Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    GT-AC5300 (FW 3.0.0.4_384_81686) drops off 2.4 GHz band frequently

    My GT-AC5300 emits unstable 2.4 GHz signals. I cannot say whether it's a hardware defect or an issue with firmware (I've updated to the latest one: 3.0.0.4_384_81686). The signal from the router looks like at the following picture:
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1p3h...ew?usp=sharing

    - ZubraHome^et2 - from GT-AC5300 within one-meter distance to a computer (the original network name at the router is ZubraHomeNet2),
    - ZubraHomeNet - from old and cheap TP-Link located two floors below.

    There is just few routers nearby with very low signals. Hence, the problem cannot be caused by wave interference.

    I've read router documentation, different forums, tried different settings, reset to factory default etc. nothing helped. No devices can establish connections with the router at 2.4 GHz.

    And 5.1 band works good.

    As the device is bought in China, Asus Global Support replied: "This problem is the reason for transferring the router to a service center. But your device does not have a warranty in Ukraine and an authorized service will not accept it for repair." The reseller at AliExpress has not replied to my messages for a while.

    Hence, I need a solution to fix the expensive router by myself.

    I have very positive experience with RT-AC86U which works perfectly well. So, I can compare performance and internal settings of both routers.
    RT-AC86U seems unbeatable whereas GT-AC5300 does not work with any configurations...

    If someone here can help me, I'll really appreciate. If you need more information (sys log, screenshots etc.) just reply to this post and I'll provide them.

    Thanks in advance,
    Michael
    Last edited by mfliorko; 05-12-2020 at 05:23 PM. Reason: Update the link to the screenshot as it bacame unavailable any more

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array Jesseinsf PC Specs
    Jesseinsf PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Extreme (Z390)
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMW128GX4M4E3200C16
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA - GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FE
    Sound CardCreative Labs Sound Blaster AE-9
    MonitorSamsung 32" UH750 QLED UHD Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro M.2 PCIe SSD 1TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master MLX-D36M-A20PC-R1 w/ Noctua NF-F12 industrialPPC-2000 IP67 PWM x3 Fans
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic XL (ROG Certified)
    Power SupplyCooler Master V1200 Platinum
    Keyboard RAZER HUNTSMAN ELITE - LINEAR OPTICAL SWITCH (Red) w/ PBT Keycaps
    Mouse Razer Basilisk Ultimate with Charging Dock
    Headset Bowers and Wilkins P9 Signature
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula V2 Mousepad
    Headset/Speakers Creative GigaWorks T40 Series II
    OS Windows 10 Pro for Workstations
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AC5300
    Accessory #1 Microsoft Xbox Elite Wireless Controller Series 2
    Accessory #2 Logitech BRIO ULTRA HD PRO WEBCAM
    Jesseinsf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    227

    Quote Originally Posted by mfliorko View Post
    My GT-AC5300 emits unstable 2.4 GHz signals. I cannot say whether it's a hardware defect or an issue with firmware (I've updated to the latest one: 3.0.0.4_384_81686). The signal from the router looks like at the following picture:
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1p3h...ew?usp=sharing

    - ZubraHome^et2 - from GT-AC5300 within one-meter distance to a computer (the original network name at the router is ZubraHomeNet2),
    - ZubraHomeNet - from old and cheap TP-Link located two floors below.

    There is just few routers nearby with very low signals. Hence, the problem cannot be caused by wave interference.

    I've read router documentation, different forums, tried different settings, reset to factory default etc. nothing helped. No devices can establish connections with the router at 2.4 GHz.

    And 5.1 band works good.

    As the device is bought in China, Asus Global Support replied: "This problem is the reason for transferring the router to a service center. But your device does not have a warranty in Ukraine and an authorized service will not accept it for repair." The reseller at AliExpress has not replied to my messages for a while.

    Hence, I need a solution to fix the expensive router by myself.

    I have very positive experience with RT-AC86U which works perfectly well. So, I can compare performance and internal settings of both routers.
    RT-AC86U seems unbeatable whereas GT-AC5300 does not work with any configurations...

    If someone here can help me, I'll really appreciate. If you need more information (sys log, screenshots etc.) just reply to this post and I'll provide them.

    Thanks in advance,
    Michael
    I have the same issue with my ROG Rapture GT-AC5300 that I purchased from Amazon.com a year ago. I live in a single floor 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment. No need for a Mesh setup.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    GT-AC5300 (Versiune 3.0.0.4.384.81695) wi-fi problems after 3-4 days - need to reboot

    Hi,
    I have problem with wi-fi connection, the signal is fine but is tell me Authentification Problems on wifi android device.
    This is happens form the begin. I'm very sad, my family is againt me because the mobile devices can't work well on wifi.
    Can someone help me to decide what to do, sent the router to the service? Of is a software problem.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    There are known issues with the wireless on these devices. It is not your hardware it is a firmware issue and something that ASUS need to fix. If they look at the RT-AC5300 Merlin 384.15 firmware that works flawlessly for wireless (later versions are flakey) I suspect this is an issue with the base ASUS code.

    At the moment my GT-AC5300 is back to being an expensive paperweight and the RT-AC5300 with Merlin 384.15 is rock solid.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array Jesseinsf PC Specs
    Jesseinsf PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Extreme (Z390)
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMW128GX4M4E3200C16
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA - GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FE
    Sound CardCreative Labs Sound Blaster AE-9
    MonitorSamsung 32" UH750 QLED UHD Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro M.2 PCIe SSD 1TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master MLX-D36M-A20PC-R1 w/ Noctua NF-F12 industrialPPC-2000 IP67 PWM x3 Fans
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic XL (ROG Certified)
    Power SupplyCooler Master V1200 Platinum
    Keyboard RAZER HUNTSMAN ELITE - LINEAR OPTICAL SWITCH (Red) w/ PBT Keycaps
    Mouse Razer Basilisk Ultimate with Charging Dock
    Headset Bowers and Wilkins P9 Signature
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula V2 Mousepad
    Headset/Speakers Creative GigaWorks T40 Series II
    OS Windows 10 Pro for Workstations
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AC5300
    Accessory #1 Microsoft Xbox Elite Wireless Controller Series 2
    Accessory #2 Logitech BRIO ULTRA HD PRO WEBCAM
    Jesseinsf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    227

    It's not just the 2.4Ghz radio, it's everything. I believe it's the firmware. My neighbors have stronger signal than me (even when I am close to the router). And the device dropouts and disappearing SSIDs/and sometimes the router prevents devices from connecting. When this happens I have to reboot the router. I have a ROG Rapture GT-AC5300.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    I continue chatting with Asus Global Support about my case. You can follow our correspondence here:
    https://www.asus.com/support/Product...en-us&isblack=

    If you experience the same issue, you can provide more details that I'll add to the support ticket:
    - where and when did you buy your device,
    - in what country do you use the device,
    - which version of the firmware do you use,
    - any other issue evidence that can be helpful.

    Regards,
    Michael
    Last edited by mfliorko; 05-18-2020 at 07:29 PM.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Update for the firmware v3.0.0.4.384.81695

    UPDATE:

    After posting the issue on the forum Asus released a new version of the firmware for GT-AC5300.

    The latest version today is 3.0.0.4.384.81686.
    https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/w...0438481695.zip

    It did not fix the issue. Signals continue dropping off frequently.


    Asus Support team replies to my ticket but rejects to provide any support in Ukraine.
    I could not believe that the big company, that sells goods in Ukraine and has service centers here, declines to fix the factory defect of its product bought in another country.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array Jesseinsf PC Specs
    Jesseinsf PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Extreme (Z390)
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMW128GX4M4E3200C16
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA - GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FE
    Sound CardCreative Labs Sound Blaster AE-9
    MonitorSamsung 32" UH750 QLED UHD Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro M.2 PCIe SSD 1TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master MLX-D36M-A20PC-R1 w/ Noctua NF-F12 industrialPPC-2000 IP67 PWM x3 Fans
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic XL (ROG Certified)
    Power SupplyCooler Master V1200 Platinum
    Keyboard RAZER HUNTSMAN ELITE - LINEAR OPTICAL SWITCH (Red) w/ PBT Keycaps
    Mouse Razer Basilisk Ultimate with Charging Dock
    Headset Bowers and Wilkins P9 Signature
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula V2 Mousepad
    Headset/Speakers Creative GigaWorks T40 Series II
    OS Windows 10 Pro for Workstations
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AC5300
    Accessory #1 Microsoft Xbox Elite Wireless Controller Series 2
    Accessory #2 Logitech BRIO ULTRA HD PRO WEBCAM
    Jesseinsf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    227

    v3.0.0.4.384.81695 has been available since March 26, 2020. And you are correct, it doesn't fix anything.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    Quote Originally Posted by mfliorko View Post
    My GT-AC5300 emits unstable 2.4 GHz signals. I cannot say whether it's a hardware defect or an issue with firmware (I've updated to the latest one: 3.0.0.4_384_81686). The signal from the router looks like at the following picture:
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1p3h...ew?usp=sharing

    - ZubraHome^et2 - from GT-AC5300 within one-meter distance to a computer (the original network name at the router is ZubraHomeNet2),
    - ZubraHomeNet - from old and cheap TP-Link located two floors below.

    There is just few routers nearby with very low signals. Hence, the problem cannot be caused by wave interference.

    I've read router documentation, different forums, tried different settings, reset to factory default etc. nothing helped. No devices can establish connections with the router at 2.4 GHz.

    And 5.1 band works good.

    As the device is bought in China, Asus Global Support replied: "This problem is the reason for transferring the router to a service center. But your device does not have a warranty in Ukraine and an authorized service will not accept it for repair." The reseller at AliExpress has not replied to my messages for a while.

    Hence, I need a solution to fix the expensive router by myself.

    I have very positive experience with RT-AC86U which works perfectly well. So, I can compare performance and internal settings of both routers.
    RT-AC86U seems unbeatable whereas GT-AC5300 does not work with any configurations...

    If someone here can help me, I'll really appreciate. If you need more information (sys log, screenshots etc.) just reply to this post and I'll provide them.

    Thanks in advance,
    Michael
    Hi

    Could you kindly use feedback in web gui for RD team, let's check if its a defected HW, if you have done this, please PM message and share email to me, we can trace the log from server.
    Thanks.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Arrow Perhaps a contact problem with a BGA chip due to the operating heat.

    I also had problems with this device.
    The wifi failed completely from time to time. Maybe 1-2 times a day for a certain time.
    I took advantage of the warranty and received a new replacement device from Amazon.

    There may be a contact problem with a BGA chip.
    This defect could occur due to the operating heat.
    The new device is now permanently on a notebook cooling pad in the laundry room, which is cold all year round.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •