Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Lospsii PC Specs
    Lospsii PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero Wi-Fi
    Processori7-8700k
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z 16GB DDR4-3600MHz (F4-3600C16D-16GTZKW)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3
    MonitorBenq Xl2411z - Dell S2417DG
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo NVMe M.2 500GB
    Storage #2Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair Air 540
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 850 G2
    Keyboard Cm Storm QuickFire Rapid
    Mouse Zowie Ec-1A
    Headset Audio Technica AD700x
    Mouse Pad Qck Heavy+
    OS Windows 10 64 Pro

    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Question Upgrade from 16 gb to 32 ram

    Hello everyone !!
    This week i will install two more 2x 8 modules(16gb).
    Right now i have manually set timings and voltages,i use the same values that xmp would use but with lower voltages.
    Now that i will install 16 gb more,do i need to increase the voltage of the vccio and vccsa ?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    499
    Posts
    13,593


  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Lospsii PC Specs
    Lospsii PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero Wi-Fi
    Processori7-8700k
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z 16GB DDR4-3600MHz (F4-3600C16D-16GTZKW)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3
    MonitorBenq Xl2411z - Dell S2417DG
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo NVMe M.2 500GB
    Storage #2Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair Air 540
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 850 G2
    Keyboard Cm Storm QuickFire Rapid
    Mouse Zowie Ec-1A
    Headset Audio Technica AD700x
    Mouse Pad Qck Heavy+
    OS Windows 10 64 Pro

    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Hi and thanks for the link!!
    Forgot to write that the new memory modules are exactly the same with the ones i have already installed!

  4. #4
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    309
    Posts
    7,660

    Quote Originally Posted by Lospsii View Post
    Hi and thanks for the link!!
    Forgot to write that the new memory modules are exactly the same with the ones i have already installed!
    That helps but even within identical model DIMMs there can be differences, been there, done that.

    It may work with some tuning but I would recommend buying modules from a shop with a generous return policy. That way if you get stuck you aren't SOL.

    As for specific recommendations, that's where the tuning part comes in. If you get golden samples of everything you may be able to run everything the same. But if not then trial and error is how you find the idiosyncrasies of your CPU and modules.
    Last edited by xeromist; 03-09-2020 at 07:42 PM.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array Lospsii PC Specs
    Lospsii PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero Wi-Fi
    Processori7-8700k
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z 16GB DDR4-3600MHz (F4-3600C16D-16GTZKW)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3
    MonitorBenq Xl2411z - Dell S2417DG
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo NVMe M.2 500GB
    Storage #2Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair Air 540
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 850 G2
    Keyboard Cm Storm QuickFire Rapid
    Mouse Zowie Ec-1A
    Headset Audio Technica AD700x
    Mouse Pad Qck Heavy+
    OS Windows 10 64 Pro

    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    That helps but even within identical model DIMMs there can be differences, been there, done that.

    It may work with some tuning but I would recommend buying modules from a shop with a generous return policy. That way if you get stuck you aren't SOL.

    As for specific recommendations, that's where the tuning part comes in. If you get golden samples of everything you may be able to run everything the same. But if not then trial and error is how you find the idiosyncrasies of your CPU and modules.
    Τhank you for the tips!
    Do you remember which voltages you tweak?

  6. #6
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    309
    Posts
    7,660

    My current system is AMD Zen 1 and I cheaped out on the memory so I just run it below the advertised speed. I tried tweaking voltages and timings but gave up after about 4 hours of zero progress.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array XYchromosone PC Specs
    XYchromosone PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximux XI Extreme [BIOS 1502]
    Processori9 9900KS
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB CL17 3600MHz 32GB [4x8]
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix Gaming GTX 1080Ti 11GB
    MonitorAOC AGON AG271QG 27" 144Hz [165Hz OC]
    Storage #12 X Samsung 970 Pro NVMe 1TB M.2 SSD [DIMM.2_1+ DIMM.2_2]
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo SSD 500GB SATA 3
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Floe Riing 360 Premium AIO
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard RAZER Blackwidow X Tournament Chroma
    Mouse RAZER Lancehead [ambidextrous] Chroma
    Headset Sennheiser RS165 Wireless
    Headset/Speakers Sennheiser CX 100 inner ear headphones
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 + Ubuntu Studio 20.04
    Network RouterASUS DSL-AC68U
    XYchromosone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    289

    If you for what ever reason are adding 16GB of RAM to the currently installed sticks, then you need to find what timings and voltages work for a stable system. You might see e.g., that in the BIOS you will have 2 rows of figures, one row of the same timing might show 16, 17 below that it might show 15, 16 and maybe below that it might show 35, 37 for Automatic [Auto] settings. So the system is either reading the ram's timing SPD profile from the stick of individual ram, or it has set those timings after the mobo has self tested the individual module banks. If this is the case then you know for certain that although you purchased the exact same [tuned] pair of RAM, the pair of added sticks have in fact some unique timings. I would suggest that where there are 2 different figures for the same timing, make both values of that timing of the highest value, e.g., if DRAM CAS# latency is 16 for one bank and 17 for the other, then make both CAS# 17. However, and this is where things begin to get complicated, certain timing need to be decreased for stability. One needs a good understanding of what the PARTICULAR TIMING does.

    To make things more simple and for best stability and performance one would purchase a set of RAM e.g. 4 x 8GB kit for a total of 32GB that have been binned by the manufacturer so all sticks are tuned and guaranteed to work together in harmony. You could always sell your current 2 x 8GB sticks and put the funds towards the 4 x 8GB kit. This is my current configuration of G.Skill Trident Z 3600MHz kit and am very happy with it. Good luck.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •