Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array William D PC Specs
    William D PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VIII Hero WiFi
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX PC4-25600 C16 1.35V 32GB (2 x 16GB)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2070 SUPER 8GB XC GAMING
    Storage #1Corsair MP510 960GB PCIe M.2 NVMe (Boot) Seagate FireCuda 520 500 GB PCIe Gen4 x4 NVMe (Programs
    Storage #2Samsung 860 QVO 2TB SATA (Data)
    CPU CoolerEKWB E360 Custom Loop (CPU / GPU)
    CaseCooler Master Haf-X (customised)
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i Platinum PSU
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    William D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Crosshair Hero VIII BSOD - could it be boot NVMe?

    Hey chaps,

    New build in final testing and have hit a critical_process_died BSOD when running userbenchmark.
    The system is not writing a memory dump and on restart the BIOS is not seeing the boot drive (Corsair MP510). A shutdown and power on fixes this, and the PC will start normally.

    I have setup Windows to write to an alternative disk / and or not automatically restart - but it refuses to write the dump file.

    Obviously its looking like the boot drive is the culprit? although it's working 100% fine otherwise, i've tested with Corsair tools and in BIOS and ran 8 hours of AIDA64 with no issues at all. However, I'm just worried that this might causes additional issues down the road, hence the thread.

    The only 2 possible causes I can think of are:

    • I misread the MB manual and thought I needed to put the Firecuda into M.2_1 so it could run at PCIE 4 speeds, so the boot device is actually in M.2_2. Should boot drive always be in first M2 port? I could obviously switch them around - but the M2 design on this board isn't great and one of the sockets sits behind the GPU - so its annoying as I'll need to drain the loop to change them around.
    • I installed the AMD chipset driver rather than the ASUS (AMD) chipset driver (i generally always install the MB manufacturer's drivers - but the AMD one was much newer - so i thought what the hell).

    Could either of the above be the reason for this BSOD? Obviously if I could get a dump then I might get a clearer picture but not sure what else I can try to do that.

    Or am I missing something here?

    Any advice/answers appreciated...
    Last edited by William D; 03-20-2020 at 09:29 PM.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    632

    For my setup, I use the M2 located near the cpu as the boot drive, without issue. This one is tied into the CPU, the lower one is tied into the chipset, both provide gen 4 x 4 speed.

    Use the chipset drivers from AMD is wise and not an issue.

    Make sure your running latest bios 1302
    Make sure you have the ram placed in slots 2 & 4 from the cpu.

    Where in the test does userbench bork ?
    Last edited by RedSector73; 03-21-2020 at 12:29 AM.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array William D PC Specs
    William D PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VIII Hero WiFi
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX PC4-25600 C16 1.35V 32GB (2 x 16GB)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2070 SUPER 8GB XC GAMING
    Storage #1Corsair MP510 960GB PCIe M.2 NVMe (Boot) Seagate FireCuda 520 500 GB PCIe Gen4 x4 NVMe (Programs
    Storage #2Samsung 860 QVO 2TB SATA (Data)
    CPU CoolerEKWB E360 Custom Loop (CPU / GPU)
    CaseCooler Master Haf-X (customised)
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i Platinum PSU
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    William D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    For my setup, I use the M2 located near the cpu as the boot drive, without issue. This one is tied into the CPU, the lower one is tied into the chipset, both provide gen 4 x 4 speed.

    Use the chipset drivers from AMD is wise and not an issue.

    Make sure your running latest bios 1302
    Make sure you have the ram placed in slots 2 & 4 from the cpu.

    Where in the test does userbench bork ?
    Hey Redsector,

    Thanks for the response.

    OK I'm gonna switch them around then as you have your boot in M.2_1 - just stupidly misread the manual. I may just be able to get access without draining loop. Stupid heatshields get in the way a bit.

    Memory is in the correct slots and have BIOS 1302.

    Was borking at near the end of the benchmark - but kept missing what it was actually testing LOL.

    Will do the swap and re-run and report back.

    cheers buddy....

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    632

    Near the end and after the gpu test is the sustained drive tests.

    They are batch test run for approx from 60 or 30 seconds of each drive, (ie nvme, hdd etc.)
    The order is normally boot drive first then each drive as was listed in the start tests, then when it completes and goes to url / final report screen.

    Maybe worth checking if your Nvme drive has updated firmware as well.

    Hope this is of help.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 03-20-2020 at 11:37 PM.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array William D PC Specs
    William D PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VIII Hero WiFi
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX PC4-25600 C16 1.35V 32GB (2 x 16GB)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2070 SUPER 8GB XC GAMING
    Storage #1Corsair MP510 960GB PCIe M.2 NVMe (Boot) Seagate FireCuda 520 500 GB PCIe Gen4 x4 NVMe (Programs
    Storage #2Samsung 860 QVO 2TB SATA (Data)
    CPU CoolerEKWB E360 Custom Loop (CPU / GPU)
    CaseCooler Master Haf-X (customised)
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i Platinum PSU
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    William D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    Near the end and after the gpu test is the sustained drive tests.

    They are batch test run for approx from 60 or 30 seconds of each drive, (ie nvme, hdd etc.)
    The order is normally boot drive first then each drive as was listed in the start tests, then when it completes and goes to url / final report screen.

    Maybe worth checking if your Nvme drive has updated firmware as well.

    Hope this is of help.
    Hey Redsector,

    Swapping the drives around worked first time. Completed the benchmark, results great, CPU great and mobo a winner!

    Thanks for your help mate....

    catch you soon...

    williamD

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    632

    No problem, enjoy your new system.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Dual NVMe and priority boot

    Hi!
    This is my case:
    Nvme 1 Windows
    Nvme 2 MacOS Catalina (hackintosh) With Opencore EFi

    If i set Macos As first option in Boot .....doenot work.... pc start always in Windows! And the Bios config move windows as 1 option!
    Is like dont accept boot from Nvme 2???
    Any idea?
    Nvme 2 is PCIe4 and Nvme1 is PCIe3

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •