with codec ALC294 WHQL driver v6.0.9151.1
    MonitorBuiltin Lcd monitor model BOE
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Evo 1000GB SSD M.2. 2280
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB 2.5inch 5400rpm and Seagate 2TB 2.5inch 5400rpm2.5 inch
    CPU CoolerBuilt-in
    CaseFrom factory
    Power Supply65W
    Keyboard Built in keyboard
    Mouse Built in mouse
    Headset Purchased Philips HeadSet
    Mouse Pad nil
    Headset/Speakers Realtek Builtin Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit v21H1 build no 19043.1055
    Network RouterNextVision ONU Fiber Modem
    Accessory #1 G40 Wired Gaming Mouse
    Accessory #2 Laptop Cooling table with fan
    Accessory #3 Secureye Usb finger print scanner added seperately for Windows Hello
    raju2529's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    9
    Posts
    362

    boot device must contain windows boot manager file in the nvme disk otherwise it wont boot.

    dont set as raid . functions of configuring RAID is different .

    reser the bios setttings to default , then try to set nvme disk

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array G75rog PC Specs
    G75rog PC Specs
    MotherboardR VI Apex
    ProcessorI9-7900X
    Memory (part number)64GB Gskill Trident Z
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon VII EKWB water block
    Graphics Card #2Waste of PCI lanes in NVME environment
    Sound CardStock
    MonitorLG 34" Ultra Wide3440x1440
    Storage #14ea 960 Pro 2TB, 2ea 970 Evo 2TB
    Storage #21ea 960 Pro 1 TB, 1ea 970 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB CPU, Swiftech Res/pump, 400mm Rad
    CaseThermaltake View 91
    Power SupplyNZXT Hale 90 1200W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    OS W10 64 1809, 1903, Ubuntu Linux
    Network RouterNetgear R9000 + 4ea R9000 AP's, 10 Gb Switch
    Accessory #1 Hyper M.2 X16 V2
    Accessory #2 10GB network via Intel 550 Nic
    Accessory #3 2 10GB Asustor NAS 7000 series

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    306

    The Storage section Specifications in the User Manual describes NVME setup depending on CPU and GPU installed.
    Page 3-16 lists M.2 setup.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Bios Setting

    Quote Originally Posted by keithdib View Post
    Hi

    I have asus rog strix b450-f board.

    I have added 2 x NvME Drives.

    neither of these seem to be able to be set as the BOOT Device, i have also tried the 2 NvME as a RAID again cannot boot from this.

    is this normal?

    if so what is the point of adding NvME on a motherboard if its not possible to boot from them?

    thanks
    I switched motherboards from an Asrock b450 gaming K4 to an Asus ROG b550-f (non-wifi) and the M.2 was my OS drive. I encountered the same issue, on this motherboard it would not boot.
    Now to note: the Bios WAS LISTING my NVME and SSD, but when I selected boot options it just said "no bootable drive found". So if the system doesn't even see the drives period, then double-check wires connected.

    I first tried to disable fast boot. That didn't work, but I kept it as disabled (i'm following my exact steps).
    Then I went to CSM (Compatibility Support Module) in the Boot tab.
    I selected Launch CSM Enabled
    I selected UEFI and Legacy OPROM
    left everything else alone

    Upon saving and restart windows loading showed up. It loaded, then restarted, then loaded again - finally into the login screen. (it must have updated, so don't shut your computer off at first, let it run through its process)

    So now when I go into Bios, it finally sees my drives AS bootable drives.

    Not sure if this might help anyone, but it seems to have fixed itself by starting it once in CSM mode.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array raju2529 PC Specs
    raju2529 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)R542UQ-DM153 ( X542UQ.309SA )
    MotherboardAsus Builtin Motherboard X542UQ
    ProcessorIntel core i5 7200u @2.5Ghz
    Memory (part number)Adata 2400 Mhz 16GB DDR4
    Graphics Card #1intel HD 620 graphics 1GB DDR3 DCH WHQL driver v.30.100.9667
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GeForce 940MX 2GB GDDR5 DCH WHQL driver v30.0.14.7076
    Graphics Card #3nil
    Graphics Card #4nil
    Sound CardRealtek HD Audio controller with codec ALC294 WHQL driver v6.0.9151.1
    MonitorBuiltin Lcd monitor model BOE
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Evo 1000GB SSD M.2. 2280
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB 2.5inch 5400rpm and Seagate 2TB 2.5inch 5400rpm2.5 inch
    CPU CoolerBuilt-in
    CaseFrom factory
    Power Supply65W
    Keyboard Built in keyboard
    Mouse Built in mouse
    Headset Purchased Philips HeadSet
    Mouse Pad nil
    Headset/Speakers Realtek Builtin Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit v21H1 build no 19043.1055
    Network RouterNextVision ONU Fiber Modem
    Accessory #1 G40 Wired Gaming Mouse
    Accessory #2 Laptop Cooling table with fan
    Accessory #3 Secureye Usb finger print scanner added seperately for Windows Hello
    raju2529's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    9
    Posts
    362

    you can download technical article from AMD and read it

    https://www.amd.com/en/support/tech-...word=NVMe+raid

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    77
    Posts
    408

    Quote Originally Posted by keithdib View Post
    so now I try to RAID SATA Drives..

    Only to find out if I use RAID on SATA ALL SATA posts become RADI, no long have an option to use an optical drive

    also the BIOS menu's are like a maze, you need 2 separate documents to configure a simple RAID,

    Republic of Gamers, should be republic of ****ing idiots..

    I WILL NEVER buy any ASUS product again, especially an ROG item

    I am off to buy a MOBO that actually works
    Tell us how you really feel?

    Im sure there is a BIOS setting you are missing. I dont have this board so cant offer up any advice. I do however own a few other ROG boards that will boot from NVME no problems.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •